9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55, +4=33,65

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

9/23 Condo

Good morning LL. First of all thank you Rhiannon, Carla, Marje and Jane for stopping in and checking on us yesterday. What started out as a 'bad' day, turned out to be pretty good in the evening. For once, my boy went down at night instead of up!

I hate to admit that I was the cause of his numbers yesterday. I didn't think there was that much difference between a 'fat' dose and going up .25.

Recap of yesterday:

AMPS = 284
+2 = 378
+5 = 343
+9 = 373
PMPS = 408
+1.75 = 306 (too anxious so waited as close to +2 as I could)
+4 = 279
+6 = 277
+8.5 = 275
AMPS = 209

He didn't feel good during the day and finally ate at dinner time, then started feeling a lot better after his evening shot. Purring, Playful all other P's. :-D

Now just keep paws crossed that he doesn't go too low today, as I am at work and can't test and as you all know DH won't. nailbite_smile

Hope everyone has a fabulous day and that all kitties have good numbers. Thanks again everyone for your support. I don't want to say it too loudly, but maybe we're starting to turn things around and it's all because of all of you! :-D

Jo
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209

I'm glad Scratchie is feeling better and that numbers are starting to get lower.
This is all good!!

No, there isn't a lot of difference between a fat and .25 in our view but it can make a difference to our small little kitties.
on my own syringes, I get 5 drops for a half unit. ( yours might be different with different syringes )

Have a good day!
Scratchie will be watching and waiting for you!

Slide down a little lower, nice and gentle, Scratchie!
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209

That's a very decent AMPS, Jo - almost blue :smile: *Antijinx* at your optimistic remark - and of course all available fingers crossed that you're right!

One thought to bear in mind: Looking at your SS, it looks like Scratchie was coming out of a bounce (albeit fairly gently so far) from last night, dropping from red to pink to yellow to now almost-blue. It *can* happen that cats drop quite a bit when they come down this way. This is also the 2nd cycle on the upped dose, which means there may be more of a reaction to that increase this cycle. And it's on the lower end of pre-shots that you've shot so far. These factors together make me want to watch this fairly carefully. I understand that your DH is (so far) unwilling to test - but is he willing (and able) to watch Scratchie during the day? Could he maybe put out a snack for him around (+2) or so?

Without testing, we can't know how low he'll go, so it may be worth considering giving some LC a couple of hours into the cycle to slow the *possible* drop. Does this make sense to you?

Is there anything any of us could do to help explain to your DH why it would be so amazing and invaluable if he *could* get one single spot check per day?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209

Jane,

I'm hoping I can get him there. He is retired and home most of the time, he just doesn't interact with Scratchie the way I do. I did send him a detailed email this morning on what to watch for and if he sees signs of trouble to call me and I'll just have to leave work and go home. I don't want anything to happen to my boy. I also pleaded in the email that he 'learn to test' for just one time a day. That would relieve so much pressure on me and I would not be so stressed all of the time when at work. Work is stressful enough! :lol:

I told him all the things that make this so important to help me with him, so we'll see. He has a horrible phobia about needles and stuff, but the lancet is different. I just don't know what will happen. He is good about watching Scratchie, and making sure he is fed so that's a good point there. We talk several times a day and he gives me updates on how he is acting so I'm just crossing my fingers he'll be ok until I get home.

Thanks for watching over us (you too Rhiannon), thanks for the support and the anti-jinx! ;-)

I've made so many mistakes until I found this site, but hopefully we're moving in a good direction - again thanks to everyone's support, comments, ((hugs)) and everything else you guys do. It's amazing the amount of time everyone spends on reassuring others that things will get better. It's awesome!

Jo
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209

Hi guys .. yes this is a very nice start to the day! Almost blue for sure .. I sure do hope that your DH realizes how important testing is and maybe one day overcomes his fears .. it's hard, I understand that .. but it is so important .. in the meantime, enjoy the progress you have made with scratchie! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292

Peter, Jane, Rhiannon, everyone.

Scratchie has been more like his old self according to DH. He's been wandering from room to room, sitting in the windows, laying on the bed or any spot where he could find sunshine on a cloudy day. Still in yellow! :shock:

All P's accounted for and looking good!

The best news is that my beautiful DH of 30 years has agreed to learn how to test! :thumbup :RAHCAT I am so pleased that he is willing to try. Granted he doesn't want to do anything until the weekend, but that's ok - it's a start and on the weekend I can spend time with him and get him used to it. His biggest fear is hurting Scratchie, but he says he realizes, after my email to him this morning, that he needs to help out. Thank you all for the 'vines' you sent his way as something got him to turn around and I'm sure it wasn't me! After all we've been together for a long time!

I'll still be doing checks through the night, but wanted to share that we are still yellow and I am so pleased!

Jo
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292

oh Wow!!! Wow and Wow !

I was resigned to him never being willing , you had convinced me he just wouldn't do it.....

That is such Good news!
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292

dancing.JPG
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292

I know! I can't believe it and I have this goofy grin on my face since we talked.

Now if things just keep staying mellow until the weekend!

((Hugs))

Jo
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292

I'm so glad your DH is willing to try testing to help you out. That's great. It's nice to see Scratchie is still yellow this evening and that he is feeling better.
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126

Looks like we're going to have a busy night! Nice blue!! Yeah Scratchie!!
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126

yes. that large drop indicates an active cycle.
You have lots of strips and a hi carb preferably with gravy?
And the how to deal with low numbers information printed in case of internet failure??
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126

Yes I do Rhiannon. I think I'm prepared. How often do I test? He just ate 1/4 can after this test.

Every hour or two?
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126

right now , it's just a great number.... it's just more than a 50% drop so I expect more dropping.
I'm hoping one of the more experienced will show up soon.
I think you are good for an hour but you can do half hour if you want. You said you just gave food.
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126

Thanks dear. I'm re-reading the low number sticky just so I don't mess up.
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126

I would get a +3 or, if you're nervous, you can always test at +2.5. I'm glad you gave Scratchie some LC. That should slow things down.
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126

Thanks Sienne just hope he can maintain these numbers and not shoot high again

Paws crossed!
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

Just tested and 55. Feeding HC food with gravy to see if it slows it down a bit. Going to be a long night!

Jo
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

I think so.
Try to focus on the gravy in case it is a long night. Don't want him too full to want to eat.
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

Ok will do. Thanks!
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

We are ok. I'll test again in a few minutes. He's acting great!

Thanks dear!
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

Jo

Can you please get a +3.5 and let me know how he's doing? If he's still coming down, give him another tsp of gravy and retest in 30 mins. Lather, rinse, repeat, k?

I'll be watching for your numbers.
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

Congrats on getting DH to test. Mine DH got himself all worked up that he was hurting Leo and it took a while for him to SEE Leo actually bugging me to get tested so he could get his treat. Now he's much better with it, and he realizes that Leo's not thrilled with the testing, but it's also not a big deal to him (Leo) either.

Good luck with these numbers and listen to the gurus - they're great around here!
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

Update? It's important to test every 30 mins, Jo....don't wait an hour, K?
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

He's at 33 now. But he's acting fine.
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

Ok...how about some HC gravy...a couple of tsps and a nice big drop of karo? Please retest in 20 minutes and let me know. Please don't wait any longer than 20 mins
after he finishes eating. When you retest, if he's still low like that, do the same thing again.

See you in 20.

And he earned a dose reduction with this. :-D
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

Forgot to say thanks Marje!
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

Marje he's up to 65.
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

Great! Good job. Be sure you put on his SS exactly what you fed him so you will know for next time.

Did you give him HC gravy and karo? Here's the important thing....those wear off in about two hours and numbers can wobble back down. So it's important to keep up the testing until you have two rising, no food influenced numbers. So that means you might have to sleep and set an alarm and get up and test.

I'd give him a bit of LC and test in an hour, ok? I'll be here :-D chances are he will bounce.
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

Thank you so much, you have no idea how much I appreciate your help! You think you're ready to go then all reason flies out of your head, thank god you were here and are my sanity.

((hugs))
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55, +4=3

Hey thanks Rhiannon! I think you set up the alarm right?? Thanks for being there!

So in the morning, if he's under 100 I don't shoot, but what do I take him down to??
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

Jo, you've done a great job steering Scratchie's numbers!!! Keep up the good work!!

And congrats on your well-earned reduction!!!
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

I was just reading through your condo. First, just to remind you a couple things:

1. It's always good to go back and read through your condo when the excitement is over to be sure you didn't miss anything if there was cross posting

2. Be sure you decrease the dose; IF he shoots up into high yellow, pink by tomorrow mornings shot, then shoot through the bounce ONE time ( a.m. Cycle Tues) with 2.25u and then reduce to 2u tomorrow night. If he stays in blue, shoot 2u in the morning.

Congrats that DH will learn to test. Tonight is a good reason why he should ....Scratchie was at what could be a hypo number but was acting normal. So....now you know he can be at that really low number and not show any symptoms. So your husband just watching him to make sure he is ok doesn't mean that he's not in the 30s. While he doesn't show symptoms, we don't know what low blood glucose does to the brain when it is deprived of sugar because we don't have them hooked up to an EEG.

So it's important to catch those low numbers before he develops hypo symptoms and get them back up to safe numbers.
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55, +4=3

Thank you! I'll go through and write it all down. I really appreciate all the help, concern. The DH is sitting on his butt watching tv and looking at me like I'm crazy! Grrrrrr

Jo
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55, +4=3

You're welcome! Happy to be here to help :-D

I'd suggest you get a +11 in the morning. If he's below 100, don't feed him. Post ....I'll send Dyana a note to watch for you.

Doing ok?
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55, +4=3

Glad Scratchie's doing better. Sorry about the crazy look, I got those, too, but now DH is very happy that Max doesn't need so much attention! I got to say, I told you so, hee hee.
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55, +4=3

Thanks everyone. Doing ok. Going to catch a few for an hour

Problem on the +11 tomorrow Marje. I work. Maybe I can leave as DH will be at VA hospital. I'll check in tomorrow.

Thanks again to all of you!
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55, +4=3

Jo


Wish you could post...I'm worried!

Jane is going to help you the rest of the night...ill check in in the morning. Jane will also be here when you shoot, ok?

Ni Ni.
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55, +4=3

Hi there Jo :smile:

Marje is needing some sleepus, so I'll hang out and look for updates. Were you able to get a follow-up BG yet? Enquiring minds want to know :-D

Hugs!
Jane
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55

Marje and Gracie said:
Congrats that DH will learn to test. Tonight is a good reason why he should ....Scratchie was at what could be a hypo number but was acting normal. So....now you know he can be at that really low number and not show any symptoms. So your husband just watching him to make sure he is ok doesn't mean that he's not in the 30s. While he doesn't show symptoms, we don't know what low blood glucose does to the brain when it is deprived of sugar because we don't have them hooked up to an EEG. So it's important to catch those low numbers before he develops hypo symptoms and get them back up to safe numbers.

Marje did a fabulous recap, and I wanted to reinforce this point, to help keep your DH motivated to learn how to test: If you tell him exactly what Marje posted, he can see that he really will be keeping Scratchie safe in an incredibly crucial way!

Jo, I suspect you fell asleep? :smile: Happens to all of us. If you do get up again, be sure to test, and post if he's low, ok? I'll be here to help you out. If you could also post in the morning before you shoot (but when you have the AMPS, and possibly the +11 or even +11.5), I'll help you on dosing, too, ok?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/24 - Scratchie AMPS 209, PMPS 292, +2=126, +3=55, +4=3

Jo,
It must have been a rough night. You have today's date as
7/13/1902
on your ss.
I think you time traveled. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top