9/24 Stu PMPS 116, +5 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=258790#p258790

Good post-full moon morning, Everyone,

We are having a heat wave: wet, muggy (feels like a sauna), supposed to be in the 80s later today. UGH! I shall spend the day getting all the instructions written down for Hypurrcat for Stu's testing, shots, feeding, etc. They said to write everything down in as much detail as I wish and that they will do everything requested with regard to his diabetes routine. I think I will ask them to get an (AMPS) +2.5 and +5.5 (or +6) in addition to the standard AMPS, PMPS, and PMPS +4 (bedtime). I will ask them to feed 4 mini meals in the morning (at AMPS, +1, +2, +3), and if Stu drops more than 50-75 points between AMPS and +2.5, to feed a little 12% or 8% (depending on the drop) and to check bg again at +4 and to feed a little more 12% or 8% if necessary. Stu is always OK in the afternoon, and almost always in the evening. QUESTION: If Stu should have an AMPS or PMPS that is lower than about 75 or 80 (not likely, but possible), should I simply tell them to shave the dose a little and shoot as usual (Stu's current dose is 0.5)? I don't want to skip shots, and I don't really want to do the delay tactic because it is better if he stays on schedule. If his PS tests are low, I will ask them to monitor more frequently.
I would really appreciate any advice or additions concerning the above. I know that they will not always be able to be as vigilant as I am (when I am home, of course!!).

WCR: Stu is subdued again today. I would describe him as moping around. He actually looks sad. I think it is because he knows he is about to go to Hypurrcat to see if he will qualify for this treatment. We are trying to distract him and cheer him up. His "Nanner" came yesterday and he played vigorously with it for about 5 minutes, but has since pretty much ignored it. Outside he is more interested in sitting than in making the rounds of the garden (the weather may be a factor here). He ate By Nature 95% Turkey and Turkey liver last night for the first time in several weeks and enjoyed it. He's getting the rest of the can this morning (it is somewhat higher in phosphorus than Wellness Chicken or Turkey or Merrick Cowboy Cookout, but I want him to eat!). Litterbox activity is normal. He continues to love his water fountain. After the 118 at +2.25 I gave him a little 8% Grammy's Pot Pie.

All for now. I'll post a +4 in a minute. Stu will report on the wonderful Harvest Moon Ball later today.

Ella

p.s. fed a little 12% at +4
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77; Question

Ella...Stu's numbers look really good. We'll be keeping our fingers crossed that he qualifies for the treatment!! Hope you don't swelter too much up there!! We're looking at mid 90's and DRY but that makes it tolerable.
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77; Question

Hi Ella,
How long will Stu have to stay at Hypurrcat? Does he go in on Monday? I'm sorry I have no answers to your question. But I'm sending vines for qualification for the treatment.

Stu, that was a great party last night! Your cooking is so yummy. Don't worry about that Hypurrcat stuff. We're all pulling for you and we know you'll do great! Love, Blackie
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77; Question

I looked through your SS Ella...and you seemed to have good results when you shaved the dose in the past. Stu hasn't had all that many "low" preshots so I think shaving the dose would be a good thing in case he would go low. Of course, he will be in strange surroundings Ella...I am not sure whether halving the does would be better. If they are able to monitor him in the hours that follow the low number, then shaving would be good in my opinion....
Maybe other will weigh in....I just babbled a little but would prefer if a more experienced person gave the final answer....

Stu:
Why so glum chum?
You have to ask if we can visit you when you go to Hypurrcat...
We all would promise to not "carry on" as my Mama would say.
We would all just sit and be quiet but we would like to visit and
see your face man!

The food was SO great last night Stu! We all loved it...and we even
have some leftovers for tonight. You made enough for the clean-up
party too! You are awesome my friend!
Shad-O
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77; Question

I think your plan sounds like a good one. I wish I could confidently give you advice on what to do if he tests low. I wonder how much they will be able to monitor him? Perhaps you will have a better feel for that when you get there? I wonder if it would be good to shave the dose while he is there? I'd sure hate to loose the momentum that he has going though. Will you be able to check daily, and then could make any necessary adjustments on what they tell you? i know with my guys that eating is always a factor - they just don't eat well while at the vet. Good luck! And I hope someone with more experience than I can answer the question....

Other than that - nice day for Stu!! GREAT +4!

Stu - I am green too!! Wanna go surf? and buddy - don't worry! you are going to a great place, where they will make you all better! We will keep in touch with your bean everyday to now how you are doing. It will be good, so don't worry, OK. See you today? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77; Question

I don't have any advice to give as far as dosing goes ... Im sure others will be able to help you out in that department .. as for me I will just be sending good positive thoughts and prayers your way ...
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77; Question

Ella Since he is doing so well on this dose, and he does respond well to shaving the dose, I think that plan could work--
Of course, you need to see what his numbers are when he's there to really make that call,
But for safety sake, a shave will keep him in safe numbers-if he should have that amps-
Then , of course, Stu has been doing very well on the 0.5 and you would have to see if he has a stress reaction also,
But it sounds like you have given great thought to all this ,as we all would--Will you visit every day??
I am here for you, and you will get through this with all of us behind you!! Luv you guys!!

Stu what a great MoonDance we had!! What a night!! Whoo Hooo you were really having a great time!!
The Food, the drinks,the music, the company, it was sooooooo wonnerful!! Have a restful day today--& dont be skeered of anything--OK?
Big HUGS--Moonie
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77; Question

Hi again, everyone,

Just to clarify a few things about Stu's stay at Hypurrcat. No, we cannot visit (but all his friends can visit just like they do wherever they are!). We beans will be able to view him on his own web cam that will be set up in his "condo". I will find out if I can share the web cam address when we get there. Stu will be quarantined because after the subcutaneous injection that he will get on his first day (if he qualifies for the treatment), he will be radioactive. That's why he has to stay in the facility for 7-10 more days after the injection. When the radioactivity diminishes, he can come home. But even then we are supposed not to have too much physical contact with him for another 2 weeks or so. And we have to use The World's Best Cat Litter because it is completely safe and flushable (i.e., no radioactivity will go into landfills--no one says anything about waste-water treatment plants!!). I have already switched him to World's Best and he loves it (and so do I).
We are driving down to NYC on Monday, will stay overnight in our little studio apartment, and on Tuesday will drive up to Bedford Hills (in Westchester County), where Hypurrcat is located. Dr. Peterson will give him a complete examination and we will learn if he can get the I-131 treatment. If it is a go, it would be possible to have him treated in their NYC facility, but the instrument that they use to scan (?) the thyroid before determining whether or not to go ahead with the treatment is in the Bedford Hills facility. So we decided it would be simpler just to have him stay there: he'll get his injection immediately after getting acclimated to his "condo"; there are no side effects and no special preparations to follow. Since we can't visit in any event, it doesn't really matter if he stays in Bedford Hills or in NYC.
So keep fingers and paws crossed that Stu will pass the exam!!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77; Question

Stu - I hear you gotta take a test soon. Study hard and I hope you pass! I had so much fun last night - my tummy's feeling better today and I'm going back over to eat some more help clean up. See ya soon! - Muffin
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77; Question

Waitaminute - he has to have *some* human contact, right? :shock: Do they wear lead-covered body condoms or something?

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77; Question

keeping our fingers and paws crossed that Stu passes his exam. He's in all our thoughts.
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77, +5.75 65; Question

Hi and a word about the "human" contact.
The vets and vet techs take care of the kitties. Stu will have a "nurse" (vet tech). They wear surgical gloves. I guess they take other precautions. But they have to be careful with us beans for liability purposes, obviously. They have wide-screen kitty videos for the cats to watch, and hamsters to view, and bird feeders outside the windows. The condo will have a sleeping place and a "hiding" place. We are to bring something from home for Stu to have with him to remind him that we love him (he'll have an old fleece sweater of Edward's that he likes to sleep on; we will not get it back; we will also bring one of his mice (but not his favorite, since we can't have that back, either).

65 at +5.75 (nadir); fed a little 8% mixed in with the usual LC lunch.

Ella
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77, +5.75 65; Question

WOW on Hypurrcat - they do a nice job. When we had one of mine treated several years ago there were no cams, or hide places, or fav things from home. I love the kitty videos, and the bird feeders - wonderful! Our stay was only three days. How things have changed - and so much better. I hope they will give out the IP address for Stu. It would be fun to check up on him. :-D I could just see all us users checking on our buddy. Well I am sure things will go well, and that Stu passes his exam. I know you won't be sorry you had this done.

And nice numbers today for Stu!
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77, +5.75 65; Question

I'm sure Stu will pass the exam with flying colors...we all have our fingers and paws crossed for him, how can he NOT pass? ;-)

I'm sure he will do just wonderfully with the treatment, and will get the best of care. It would be fun to be able to peek in on him to see how he's doing! But even if you can't share the IP with us, at least you will be able to see him, that will be a big stress reducer for you, I'm sure!

Nice numbers today!
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77, +5.75 65; Question

I'm just catching up after being out of the loop for several days - so glad Stu may be able to get the treatment! That's great! I hope all goes well with his exam and he can have it done!
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77, +5.75 65; Question

Great numbers today and all paws crossed that Stu is accepted for treatment. I think the hardest psrt will be not being able to cuddle with him for two weeks after he get home. :o
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77, +5.75 65; Question

Agree with Ann. To not be able to hold him and cuddle will be hard on you and him. The place sounds like a fine place to be, for the treatment.
Oh Ella, I so pray that Stu will pass test and have treatment.
Oh yeah, I wanna see the cam too. All Stu's aunties and uncle Brian can watch him at play...or sleep...or hide. :lol:
 
Re: 9/24 Stu AMPS 195, +2.25 118, +4 77, +5.75 65; Question

if they do let you share the IP address, they better have stainless steel cables...cuz the traffic from stu's buddies is gonna be like the LA freeway at 5PM!

do they at least have a mini-grill for him?
 
Re: 9/24 Stu PMPS 116

Wishing you the very very best for this upcoming week Ella hope all goes so smooth for our Stu (((((HUGS))))) nice pmps its so nice they are willing to work with you on the FD and everything they sound great when I talk to my own personal vets about .25 dosing and fats and skinnys and shaving a bit they look at me like I am nuts so I think its great this place will work with you on this :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top