9/25 Kismet PMPS 80,+1 116,+2 149,+3 128,+4 152,+5.75 130

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/25 Kismet +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74, +8 53

Thanks Traci! It's been a good learning experience for me, and for Kismet who is going to have to get used to having pricked ears pooor baby.

I am concerned about this +8 reading. I will check the +8.5 and if he drops considerably lower (not a surf) I will feed a bit more, test again at +9 and see where he is. If he is still low then, I will give honey. Does this sound like a good plan?
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74, +8 53

+8.5 is 57

Liz, that makes sense. I guess I saw that 74 and thought we would be going up from there.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74, +8 53

Sorry.....Got in the shower and then got busy trying to order new contacts!!

You know the drill....just feed LC unless he drops below 50 and then bring him up with a bit of honey in the LC.

Looks like no one is around but I have this on my phone so I'll keep checking in on you while we are running errands.

So same as before...test, feed, wait 30 mins. If he's not up, lather rinse repeat.

I'll be watching for your +8.5.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74, +8 53

Marje, no need to apologize! I've monopolized your time all day! I think I finally get how to regulate now :) + 8.5 is at 57. I think we're gonna be okay :) Thanks so much for all of your help and no worries if you can't check in. I'm feeling much more confident about how to handle low numbers and know the protocol. Enjoy the rest of your day!
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74, +8 53

My phone will notify me when you post so go ahead and get another test in 30 mins and post, ok? I'd like him up a bit more as you are coming into the end of the cycle.

I won't leave you unless Dyana or Sienne can pop in to help with your PMPS. It might seem ok now but if he stays low, you are going to wonder what/how to shoot.

See you in 30.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74, +8 53, +9 58

Sounds good.

Also, this may be a silly question, but do all of the LC servings today get subtracted from his dinner serving? We've about exhausted the half of the can that he was going to have at 9pm. He's on a one can a day diet as directed by vet... but w/e lol. I'd rather have a fat cat than a hypo cat any day :)
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74, +8 53, +9 58

Not a silly question. You will have to see...you might have to feed to steer numbers tonight.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74, +8 53, +9 58

Okay! Still riding this green wave -- +10 62

Would it be okay to postpone dinner tonight until 9pm? He was fed at 8:20am this morning by DH for reasons unbeknownst to me. If it's important that he get fed at the end of the cycle tonight that's fine, but either tomorrow's breakfast or dinner will have to be adjusted. We ALWAYS feed between 9-930 so I don't know what happened this morning. Neither of us will be home at 8pm tomorrow to feed dinner. We don't usually get home on W and Th night until 9:30 earliest. So what is the best feeding to change? Tonight's dinner or tomorrow's breakfast?
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +5 45, +6 51,+7 74, +8 53, +9 58,+10 62

Courtney, your DH owes you a night on the town for all your hard work today! Great job!
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +5 45, +6 51,+7 74, +8 53, +9 58,+10 62

LOL thanks, Tara! Instead of dinner I wish he would learn how to test! I haven't gotten a thing done today that I needed do,so it would be awesome if we could work in shifts. He says he doesn't trust his eyesight but I think he's just scared of hurting the cat. That's his bff and won't even yell at him if he's being naughty. Most spoiled cat ever. Kismet gets breakfast brought to him in bed on a tray by DH every morning! DH is really a great guy and a great kitty dad... I just have to teach him how to do everything and build his confidence up the way you guys helped me :)
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +5 45, +6 51,+7 74, +8 53, +9 58,+10 62

Since hes surfing, I'd hold off feeding from now until you shoot unless he drops into the 40s. If he does drop, post before you feed.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +5 45, +6 51,+7 74, +8 53, +9 58,+10 62, +11

Thanks for popping in Sienne. My phone died and im checking in from an iMac at best buy. Glad you can help Courtney shoot.

I'll check I later.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +5 45, +6 51,+7 74, +8 53, +9 58,+10 62, +11

Hi Sienne! Yep, he got a tbsp of food after +8 to try to get it up and I think it finally kicked in.

I'm postponing shot for an hour so I can get him back on schedule for tomorrow. I will reflect that on the SS PMPS. I will be doing PMBG check just before 9pm EST and will shoot .25u as planned. I'm going to try to monitor him as closely as I can tonight as I am out of the house all afternoon tomorrow and won't be around to check on him. I'm really worried that .25 might even be too high and want to be sure I can raise those numbers if they dip too low over night and know what to shoot tomorrow morning. His poor, poor ears. They're turning brown from hydrogen peroxide and they are sore from all the pokes today. I wish I could give him a break :(
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +5 45, +6 51,+7 74, +8 53, +9 58,+10 62, +11

+12 81

Holding PMPS off for an hour so we can get back on normal feeding schedule unless this is inadvisable. I need to get him back on his normal feeding/shooting schedule. DH fed/shot an hour earlier than usual today.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +8 53, +9 58,+10 62, +11 77, +12 81

A late shot acts like a dose reduction so it's fine.

BTW, I wouldn't use peroxide. It can break down the skin. I'd suggest using Neosporin ointment with pain relief.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +8 53, +9 58,+10 62, +11 77, +12 81

Yikes! Ok, will stop doing using it then. Neosporin might be good for helping blood bead up, too!
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80

Eating his dinner now... Keep your paws crossed for us as we begin new dose tonight.

Today 9/25
AMPS -??? shot. 5u
+2----99
+3----67
+3.5--64----Fed tbsp of LC (Purina DM)
+4----56-----Fed 2 tbsps LC
+4.5--49---wow!--Fed tbsp of LC with drop of honey
+5----45
+5.25-51----Fed tbsp of LC
+6----51
+6.5--49
+7----74
+8----53 ----wth?
+8.5--57-----Fed tbsp of LC
+9----58
+10---62
+11---77
+12---81 --- Holding PMPS for an hour to get back on normal feeding schedule
PMPS-80 ----Shot 0.25u
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80

Wow what a day for you! Great job!! Welcome to LL. I see Kismet has asthma. Tarragon is an asthmatic kitty as well. Do they only have you giving albuterol? Just curious since albuterol is a rescue inhaler. Most are on Flovent long term. Welcome again and glad you are here!
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80

Hi Melissa! Yes, he is a dual Dx, and his DM was actually accidental. I took him to the vet for his coughing (he was having 3-4 attacks a day for just over a month) and we tried everything! A nebulizer, a high dose of prednisolone, theophylline...then we got the Diabetes Dx and stopped all steroidal treatments. Curiously, his asthma attacks stopped as soon as he started receiving insulin! He has had 3 very minor ones that I know of since starting insulin. Seems like there must be a connection! My (ex) vet Rx 3u bid without ever doing a curve and told me absolutely nothing about testing or the warning signs of hypoglycemia... literally, she told me nothing.

I took him to a specialist who thinks he may be a transient diabetic with high BG levels caused by steroids. *paws crossed

I ordered Flovent from Canada and still haven't received it yet, but at this point I don't even think it's necessary.

Thanks for the welcome :)

PM +1 116
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116

Ok...I'm back. Sorry my phone died on me while I was out :shock:

Great shooting!!! And I like seeing that food spike at +1. How about giving him a break until +2?

Absolutely agree with Sienne.....you need the Neosporin ointment (not cream) with pain relief. I put it on after every poke and I keep a baby washcloth that I take it off with before I poke the next time. We also alternate ears.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80

Tarragon got his diabetes from long term steroid use. He actually didn't have any asthma issues at all once he started on insulin for the first 6 months or so. Unfortunately his came back with a vengeance. He is now on Flovent 2 puffs twice a day and prednisone 5 mg every other day. I hope Kismet's stays away.

Vets are crazy. Ours didn't tell us about home testing or what to do if he went low either. This board was a life saver literally. Kismet is responding really well to the insulin. That is great to see!
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116

Hi Marje! Thanks for checking back in with us :) He's been doing great :) He's up on the top tier of his Amarakat tower, I will have to coax him down to get his +2.

Melissa, wow, that's crazy! I was wondering if coughing was perhaps a symptom of diabetes because I was really surprised at how insulin seems to be the correlative to the cessation of asthma. I am sorry that Tarragon's asthma came back. I have my Albuterol here ready to go and Flovent on the way so I am well prepared if it ever creeps back up. It's amazing how one thing can lead to another, and frightening! 3 months ago I had a normal, healthy, active 3 year old. I may pick your brain in the future about Asthma... it's all new to me.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116

Definitely let me know if you need anything as far as the asthma. Tarragon has been asthmatic for 7 years so we have just about tried it all. Paws crossed that Kismet's is gone for good though. Have a great night!
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116, +2 149

Hmmm..Kismet may have had enough for one day.

How about a +3 to see if he onsets and if he's up, you can give him a couple hours.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116, +2 149

Yes, I think it's been rough on him. I had to poke him twice for the +2 just now, it wasn't beading up and then it spread through his fur. Poor baby. I think a break is in order. I will check again in a few hours before bed (maybe a +4) and then I will get up for his +6 to see where he is at. I got out to the store and bought some HC FF Classic Chicken in Gravy for emergencies. I also bought a bunch of cans of FF Classic Chicken to start after the last can of DM tomorrow.

DH (Dan) and I are both out most of the day tomorrow. I may not shoot in the morning depending on what numbers he throws out tonight.

Thanks again for all of your help, Marje! I don't know how to thank you for getting me through the day! (((hug)))
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116, +2 149

Hi Courtney.
What a day you have had. So scary but you got through it with good help. Looks your numbers are on the rise. I've not had a low yet and am impressed with all the help you've gotten.

We got our dx a week before you. I'm sorry to hear your husband is not on board yet. Hopefully your conversation with him was productive and he is able to recognize the importance of protocal. Makes me very grateful for my husband's attentivenss.

Hope your evening goes better.
Karen
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116, +2 149

Courtney

I trust your judgment and since the +2 is much higher than the PS, it's probably going to be a quiet night. I wouldn't wait later than +4 for your next test but then you can see where he is....you might not need another test until +10.

You're welcome. You would have done great because you did.

Have a good night. Hugs to Kismet...he was a very good boy!
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116, +2 149

Ok, maybe I will grab the +3 then call it a night.
I may or may not have been able to do this on my own, but what you gave me today was beyond just instructions for protocol. I was much more confident knowing I had you right there, if just for moral and emotional support. Thank you thank you! I don't know how I will ever be able to make it up to you, but I will figure something out! :D
Have a wonderful night!

Karen, yes, it's been a day! The support I've received here is unparalleled! I don't know where I'd be without Marje, Sienne, Jane, and everyone else! We knew it was going to be rough after his very low numbers last night. I am hoping that we will be OTJ soon if we can keep it up. My husband has been great tonight and is completely with me in this, though testing will be something that will fall under my jurisdiction until he feels comfortable with it. I am happy to hear that you have the support of your hubby, it really makes a difference. Good luck with your kitty!

+3---128
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116, +2 149, +3 128

(((Courtney)))

You don't have to make it up to me!! Just pay it forward. That's why I do this.....we were newbies, too, and received so much amazing help and education. That's what it's all about...just learning so you can help others.

He's coming down slowly now but I don't think you should let him go for two hours. We could try 1-1/2 what do you think? If he hasn't eaten much, I'd feed him some LC now.

I'm going to have to track down Jane at some point because tomorrow is my only work day so I usually hit the sack earlier than normal. I have three important meetings tomorrow starting early. So I may have to hand you off to Jane again! Sorry!!!
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116, +2 149, +3 128

Hi Marje,

I had the same feeling and decided to stay up! I just caught up with responding to student's emails (they are going to see the 1am time stamp and think I am nuts! :lol: I've really fallen behind in work, but c'est la vie! Kitty comes first!)

Please get your rest! I am going to test him now to catch that +4.5 and then see if I should put out some food.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116, +2 149, +3 128

I'd sleep and get a +6 or +6.5. Hope you get some rest.

Dyana is on early in the mornings if you need any help.

NiNi...sleep tight...you earned it. :-D
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116, +2 149, +3 128, +4 152

Ok, will try. I'm so exhausted I don't know if I will hear my phone but I am going to set an alarm. Thanks for staying up! Good night and have a great day tomorrow! Hope your meetings go well :)
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116, +2 149, +3 128, +4 152

Good morning Jane! I knew I wouldn't get up (I take a sleep aid for insomnia and I'm very difficult to rouse for about 3hrs after taking it) so I stayed up to get the +5.75 and we are at 130. I should've just waited the extra 15 mins but I'm fading fast. I will be back in roughly 5hrs. :)

I hope you have a lovely day!
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80, +1 116, +2 149, +3 128, +4 152

Very nice job staying awake, Courtney! And a decent number. You *could* feed a tsp or 2 of LC just to help keep him surfing.

See you at (+11), k? It will help us give you safe dosing feedback should you need it :smile:
Enjoy your sleepus!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet PMPS 80,+1 116,+2 149,+3 128,+4 152,+5.75 13

Hi Courtney and Kismet - I think this is our first time in your condo - my, but you've had quite the day and night.

Great job managing Kismet's numbers.

This forum is fantastic and the people even more so. Hope the rest of your evening and your tomorrow is an uneventful one.

Shai and Pirate Fitz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top