9/25- Fitzel- PMPS+4-37/+4.5-45/+5-51/+5.5-57/+6-105

Status
Not open for further replies.
Pirate Fitzel's Condo Cove

I'm surprised she needed insulin this early. It's only been 22 hours since her last shot. I don't know if this means her shed needs filling or if her pancreas has stopped healing or??????

Waving hello to all and hoping everyone had a positive day today - healing vines to all who are in need.
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- +14 -111/PMPS -165

Hi Shai! The Pirate is wanting more attention from you, like when she gets more shots! Tell her there are other ways..... like snugglin' .
Anne and Muffin seem to have the same problem that you and Fitzel are having. Very interesting.
It's obvious her pancreas is working. It has to be something we're missing, causing the BG to slowly rise.
What about going with the lowest carb food you can find for a few days? See if that makes a difference.
When Tuckers numbers went up for a few days, I truely believe it was the food. He's doing good again.
You think it might be "new kitty" stress? Maybe some Medicinal kittynip can help.
Or maybe she just naturally has a bit higher BG levels, and always will. Remember, there is a huge variance with the meters anyway. She might be in the good zone. Just a thought.
Hope you're doing well. Wish you and Fitzel lots of health and happiness "Karmels"!
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- +14 -111/PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37

@Chris & Tucker- happiness karmels? Would those bring the Pirate out of her night time dive? Right now I'm using temptations - well one and a crumble. I'll test her again in a bit. She a symptomatic right now. But 37 is too low for complacency. I do feed her pretty LC food - Evo and Tiki et al. Thank you for your suggestions because I do think some of this is new kitty jealousy. Amma has bonded with me as I'm the home mommy and Fitzel is devastated by this. Judith and I are trying to get Amma to attach to Judith but its hard to get a kitten to change her mind just because we want her to.

Well gotta go test the pirate. Hopefully the treats have boosted her BG.
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- +14 -111/PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37

Up up Fitzel. Will the temptations get her up, Shai, or do you need to give her a bit of honey or karo?
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- +14 -111/PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37/+4.5-45

Hi Marje - glad to see you. Hope all is well over with your crew - and with you.

Fitzel seems to be responding to the Temptation. But, I know that this rise is due to that and probably not her true BG number. I just fed her a little bit of some MC food and I hope that will level her a bit from the HC treat which will wear off as fast as it kicked in. At least that's my experience with her.

I do wish she wouldn't drop like this off such a small bit of insulin. She needed it with a PMPS of 165. I read Anne and Muffin's condo and how she got her 1 drop cut down a bit. I'm going to try that next time I have to shoot. It's just so frustrating because I know this rapid dive is not good for Fitzel's organs or her. She's a limp kitty right now. She wasn't symptomatic earlier, but now - yeah. She's just laying by my feet on the rug, stealing herself or another test soon. I can see it in her face.

Oh, how I hate being hurting mommy. I know it's to keep her safe, she only knows mommy won't stop poking her sore ears.
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- +14 -111/PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37/+4.5-45

Wow, what a way to wake me up as I check into LL :lol: Nice one, Pirate!!

Great catch, Shai. Glad to see that 45, but I'm wondering the same that Marje is - any bigger carb-guns needed?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- +14 -111/PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37/+4.5-45

Poor little Fitzel...she knows how much you love her! Yes..you and Anne are in difficult shoes right now.

Hope she comes up so you can rest. Hugs!
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- +14 -111/PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37/+4.5-45

@Jane - good morning. Hope all is fine in the Emperor's house-hold.

Thank you for stopping by - I do have some HC waiting (honey or maple syrup or Karo - got 'em all on the counter) and if Fitz isn't continuing her up-ness I'll most certainly be using the big guns.

The only thing wrong with having maple syrup on the counter - now I have a craving for pancakes! :shock:

Shai
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- +14 -111/PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37/+4.5-45

Mmmm pancakes!! I need to make those for breakfast :mrgreen: Maybe you can make some for yourself as a treat, when Fitz has ceased her dramatics!

Jane
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- +14 -111/PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37/+4.5-45/+5-

Well, so far so good, but..... could still be the Temptation. I put out a bit more MC food, but she's not interested. She wants to sleep.

Jane, should I force the issue with her or let her sleep until next pokey?

shai
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- +14 -111/PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37/+4.5-45/+5-

Hmm. Well, if the next poke is within 20-30 minutes of the last one, I'd say you can let her snooze until then, since you say you fed her some MC along with the HC treats, and you've experienced with her that this levels her out a bit. I wouldn't wait longer for the next feeding though - next poke, next bit of food. Even on a drop on insulin, she's dipped into the 30s, and it's just not worth taking chances.

When is next poke? 15 minutes or so, yes?
Jane
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- +14 -111/PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37/+4.5-45/+5-

Correct.

Wish I could nod off like that. Takes me forever to get to sleep on one of these nights.

Maybe it's because Fitz isn't drinking tons of ~O) ~O) ~O)
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- +14 -111/PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37/+4.5-45/+5-

Okay! Thanks for confirming.

For any newbies reading this condo: Fitzel is a very unconventional cat who has her own, very special FD-Treatment Approach. Shai has accumulated a LOT of experience with his very special kitty, and is applying KNOW THY CAT in letting her snooze a bit and not forcing the feeding right this moment on the 30-minute mark. Do NOT copy this approach, and do NOT make off-protocol choices all by yourself, ok?

BG update yet, Shai?
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37/+4.5-45/+5-51/+5.5-5

Took a bit longer - I tested and then fed her. She ate about 1tbsp of MC.

With her rising, I don't think I want to use the sugary stuff. I'm afraid she'll really crash after it wears off. I think I can manage her numbers with the MC as long as I can get her to eat it. She's sitting next to the computer, cleaning her beautiful little face. :-D

Shai
 
Re: 9/25- Fitzel- PMPS -165/+2-54/+4-37/+4.5-45/+5-51/+5.5-5

Well done, Shai - and Pirate Fitz!! Loving that (+5.5).

I agree with you, Shai, I don't think you need the sugary stuff at this point. MC - or even MC/LC mixed - is fine. I'd stay vigilant with testing for a while longer though, if you can. How do you feel about getting a (+6)?

Hugs
Jane
 
Okay, I think we're done for tonight. The food finally kicked in.

I'm leaving her with a free-feed bowl of LC with a touch of MC mixed in.

Thanks Jane for staying up with us. cat_pet_icon

Shai and Pirate Fitz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top