9/25: Jetson PMPS 391, +3~391 ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Jetson

Member Since 2011
Good evening Lantus Landers!

This will be the 3rd cycle on reduced dose of 3.25u
He may have gone low again today, as he went from 319 at AMPS to 194 at +2. I was already at work and DH did the test. :smile: Told him to give Blue Wilderness chicken, which is a little higher carb than the wellness and tiki cat they usually eat. Just in case. No one home after that test till 6:30 (+10.5 time).

Tonight he's back in the high 300s. :YMSIGH:

Anyone have a spare pair of patience pants? I think I need to double up on those :roll: :lol:
I'm really hoping he'll settle down soon. I'm very worried about the crazy highs and lows - altho Jetson doesn't seem to be phased by it. He spent quite some time poking around the laundry room trying to figure out how he could get the treats off the shelf :lol: :lol: silly boy!

Hope everyone had a great weekend! :-D
 
Thanks for the encouragement Melissa :-D

Jetson has decided to be flat - flat pink :roll: :sad:

Question: when Lantus starts to go "off" do you get loopy up/down numbers? Or is it a pretty straight skyrocket? I'm on my first vial - opened 36 days ago. Should I refill now?
 
I think that the effects of out-of-date Lantus can generally be described as numbers that just don't make sense... you'll see low numbers one minute, but then they'll shoot high in situations where it clearly isn't a bounce. Eventually you will start seeing high, flat numbers.

It's always so hard to tell. I went ahead and switched pens on Friday, even though the insulin likely wasn't the problem. A couple months ago, my insulin started to turn and the vet that had written the script had left the practice and nobody would write it for me... it was a specialty vet, who said go to the regular vet. Ridiculousness ensued and it took 2 extra days... suddenly we were in the 200s to 300s after seeing solid greens for some time. I've decided that, as much as I'm a penny pincher, this is one thing I'm just not going to try to mess with. If I even suspect the Lantus is wonky, I start a new pen.

It may just be a flat cycle though, or you may start seeing action. Remember that onset doesn't start until around +3... so it is possible you got a food bounce off that 391 and Jetson may actually be headed down from higher numbers.

This is my smart sounding way of saying "who the heck knows?!?" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Good luck!
 
Thanks Christie :-D

Calling the vet tomorrow - hopefully she's back from wherever she's been and can call in to the pharmacy to switch from vial to pens. The vial's still 1/2 full and I was really hoping it would last the 2 month average most folks talk about. :YMSIGH:

Edit: what did I type last night? Fixed 1st line so it makes sense ohmygod_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top