Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)
Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=258790#p258790
Good post-full moon morning, Everyone,
We are having a heat wave: wet, muggy (feels like a sauna), supposed to be in the 80s later today. UGH! I shall spend the day getting all the instructions written down for Hypurrcat for Stu's testing, shots, feeding, etc. They said to write everything down in as much detail as I wish and that they will do everything requested with regard to his diabetes routine. I think I will ask them to get an (AMPS) +2.5 and +5.5 (or +6) in addition to the standard AMPS, PMPS, and PMPS +4 (bedtime). I will ask them to feed 4 mini meals in the morning (at AMPS, +1, +2, +3), and if Stu drops more than 50-75 points between AMPS and +2.5, to feed a little 12% or 8% (depending on the drop) and to check bg again at +4 and to feed a little more 12% or 8% if necessary. Stu is always OK in the afternoon, and almost always in the evening. QUESTION: If Stu should have an AMPS or PMPS that is lower than about 75 or 80 (not likely, but possible), should I simply tell them to shave the dose a little and shoot as usual (Stu's current dose is 0.5)? I don't want to skip shots, and I don't really want to do the delay tactic because it is better if he stays on schedule. If his PS tests are low, I will ask them to monitor more frequently.
I would really appreciate any advice or additions concerning the above. I know that they will not always be able to be as vigilant as I am (when I am home, of course!!).
WCR: Stu is subdued again today. I would describe him as moping around. He actually looks sad. I think it is because he knows he is about to go to Hypurrcat to see if he will qualify for this treatment. We are trying to distract him and cheer him up. His "Nanner" came yesterday and he played vigorously with it for about 5 minutes, but has since pretty much ignored it. Outside he is more interested in sitting than in making the rounds of the garden (the weather may be a factor here). He ate By Nature 95% Turkey and Turkey liver last night for the first time in several weeks and enjoyed it. He's getting the rest of the can this morning (it is somewhat higher in phosphorus than Wellness Chicken or Turkey or Merrick Cowboy Cookout, but I want him to eat!). Litterbox activity is normal. He continues to love his water fountain. After the 118 at +2.25 I gave him a little 8% Grammy's Pot Pie.
All for now. I'll post a +4 in a minute. Stu will report on the wonderful Harvest Moon Ball later today.
Ella
p.s. fed a little 12% at +4
Good post-full moon morning, Everyone,
We are having a heat wave: wet, muggy (feels like a sauna), supposed to be in the 80s later today. UGH! I shall spend the day getting all the instructions written down for Hypurrcat for Stu's testing, shots, feeding, etc. They said to write everything down in as much detail as I wish and that they will do everything requested with regard to his diabetes routine. I think I will ask them to get an (AMPS) +2.5 and +5.5 (or +6) in addition to the standard AMPS, PMPS, and PMPS +4 (bedtime). I will ask them to feed 4 mini meals in the morning (at AMPS, +1, +2, +3), and if Stu drops more than 50-75 points between AMPS and +2.5, to feed a little 12% or 8% (depending on the drop) and to check bg again at +4 and to feed a little more 12% or 8% if necessary. Stu is always OK in the afternoon, and almost always in the evening. QUESTION: If Stu should have an AMPS or PMPS that is lower than about 75 or 80 (not likely, but possible), should I simply tell them to shave the dose a little and shoot as usual (Stu's current dose is 0.5)? I don't want to skip shots, and I don't really want to do the delay tactic because it is better if he stays on schedule. If his PS tests are low, I will ask them to monitor more frequently.
I would really appreciate any advice or additions concerning the above. I know that they will not always be able to be as vigilant as I am (when I am home, of course!!).
WCR: Stu is subdued again today. I would describe him as moping around. He actually looks sad. I think it is because he knows he is about to go to Hypurrcat to see if he will qualify for this treatment. We are trying to distract him and cheer him up. His "Nanner" came yesterday and he played vigorously with it for about 5 minutes, but has since pretty much ignored it. Outside he is more interested in sitting than in making the rounds of the garden (the weather may be a factor here). He ate By Nature 95% Turkey and Turkey liver last night for the first time in several weeks and enjoyed it. He's getting the rest of the can this morning (it is somewhat higher in phosphorus than Wellness Chicken or Turkey or Merrick Cowboy Cookout, but I want him to eat!). Litterbox activity is normal. He continues to love his water fountain. After the 118 at +2.25 I gave him a little 8% Grammy's Pot Pie.
All for now. I'll post a +4 in a minute. Stu will report on the wonderful Harvest Moon Ball later today.
Ella
p.s. fed a little 12% at +4