9/25 Benjamin AMPS 89 +3/51 +3.5/49 +4/65 PMPS 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

cindyh

Member Since 2012
Good Morning!

Last condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78869

Benjamin is doing great, having lots of green numbers. I'm getting my hopes up that he may want to go OTJ at some point! :-D I've seen other spreadsheets where the dose was reduced when having numbers similar to Benjamin's without having a really low number. I'm thinking of reducing his dose to .75u tonight. I will be able to get a +4 number today, then I won't be able to test till +10. I can post those numbers tonight.

Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks!
 
Re: 9/25 Benjamin AMPS 89 dose advice?

Hi Cindy!

While he's doing great, I would not reduce his dose yet.

From the TR protocol:

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

I bolded the part that currently applies to Benjamin....he hasn't had seven full days in normal numbers.

If he dips below 50 or has seven full days in normal numbers, then you can reduce him by .25u.

Patience, Grasshopper :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/25 Benjamin AMPS 89 dose advice?

Thanks, Marje! I did read that part of the protocol, but also noticed that other people didn't necessarily wait 7 days, so that's what had me wondering. I will try really hard to have patience! :smile:
 
Re: 9/25 Benjamin AMPS 89 +3/51 dose advice?

Looks like Benjamin may not have patience either! :-D I think he's going to drop below 50 today and get his decrease. I will be able to test him once more before I go to work, so I will feed him after that test.
 
Re: 9/25 Benjamin AMPS 89 +3/51 dose advice?

Well....you can't compare him to other cats for two reasons. First, someone might not be following the protocol for whatever reason. If its a newly dx'd cat, they should be unless we see something different about them that we feel they need a different plan. If its a long term diabetic, most of those CGs are very experienced and they know when their cat needs reductions, etc.

For example, although Gracie is a long term diabetic, I don't always judge her reductions based on the numbers. If she's in the 40s and I'm having to test and feed her every 30-60 mi uses, I know the next stop is the 30s, so I reduce her.

It's good to study other SSs but you can't always translate them to Benjamin's needs. And we try to stick to the protocol unless there is something unusual we see.

And yes...he might just earn that reduction. Mid feed him two good tsp of LC food and retest in 30 mins, ok?
 
Re: 9/25 Benjamin AMPS 89 +3/51 +3.5/49 +4/65 dose advice?

He went down to 49 at +3.5, then back up to 65 at +4 before I fed him. I gave him the other half of his breakfast, and I will leave a snack in the automatic feeder to open in 2 hours just to be safe. Thanks for the help!
 
Re: 9/25 Benjamin AMPS 89 +3/51 +3.5/49 +4/65 dose advice?

Cindy

Can you please put the +3.5 in the +3 box? you can stack them so it looks like: 51; 49 @ 3.5

If you look at Gracie's SS, you'll find one that is stacked. You might just have to go back several cycles....the bile duct infection is wreaking havoc on her numbers lately.

You can go either way on the reduction. Because he brought himself up, you've got some room to stay at this dose. BUT....IMHO, I'd try reducing him by .25u and see if he holds it. You can always take him back up. My reasoning is because he did come down today, he has been flirting with nice green numbers for 5.5 days, and it's likely that in the next few cycles (if you don't reduce him), he'll earn a reduction and make you work to keep him up.
 
Thanks, Marje. I fixed the spreadsheet. I did reduce him to .75u since he seems to have stayed low today. Didn't he technically "earn" the reduction anyway by going below 50 as a newly diagnosed cat? Not trying to argue, just making sure I understand. Hopefully he will stay low with the reduction.
 
He earned his reduction. We did the same thing a couple of weeks ago. We dropped to 49 and didn't even have to open a new can of food.
The bg just went back up a bit.
It still counts.
Congratulations! :mrgreen:
 
Yes...you are correct. He did earn the reduction.

Sometimes there are reasons to hold them a bit. For instance, if he wasn't eating....numbers would be lower than normal. Or he just had a tiny dip and then sprung back up.

I think you we're wise to take him down :-D Good luck with the reduction!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top