9/25 Kismet PMPS 80,+1 116,+2 149,+3 128,+4 152,+5.75 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Courtney and Kismet

Member Since 2012
I'm so angry this morning I could spit! My husband got up before me, fed the cat, shot the insulin and didn't test or wait for me to test! I woke up just as he was giving him the shot! ARGHHHH What a wonderful way to start the day. cat(2)_steam I need my coffee and I will be back.

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday 9/24
AMBG 68 no shot
+1-----83
+4-----72
+5----102
+8----104
+10---111
+11---112
PMPS-104 - shot .5u
+1----148
+2----149
+3----141
+4----145
+5----125

Today 9/25
AMPS-??? shot. 5u
+2----99
+3----67
+3.5--64 ---Fed tbsp of LC (Purina DM)
+4----56----Fed tbsps LC
+4.5--49 ---Fed tbsp of LC with drop of honey
+5----45
+5.25-51----Fed tbsp of LC
+6----51
+6.5--49
+7----74
+8----53 ----wth?
+8.5--57 ----Fed tbsp of LC
+9----58
+10---62
+11---77
+12---81 --- Holding PMPS for an hour to get back on normal feeding schedule
PMPS-80
+1----116
+2----149
+3----128
+4.5--152
+5.75-130 ---- Fed tsp of LC
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet AMPS?

How about a sign on the cabinet where the cat food is kept or a bigger sign on the refrigerator -- or both? Something along the lines of:

#1 - TEST

#2 - Feed
#3 - Shoot
In that order
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet AMPS?

haha I will try, but this has anything to do with forgetfulness. I mentioned to you yesterday that he thinks all this overhead is unnecessary and I'm ridiculous for testing. He told me this morning he wanted me to sleep because he knew I was up late poking the cat. (We keep a log in the kitchen where we write down everything.) He knows I'm mad. We will have a more serious talk later when we're both home.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67

Quite a dip from +2 to +3... getting a little worried. He's acting perfectly normal, but I have HC and honey ready to go. I cancelled my afternoon appts so I can stay home and monitor. I hope this is enough to convince hubby of the importance of testing.

I was going to wait to test again until +4, but I think I might test again in 15/30 mins.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67

You are doing great for Kismet! :thumbup Pls post after you get the reading.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67

I hope you are able to convince DH that this is for Kismet's safety.
I get up and do it all at 5:45 am and most mornings go right back to bed for a little extra sleep. You catch sleep when you can.
It's part of the sugar dance.

Hope Kismet can surf today instead of plummet....
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67

Thanks, Tortie!
Rhi, I hope he will be convinced, too, or I will need to start getting up earlier. :YMSIGH:

64 @ +3.5

Edit: Sorry Sienne, just seeing your post now. I keep the window open when I leave my computer and keep forgetting to refresh before I reply. I will give him a little now and retest at +4
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67

Courtney

Sienne has a client now so she asked me to step in since I am now up and functioning :-D

I'll be waiting for your +4. And I'll get some examples for your DH about why it's important for him to test before he shoots.

One thing you might ask him is if he'd give himself insulin without first testing his BG?
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67

I know you understand the dangers, but you can share my story with your DH if it helps. I've experienced the full blown hypo cat that had to be rushed to ER. I was shooting blind, following the advice of my vet based on the occasional glucose curve. Happily shot him up with 3.5u in the morning and scooted off to work. Came home to check him at lunch and found him face down in a corner. I ran to him and he started yowling and twitching. Glazed eyes, totally limp. Globbed a bunch of honey on his gums and off we went to ER! Buster was in the hospital for 24 hours an it cost us about $600. Sometimes I still think I'm going to come home to a comatose kitty or worse. I really hope you can help your DH understand he needs to be proactive in keeping Kismet safe.

Hope Kismet has a good day! :mrgreen:

Good luck with your DH!
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56

Good morning, Marje! I fed him a tsp of LC after +3.5 and tested +4 and got 56... still going down. Is it time to bring out the "crack"? I still have his old bag of w/d dry.

Hi Tara, I will definitely share your story... How terrifying! I'm so glad that Buster is okay and that you found him in time. nailbite_smile I am so frightened of this happening with my boy, especially since we both work long hours away from home. I can't keep cancelling appts/putting off other responsibilities to stay home and test, so he is really going to have to get on board with me.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56

How about a couple more good tsp of LC and retest at +4.5. I'll be waiting for his number.

Thanks, Tara for sharing that...no one wants to find their kitty like that. You did everything right by getting him to the ER and starting to hometest.

ETA: NO CRACK! :lol: Kismet is done with dry food forever. Dry food takes a long time to kick in and then it will leave him at higher numbers for a long time. Right now..stick with the LC....a couple good tsp. if he drops below 50, we'll reduce his dose.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56

Ok :) He's eating a bit more and purring as he does so... this boy LOVES to eat. I got lots of kisses and snuggles after the first snack before the +4 test. The way to this cat's heart is definitely though his stomach haha.

Out of curiosity, what would be a reduction from .5? If he did drop below 50, would I skip his dose tonight?
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56

Hi Everyone-

Just wanted to chime in and say Courteney- I think it's wonderful that you are now part of LL...do you see what I mean now? No offense, but your vet is not up to speed. Also - vets are not available at all times day and night to give you help...and if they were they'd charge you AND pribably be wrong! This board is a lifesaver. It was for me too and my cat Boomer (GA).
You are doing incredible! Thank GOD you are not shooting blind anymore. Isn't is crazy to think a professional vet would want you to do that knowing that an overdose could have a potentially dire outcome?
I've noticed that other people get resistance about testing from their signifigant others - not just you. Just keep doing what you're doing. Tell your DH that if he ever needs medical help he'll be lucky to be taken care of by you as opposed to someone who wouldn't try everything to keep him safe and healthy. You are a good Bean and Kismet is going to be SO much better for all of your hard work.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +4.5 49

Hi Traci, Thanks for the welcome, very happy to be in LL! I have to thank you for directing me here and helping me realize the importance of testing. I hope I am as effective in convincing DH!

SO I just took the +4.5 and we are >50... this is after eating an additional 2 tsps of LC. He's had 3 tsps in total since +3.5 and he continues to drop. Ideas?
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56

Courtney

A reduction from .5u would be to .25u. We won't decide on tonight's shot until +11 or so. We shoot low to stay low....so typically any number above 50 is a safe number to shoot if you have supplies and can test. The fastest way to remission is to keep shooting consistently when it is safe to do so. We will help you make that determination.

Ok...a few things to tell DH:
  • We do not feed two hours before shot time. The insulin is waning at this point and when you feed, the BG spikes from the food. This gives you a false sense of security that you are shooting a "solid" number when, in reality, you are shooting a food spike number. That food spike is going to wear off and you can be stuck with a low number going into onset of the next shot. Not a good place to be.
  • Because of the cumulative nature of lantus, if you shoot a low number blindly, you could be looking at a hypo or fighting really low numbers for more than 16 hours. It does not happen alot, but it has happened. It is grueling for you but more importantly for your kitty who has to sustain alot of pokes.
  • Please show DH an example on Gracie's SS. Scroll to 8/23/2012. She was at 81 at +10 and had been in great numbers all night. When I checked her for her PS at +11.75...she was at 38. Can you imagine what would have happened if I had shot that without having checked to know how low she was? Maybe if he sees it on a SS, he'll understand.

How we doing....do you have a +4.5?
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +4.5 49

Ok, thanks for clearing that up. Thanks for tips with DH!

I just posted right before you with 4.5 --- at 49
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +4.5 49

Ok...he's fine. How about giving him one tsp of HC gravy....do you have some? See you at +5.

Don't worry, ok? He's safe. We are watching him and you are in control of his numbers. You're doing great.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +4.5 49

No gravy, I was planning on popping out today to get more food for him, we are down to our last 2 cans of DM. I have a can of FF Classic Chicken I could try.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +4.5 49

With the 4.5 that's below 50, how about feeding Kismet a teaspoon or two of high carb gravy? If you don't have HC food in the house, add a drop or two of Karo or honey to his LC food. Re-test in 30 min. Here's the post on handling low numbers for reference.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +4.5 49

Sounds good.....Sienne was just checking in quickly. I'm staying with you.

Please let me know when you feed and be sure you get a test in 20-30 mins after the LC/honey ok?
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +4.5 49

Thank you. You're doing great. The honey should give him a bump but it will take a few minutes to kick in...usually 20-30.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +4.5 49, +5 45

Just got the +5 and we've dropped again! He ate about 12:45, 15mins ago. I will check again in another 15.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +5 45

Sounds good..he's earned his reduction so if you want to give a little more LC with a drop of honey that's fine.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +5 45

Yay for reduction and yay that +5.25 is up to 51! Phew... I feel like I'm in the movie Speed... can't... let... drop... below... 50! But Kismet is so much cooler than Keanu. Totally.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +5 45

Great!!!

One thing that is important is you CAN let him drop below 50. We aren't trying to keep him from earning a reduction. He's a newly diagnosed cat. The point is for him to go down the dosing scale. So it's ok. And if he doesn't like the reduction, we take him back up.

So let's give him a little more LC to see if he'll surf and get another test in 30 mins. Is he ok? Are you ok? Now you can have some chocolate which I do hope you remembered to put in a hypo toolkit. :lol:

We also need to stay on top of his numbers. HC wears off in 1-2 hours ECID and they can turn back around. We need two rising numbers that have no food influence.

Alrighty? You are doing fantastic!! See you in 30.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +5 45

Thanks Marje! Just took the +6 and he's at 51, the same as the +5.25. He's acting very sleepy. He didn't even bother sitting up when I poked his ear the last few times. I'd given him another teaspoon of LC without honey to see if it would liven him up a bit. That was about 10 mins ago. I'll see how he does at +7 and +8. No more food until dinner :)
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51

How about a +6.5? I'd like to make sure the honey isn't wearing off. I know he must be tired of testing but 51 does not have much cushion factor if the honey wears off.

Ok...see you in 30.. Glad you fed.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51

Ok, +6.5 is really 15 minutes from now (I was 10 mins late getting here and posting the +6). See you soon. After +6.5 I am going to pop out to walgreens and see if I can get smaller syringes. The ones I have 30units with the lowest measure at .50. Do they offer anything smaller and with a .25u measure? I also need to go pick up some more kitty fud.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51

That is the smallest syringe... 30u with 0.5u markings. I'll get some photos for you on a .25u dose. Brb.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51

ahhh they need to make them smaller for the keeeties. That stinks. Well I am sure I can eyeball it and figure out 1/2 of .50u. Thx!
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51

Just wait until you have to shoot 1 DROP! I am not kidding. You need a magnifying glass. :lol:
You are doing great.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +2 99, +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51

We've gone back down... +6.5 is 49. Not going to leave just yet!

In other news, hubby came home and we chatted about the importance of testing. He is totally on board now. He still doesn't want to try testing (he's a scaredy cat) but says he won't feed until I've had a chance to test. Phew! He was really remorseful about feeding and shooting this morning before I could test.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49

Oh I just love it when my crystal ball works :-D :-D

crstlbal.gif


Actually, he's not down yet...he's surfing. He should be reaching nadir but because we don't know how low he was when DH shot (wet noodles even if he is remorseful :-D ), we're not sure if he will come up or stay here. Crystal ball getting fuzzy. But my bet is he might go back down. So....I would opt for a nice helping of LC...a couple tsp and recheck in 30. If he has dropped when you retest, feed him a little LC with a drop of honey.

OK? You're doing great. I'm getting the syringe pics. Just had to switch from iPad to PC.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49

Aww psychic kitty!

I guess +6.5 was his nadir, we are back up to 74 for +7. I held off feeding anything to see what would happen.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49

Lovely!!! Great call!

Ok...let's work on that SS for a minute, ok? You want all those in between numbers in the blocks....not in the remarks. When we are looking at SSs, we need to see all the test numbers at the time they are taken.

Please look at Gracie's SS on 9/19 and you can see how to stack. Also...the day I referred to before, 8/23, has a bunch of numbers as a good example. Just reduce the font so you can get them all in there. I typically use
an 8 font when I'm putting alot of numbers in.

And ignore her icky cycles lately. She got a bile duct infection, A/B caused numbers to plummet, I dropped her dose back a little too far to get her to flatten so now we're going back up slowly. But it looks horrible. :oops: :oops: :oops:

You did a SUPER job today. How about giving him a rest for an hour. If he's up more in one hour....I'd give him a good break until +9 or so.

And here are the syringe pictures. Good luck with the reduction.

025unit-1.jpg


Insulin doses
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74

Thank you so much for your help today, Marje! You are quite literally a lifesaver!

Now, about the SS... I'm embarrassed to admit that I don't know how to add new columns. I can see where it gives the option to insert new row right or left, but I can't move them to where I want them. I made a column for his feeding times and tried to move it to the right of the date and could not figure it out :oops:
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74

ahhh I see what you did now... nv! I will update now :D Thanks again! I will test in an hr and then give the poor guy a break and I will go get more kitty food! And shower! YAY!
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74

You are very, very welcome. My pleasure to help.

I'm also going to jump in the shower and will check back in before I head out for the day.

Really nice work today, Courtney!! You learned alot about your boy.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74

Thank you Anne :)

FYI I figured out how to unmerge the cells and add new columns where I want yay! I've gone ahead and added +5 value columns for the AM values between +1 and +9. I've made them light gray so I hope that makes it okay to follow.
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +3 67, +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74

Woohoo!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Great job, Courtney and Kismet! You rock! So do Sienne and Marje!!! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74, +8 53

Thanks Liz! :) :)

I just got the +8 and was expecting it to be on the incline but we've taken quite a dive. :/ Is this normal?

Today 9/25
AMPG -??? shot. 5u
+2----99
+3----67
+3.5--64
Fed tsp of LC (Purina DM)
+4----56
Fed 2 tsps LC
+4.5--49
Fed tsp of LC with drop of honey
+5----45
+5.25-51
Fed tsp of LC
+6----51
+6.5--49
+7----74
+8----53 wth?
 
Re: 9/25 Kismet +4 56, +5 45, +6 51, +6.5 49, +7 74, +8 53

Wow - good stuff going on here today. I've been watching this thread all day at work. Very exciting! What great teamwork. I'll be watching Kismet's progress.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top