9/25 Powder's AMPS 404 (threads merged)

Status
Not open for further replies.
9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

Attempting curve since I'm home and came up with this. He hasn't eaten great today but I fed +4 hrs he seems ok but... :? I went down as suggested by Sienne now what? 20 minutes later BG 25 nailbite_smile gave maple syrup and more food this is dangerous should I hold or decrease?
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

if you have any gravy foods, feed a couple spoons.

if appetite is an issue, you can just feed the gravy, put the gravy on top of low or med carb

then test in 30 min. to see what that does.

then rinse, lather, repeat.
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

Hillary & Maui said:
if you have any gravy foods, feed a couple spoons.

if appetite is an issue, you can just feed the gravy, put the gravy on top of low or med carb

then test in 30 min. to see what that does.

then rinse, lather, repeat.
I gave him some maple syrup real stuff then his favorite turkey with organics chicken Is that ok or should I do more will test in 15 mins
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

it has been almost 30 minutes since your first post, so how about you test again now and see how the syrup/food worked. You want to get a few rising numbers in a row before you stop testing (because syrup can wear off quickly and you want to be sure he stays up after the syrup wears off).

I think you should reduce powder's dose again tonight, to 0.75 units.
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

do you have any high carb food, anything with gravy? that's what you really want to use rather than syrup, it will make him spike more than you want, but if that is all you have, then it's all you have and when this is over, go out and pick up some cans of FF gravy lovers - it's perfect for this reason.

follow libby's advice and test in 15,
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

Kathy do you have hc fuds with gravy at home? Usually most of us use just the gravy which is where the hc mostly is. The gravy packs a punch without filling the cat up. Especially important to not fill them up with food if you need to keep trying to get number up. Will your cat take the maple syrup alone or do you have to mix it in food?
 
9/25 Powder now 69

15 mins after syrup BG increased to 69. He's such a good kitty but his poor ears :sad:. Should I give him a blended raw food that has turnip or squash? The food he's getting has 0 carbs. Thanks for the support and help. This is harder than my diabetes ever was.
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

I'm moving this post to this condo so we can keep everything together.

KathyS said:
15 mins after syrup BG increased to 69. He's such a good kitty but his poor ears :sad:. Should I give him a blended raw food that has turnip or squash? The food he's getting has 0 carbs. Thanks for the support and help. This is harder than my diabetes ever was.

So is it now about +6.5? If so, then I would feed some low carb food and test again at +7 to be sure he's staying up.

When you get a chance, I recommend picking up a few cans of canned food with gravy, like the Fancy Feast gravy lovers varieties. Those work great when you need to steer the numbers with food. Mixing karo with low carb food does work, but it tends to cause a spike and then a drop, whereas high carb wet food causes a rise that usually stays around a little longer.
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

another good one (thnx Pat) is Friskie's Prime Fillet Chicken and Tuna - I've never seen so much gravy! I was ecstatic when I peeled that can open. and it's a thrifty purchase because the cans are 5oz.
 
9/25 Powder +7 121

I hope he's back on track now. Will cont. with curve. I wonder if he feels as bad as I do when I'm hypo and I don't even take Ins. I feel so bad for him he didn't go shopping for this and has been so cooperative. Kitties are great :!:
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

I log off for a while and miss all the excitement! Just to pull things together...

You made a great catch. It's good that you tested this cycle. Many people would have seen your AMPS and not tested that much. When you get a number below 50, as you found, you can steer those numbers back up using HC food.
  • You can mix a simple sugar syrup (Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc) with LC food. While the syrup will bring numbers up quickly, it wears off quickly and numbers may drop.
  • The gravy in many HC foods works just as well to raise numbers and if you combine it with LC food, it tends to bring numbers up and keep them up a bit longer. Many of us use Fancy Feast grilled or marinated or gravy lovers varieties
I'm not sure that mixing turnip or squash into LC food will do much. They may provide more indigestible fiber than carbohydrate and unless you've fed these veggies to Powder and know he'll eat them, I'd be concerned he would refuse the food or throw it up. Cats really don't need veggies in their diet -- they are obligate carnivores.

You need to test every 15 - 20 min. when you get a very low number like the 35. You test, feed HC, and re-test in 15 - 20 min. Then repeat until numbers are in the 50s or above for a few tests. Then test in 30 min. Once numbers are stable after several tests at 30 min., you can test in an hour. The reason for repeatedly testing is that as the HC wears off, numbers can drop again.

If you look at the dosing protocol, numbers below 50 earn a dose reduction.

Also, we keep all posts in one thread (we call them condos) for each day -- one condo per cat per day. In this way all of the information is in one place.
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

oh there you are, found you in a different thread! Just a note, we keep all of the posts about the kitty in one thread each day. It helps us keep things organized with so many kitties here. If you post as a reply to your original thread, it will bump you to the top so we'll see you. You can also back and edit the subject line of your first post (don't edit the body of the first post, just the subject line) so we can see your current numbers. Thanks. :smile:

KathyS said:
I hope he's back on track now. Will cont. with curve. I wonder if he feels as bad as I do when I'm hypo and I don't even take Ins. I feel so bad for him he didn't go shopping for this and has been so cooperative. Kitties are great :!:

Much better number. Don't forget to take your dose reduction tonight.
 
Re: 9/25 Powder +7 121

They are great when putting up with all this stuff.

+121 looks good for Powder.

So how did you come up w/the name Powder for your sweet kitty? There's got to be a story here.
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

If everyone could kindly post in this thread,
as we have about 4 threads going and it would help to post only in one, to keep all info and updates together.

Thank u!!

Nice job today Kathy with the low numbers. :mrgreen:
If you could, please update your subject line from this thread, since the crisis has passed.
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

Ronnie & Luna said:
If everyone could kindly post in this thread,
as we have about 4 threads going and it would help to post only in one, to keep all info and updates together.

Thank u!!

Nice job today Kathy with the low numbers. :mrgreen:
If you could, please update your subject line from this thread, since the crisis has passed.
Need help :oops: How do I do that. Still trying to get the hang of this. I also don't know how to keep in the thread :? :? Thanks Kathy + Powder
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

If you need help, whether it's an emergency or a question, go to your first post of the day. There will be an "edit" button above the text box. Click on the edit button and then change your subject line. Click on the "submit" button below the text box. That's how to change your subject line. Only changing the subject line in your first post will change what's visible on the Board.

In order to bump your condo to the top of the board, you need to add a new post.

It's not obvious about how to do this and I don't know if there are instructions anywhere. So, it's good that you asked!

In fact, you can change your subject line so it no longer reads that you need help. The posting convention would have your subject line read (at least for the evening):
9/25 Powder PMPS-396
 
Re: 9/25 HELP+6 POWDER BG 35 YIKES!

Hi Tina and Curry, Not long before Powder took us on my son saw the movie Powder and he was very touched by it. When he fell in love with the scared, matted kitty at the breeders (my kids take after me we rescue the under cats :lol:) and I agreed that we were all committed to the cause, he came up with the name. He said people were mean to the boy Powder and the cats in the breeders house were mean to the kitten which made both of them shy. Oh and they were both very white. Powder is the same kind of cat in the FF ads. He had a tough start but came around. He has really mellowed with age.
 
i've merged today's threads by request.
if i missed any, please report the missed thread and i'll merge it into this one.
thank you! :-D
 
Re: 9/25 Powder's AMPS 404 (threads merged)pmps

Sorry I can't open other post and don't know what I did to make them that way ohmygod_smile Any way thank you everyone for your support and help today. It's because of all my reading on FDMB that I tested so much. His numbers were all over and the lows and highs indicated more "Data" was needed. Read that post too and since I was home and Powder hasn't been objecting ... He probably was relieved since he was going to get a bath today :lol: I hope you were able to see my answer about how Powder got his name and I answered I didn't know how to fix the "Help" post and I'm not sure how to keep in the same thread :oops: Any help you can send my way will help. BTW 219 @+2 I decreased tonight gave 0.75U. Thanks from Powder and me I hope to get more than 4 hrs sleep. :smile: Just realized that they were merged. I'm in awe of those who can do this stuff. just did one last check +5 201 I think he's safe tonight. We're all getting some much needed zzzz's. gnite I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top