9/25, Corduroy +2=378, +7=430, +10=469, PMPS=447, +2=431

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Good morning! ~O)

I hope all is well in kittyland today! I really appreciate all the support yesterday. Okay, so I've been giving Corduroy one big drop, which really means two small drops (in other words, it's not the smallest amount I could give because I could still go down to one small drop). Does this make sense? His AMPS this morning was 400. Last night, it sure didn't go down much, but I'm still hoping that this is due to skipping the previous times and that maybe his body will catch up. Am I correct in thinking this? Possibly? I'm trying to get the hang of this ;-) Should I stay on this "One Big Drop" regimen for at least 10 cycles?
 
Re: 9/25, Corduroy, AMPS=400, gave one big drop

It'll take some time for Corduroy's shed to build back up and for him to show some improvement. Good luck, and looking forward to seeing better #s in the near future for him. :-D
 
Re: 9/25, Corduroy, AMPS=400, gave one big drop

Work that big drop safely, Corduroy!!! I'm sure others who have been working with you and Corduroy will be along shortly to answer your questions. Have a great day, guys!!!
 
Re: 9/25, Corduroy, AMPS=400, gave one big drop

Looks like he's still bouncing from the other morning...he was so low that I'm sure his liver panicked in a BIG way, so you're just going to have to wait for all the hormones and glucogen to work their way out

Stick with your 1 BIG drop dose for now and just give it every 12 hours...And pick yourself out a pair of patience pants...Your choice of color :-D
images
 
Re: 9/25, Corduroy, AMPS=400, gave one big drop

This could be a bounce off the 38 - you will know within 72 hours if he comes back down.

Or he could be a microdose cat for now. doing drop dosing is a pain - I go through it with Bailey all the time .

Wendy

PS cyan skinny jeans for me!!
 
Re: 9/25, Corduroy +2=378, +7=430, +10=469, PMPS=447

Hi all!

I know Chris is going to tell me to put on my "patience pants," but this one big drop sure doesn't seem to be doing a thing. Wendy, so after 72 hours of this, I should know whether or not to raise his dose? I guess I'm just worried about his BG being so high for so long :sad:

Wendy, he was actually down to 20 and lower on Monday. Would it be bouncing back from that or from 38? Can you clarify please? :smile:
 
a bounce can last 72 hrs (3 days) - so yes, this could still be a bounce from monday. there were also the 2 skipped doses.

if you take a peek at the protocol it does say if you have a failed reduction to go back up to the last good dose. you don't hold a lower dose for 10 days if it's not working. that said, you do want to wait for the bounce to clear. just keep posting and askng questions and people will help you figure out the next step.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
It's much better to be too high than it is to be too low Brigitte. Remember, Corduroy was probably diabetic for quite some time before you noticed, so although those high numbers can cause long term damage, it's the really low ones that kill quickly.

You need to just hold on for the full 72 hours and see how he does. He dropped terribly low, so it's no surprise that he bounced so high.
 
Okay, thanks Chris and Julie. I do worry about those long-term problems, however. He has displayed signs of neuropathy for quite some time now (his back legs splaying out while he's eating and general weakness in them). I worry a great deal about that. Is there a nutrient or vitamin that can help with that? I thought someone mentioned that one time.
 
Hi Sienne, thanks for the info! I'm going to buy some now. So, do you know if cats will eat it though? I would probably crush it up in his food, but he's a pretty picky eater.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top