9/25 Billie PMPS 403 new hives

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello LL!!

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125857

It looks like a flat cycle for Billie. I'm curious to see what tonight will bring, but suspect that the green a few nights ago was a fluke and I'll be raising the dose unless she heads down to green tonight. Tonight will be the 6th cycle at 1u since the skipped shot. Because of the green though, I'm assuming I should go up to 1.25 instead of jumping back to 1.5 (our dose before the vacation reduction).

I have some sort of cold/flu bug, so I'm definitely not complaining that we haven't had low numbers in the past few cycles. I got to lie around like one of the cats today, and caught up on The Voice :-D

I heard 3 coughing episodes from Billie today, but the hives are still looking better, so that's cool. I have read and heard that a cough can take longer to improve, and hopefully, it will get better soon.

Sending lots of vines to all the cats and beans needing vines!!
 
Re: 9/25 Billie PMPS 403

We have a red PMPS and new hives. The hives on her neck are improving like I noted earlier, but I found a new batch around the base of her tail a couple hours ago ohmygod_smile And, she was coughing more than she has been today. This makes me think that she's having some kind of flare up, and the rise in BG is going along with that flare up.

So, I wonder if that means the allergen is still out there. The vet said that it can take 4 weeks for symptoms to improve after a diet change, so I guess it's possible that the allergen is gone but she's still having a reaction. But, it's also possible that she is being exposed to it. I am wondering about the herring oil in the EVO. I wish I could call the specialist tomorrow, but she only works Monday through Wednesday so I'll have to wait.

Anyway, I want to increase to 1.25, and I'm wondering if it's okay to increase tonight? It looks to me like the 1u is definitely not cutting it. And, is it right to increase to 1.25 instead of going back to 1.5 (her dose before vacation) just to be cautious because of the 89 from Tuesday night? I know that the initial advice was to go right back to the former dose, but that 89 made things tricky.

Poor Billie :sad: I actually had a feeling like she wasn't having a great day, and I noticed that her fur was not feeling as fluffy as it usually does, which is what happens when she goes high...but I did not expect the red.
 
Re: 9/25 Billie PMPS 403 new hives - dosecrease?

Aw, poor Billie. I wish it was easier to figure out what was triggering the allergies!!

I agree with you...I would only increase to 1.25U, even though her pre-vacation dose was 1.5U. I think being a little cautious is wise, and as you know, if 1.25U doesn't work, in 6 cycles (which will fly by!) you can consider returning to 1.5U.

Feel better, sweet little Billie - and you to, Deanna!
 
Re: 9/25 Billie PMPS 403 new hives - dosecrease?

Thank you Amy! I am not a fan of the allergies. I'm glad it's nothing more serious and trying to keep that in perspective, but I want her to feel better! I am suspicious of the herring oil. There are a couple LC novel protein options from Instinct that don't have fish oil. She wasn't into them initially, but I may try to get some and try again tomorrow. According to some sources, fish oil isn't supposed to aggravate a fish allergy because the allergen is the protein and the oil doesn't have protein in it, but according to other sources, it's possible that some protein molecules end up in the oil (depending on how carefully it is processed), and that's enough to cause a reaction.

I am going with my gut and starting the 1.25 tonight. She was flat at +4 so I really don't think she went any lower today/don't think the 403 is a bounce.
 
Aw, darn it. I was hoping she was getting better. Max won't eat the Instinct foods. I hope Billie likes them.
 
Hi Dianna,

Allergies are such awful things to work out. :( Your info on the fish oil being a possible source of allergens is good to know. We're also trying to work out what the triggers are. I hope you get it sorted soon.

Grace
 
Bummer on the new hives. Poor Billie. Ella's Rusty has a fish allergy and it's amazing how many types of cat food have fish in them.

Good luck with the increase. I hope it'll flatten her numbers out a bit.
 
((((Deanna, Billie))) 99(Well, heres one for Brooklyn too lol)))Sorry to hear there are more hives and coughing Deanna, plus I am sorry you are sick as well! It would not surprise me if there is fish oil in everything, how frustrating for you trying to isolate whatever it is! I hope the new fuds help and that you all will feel better soon! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
just a thought....
it might not be a food.

Have you gotten new carpet? paint? new environmentals of any type?

remodeled? ( their is formaldehyde in lots of building products..... even though they are getting better about it)

I myself get hives if I sit in certain types of grasses.


I'm just saying .... think outside of the box..... or maybe rather think inside of the house.....
 
Thank you all!! I really appreciate the visits. It is tricky business.

Rhiannon, there's nothing new in the house, but environmental allergy testing is our vet's next plan of action if the food trial doesn't resolve things. I did get an air purifier, a vacuum with a HEPA filter, Dr. Elsey's litter (fragrance free), and I washed all the bedding, but there could still be allergens hanging around. If she's allergic to something like dust that is impossible to eliminate, she will probably need allergy shots of some sort.

I'm hoping it's just early in the food trial and maybe it will still work out, but I'm also not trusting the fish oil. I wish I could call the vet tomorrow. I will call the office anyway and see if she takes calls on her days off. She did say the EVO would be okay so she must not have thought of the herring oil as a problem, but who knows.

Maybe she's allergic to me?? :roll: Her hives looked great when I got back, and DB said he only heard her cough on one occasion while I was away!
 
Actually, Deanna...along the same lines that Rhiannon mentioned, along with you asking if she could be allergic to you....have you changed anything you use - soap, lotion, laundry detergent, perfume???
 
I haven't changed anything in the past few months - I used to light candles or incense occasionally and I stopped doing that. I don't wear perfume and don't spray Febreeze or anything...so I'm stumped! I remember Tricia saying that Sasha had allergy issues and ended up testing positive for cat dander among other things...so she was literally allergic to herself. It could be something crazy like that with Billie. The vet did say that once an allergic reaction starts, cats get more sensitive to other allergens, and different allergies can exacerbate each other. I guess I'll just get ahold of her Monday if she's not around tomorrow, and I'll see if we should try a different approach considering the new hives/increased coughing that surfaced tonight - maybe a different food, home cooked if necessary, or move on to the testing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top