9/24 Tink PMPS 83, +1=87, +2=72, +3=48, +3.5=46

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125787

So last night went well. For those who missed it, Tink's preshot last night was 58!! I goofed and fed him (as regular meal time) and then came here for shooting advice. Ended up stalling an hour, at which point he was at 88 and we went ahead with the shot.

I'm not sure if he's bouncing now, or if he may have snuck some carbs. He surfed well early in the cycle last night, but then at +5.5 he was up to 254. This morning's preshot was 264. Not bad considering that was 7hrs later... but still higher than I'd hoped after last night's low PS. BUT then I saw the stew ladel on the kitchen floor. It had been sitting in a dish full of water, in the sink. LUCKILY the stew was NOT thickened with flour, so was lower carb than usual - but it did have potatoes and beans (not sure if beans are carby or not). Otherwise just veggies. There couldn't have been MUCH on the ladel, since it had sat in water.

Then this morning, Tarzan was helping Tink extract dog kibble from the bowl inside the dog kennel. UGH. It's never ending with these two!!!! I dont know if Tink got any. I found one piece on the floor and I finally figured out a way to rig the kennel cover so they can't reach their paws into the kennel. They dont do it when the dog's in there - but I can't possibly inspect her entire kennel for kibble every time I let her out. So, hopefully the kennel cover being more secure will help with this. Of course the one animal I have that ISN'T part Hoover is the one that I NEED to eat all her food right away. ohmygod_smile

I probably need to start looking at making my own dog food (and maybe cat food too)... but I just dont know where I'll find the time.

Anyway... Hoping Tink has a nice surf today and that I'm faced with another low PS (maybe not AS low...). Now that I know how to handle it, I'm kinda looking forward to it.

Also, seems his appetite is back to normal. Hopefully the litter box will be too.
 
Re: 9/24 Tink AMPS 264, +2=314 - carb contraband??

oops.... No worries....
It will all cycle back around.... and like you said.... you'll be more prepared ....
 
Re: 9/24 Tink AMPS 264, +2=314, +10.75=80

Hmm... seems that low numbers at the end of his AM cycle is becoming a habit. :mrgreen: Tested at +10.75 and he was at 80! I was worried he'd be really high, given his +2 this morning. I can't wait till this weekend - I really want to see what his cycles look like! These low numbers at the end are VERY new for us. I like it... but I'm really curious how he's getting there.

This dose seems to be doing some good things.
 
Re: 9/24 Tink PMPS 83, +1=87. May have vomited meal - re-fe

ohmygod_smile

Never a dull moment with this cat. So, preshot was a gorgeous 83. Fed, shot, went outside. Came back in at +1 and there is what looks like an entire meal vomited on the floor (just mushed food and a little stomach acid). Could be anyone's... but could be Tink's. I tested him and he's at 87. Should I offer him another meal, or wait and see? I hate to not have him food loaded when the insulin starts to work... but not sure if that's as much of an issue with shooting low or not...
 
Re: 9/24 Tink PMPS 83, +1=87. May have vomited meal - re-fe

I think i'd give him *some* more. If he's vomiting you don't want to give him too much, too fast anyway. So i might give a tablespoon of his regular food and then wait 30 minutes - if it stays down, give him another little bit. if you think that a Tablespoon is too much, give him a teaspoon instead.

that was a nice short bounce!

too funny on the stew and the dog crunchies - they can find it wherever you let it linger . . . ohmygod_smile :lol:
 
Re: 9/24 Tink PMPS 83, +1=87. May have vomited meal - re-fe

Ok, will do. Can't even be sure it was his... so dont want to give TOO much... but I'll try a tablespoon. Almost time to retest anyway, which should give me some indication of if he's got food in there or not.
 
Re: 9/24 Tink PMPS 83, +1=87, +2=72

Ok.... just got a +2 and he's at 72. That's only 10pts down from preshot... but being so low to begin with, not sure if I should feed again or not. He did hold down the TBSP I gave him so far. His stomach feels a bit firm - but he's always kinda tubby. Can he have baking soda? I know that helps the goats - but not sure if its ok for cats (esp diabetic ones).
 
Re: 9/24 Tink PMPS 83, +1=87, +2=72. May have vomited meal

Do you think he's feeling gassy? You can feed him a 1/4 tablet of a regular Pepcid AC.

Easy does it Tink - let's show momma how starting low you stay flat for the night.
 
Re: 9/24 Tink PMPS 83, +1=87, +2=72, +3=48

AND now we're down to 48. ohmygod_smile

Gave .75oz wellness chicken & lobster (11% I think?). Will retest in 30.

He REALLY likes the chicken and lobster. HAHA. Tried to come get the rest of the can. Told him he has to wait.
 
Re: 9/24 Tink PMPS 83, +1=87, +2=72, +3=48 UGH

+3.5 = 46

Gave another .75oz chicken/lobster.

Not sure what a tsp is in oz. But I'm giving 1/4 can (small 3oz cans), which LOOKS like about 2tsp?
 
Do you have anything higher carb? Sometimes early in the cycle you need higher carb than later in the cycle. If he's not up at your next test, you might want to add some syrup, karo, or higher carb.

Come on Tink, time to get to a safer part of the lagoon please. :shock: :mrgreen:
 
I do have some gravy lovers, but that seemed to upset his system last time. Didn't the first time though... so maybe it was just the beef variety. How much karo or honey would I add to the mc? Or do you think the fancy feast is better?
 
Looking forward to tomorrows AM dose (at 5am, so bad time to be seeking advice) - should I hold this dose? It's his second dip under 50 on this dose, but I feel like it's likely due to him vomiting his meal prior to +1. The dose seems to be a good one - if only he wouldn't throw wrenches into everything. :roll:
 
Up to 54 now, just shy of +4.

Regular meal time is between +4 & +4.5 (as is my usual bedtime). I'll get one more test before I feed and go from there. Obviously, I'll be getting up to check him as needed.
 
If you did need to go to karo, just add a drop or two. Some people use karo instead of gravy, because their kitty reacts to the wheat. Looks like Tink's responded to the 11% just fine though. :-D

You could use the method of waiting for 3 drops below 50, or one below 40, before earning a .25U reduction. This dose does seem to be getting Tink into normal numbers a lot. The one thing to take into consideration with this method is how hard it is to get the numbers up. Tonight, it looks like MC did the job fine. If you had a night where you were fighting with high carb and/or karo for a number of tests, then that might be an indication to drop the dose.
 
Ugh. Back down to 49 @ 4.5. Mealtime, so fed .75oz (half normal amt - what was left after earlier TBSP) plus the other half of the can of chicken/lobster (1.5oz). So, meal just slightly larger than usual, but a bit higher carb. Given that I'm pretty confident at this point that he vomited his entire meal at PS, I'm hoping this will be ok. Poor guy's been begging me for food all night.

Will test again in 30, doze a bit... test again, etc. Good thing I'm a light sleeper. :roll:

Sleep is for wimps. :cool:
 
Good news about tomorrow morning. 5:00 am for you is 8:00 am on the East Coast, and a lot of our best advice givers live in the Eastern time zone! Post and you should get some help.

I just add a drop of karo, about dime sized, to my kitty's food to bring him up. With practise, you'll learn how much you need.
 
Assuming nothing crazy happens, I'll probably not be back on tonight. Have a good night - thanks for the input tonight.
 
Hi there :cool:

Tink is keeping you busy tonight :mrgreen:
JenM said:
Poor guy's been begging me for food all night.
he is looking to bring his numbers up.
JenM said:
Sleep is for wimps. :cool:


eta- My $0.02- Based on how hard you are having to work to keep him up and how early in the cycle the hard work began, I too think it may be time for a reduction.
 

Attachments

  • coffee.jpg
    coffee.jpg
    10.5 KB · Views: 152
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top