9/24 Rusty PMPS 209, +4 182 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

9/24 Rusty PMPS 209, +4 182

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=52783

Good Saturday Morning, Everyone,

Rusty is still high (for him), so I concluded that it's the cat (and/or the bean) and went back to the new pen of Levemir (I used the old cartridge last night just to see if the new one might be faulty; but the results are the same). I don't know what to make of this new phase we seem to be in. Aside from the numbers, Rusty is fine. He's been to the vet: results of the bloodwork and urinalysis were good. He's had the dental: results good. He had an x-ray of his abdominals: no stones, all looked good. His litterbox contributions are good. He plays and enjoys life. His appetite is good. I have given a few(!) fur shots, but he used to come down pretty quickly from fur shots. Maybe they are catching up with him? This morning's shot seemed to go in--no Lev. smell; no wetness. So we'll see what happens today. In the back of my mind is that he might be getting too large a dose; on the other hand, reason and protocol seem to indicate that he might need more juice. Maybe the insulin is not being absorbed well. Anyone have thoughts on any of this?

It stopped raining but is damp and quite warm. We should be able to have some good outdoor time today. Rusty had a good brushing and is ready for the day.

Happy Caturday to you all. Healing vines to all kitties who need them. Thoughts and prayers for Carol & Tom's daughter Laurie. Happy Homecoming for Punkin.

Ella & Rusty

Hi Kitties! That was some Equinox party at Lake Tear of the Clouds! The clouds came down to meet us as we were going up the mountain, so it was good that we made a chain of kitties so no one would get lost or get off the trail. The fire in an official fire pit was just right for grillin' the hotdogs. Then the party on the bus was the greatest: lots more food and special Equinoxtinis, and Tess' black and white cakes for dessert. Fabulous! Happy Autumn to you all
Rusty
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220

Ella, As I have not had the lev experience, I cant give an opinion, but we all know that this is an
unpredictible disease that is our truth! I have experienced times when Moonie was high in the yellows, added a fat, and down she went..Sometimes she just hung there...She is in a good number period now so I'm going with it--Maybe Rusty just needs to find the magic dose, so trial & error may need to prevail.
You have explored every health avenue & Thank God he is well...
Maybe Sienne can give you a more medical background for Rusty's dilemma--
220 sometimes is Moonie's starting number, and I dont worry about it at all--She usually goes down..

Sometimes a cat just loses their momentum during a time of good numbers, but not to worry, it does come back--take that from me, an oldtimer here--Even though Moonie's SS is WAYYYY lacking, you can see where she fell back into yellows for no apparent reason--in the past.
I just know this is a blip in the road--Hope he comes around soon--Hugs & Love my friends,
And RUSTY!!! GET ON THE GREEN WAGON!!
Have a good Caturday--& no getting downhearted! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220

Morning Ella, I know these numbers are not Rusty numbers or his norm, so hope you get some advice on what to change, maybe just his dose. Maybe it's just a couple fur shots, too. I know the 1/2" needle helps me with Mags. It's been an up and down tweaking of the dose with her, too, and I'm resistant to change. It's great you've gotten a senior medical exam and know he's in good health. Try not to worry, and have a nice day, easier said than done.

Hey Rusty, that was a great mystery tour, and I had tons of fun. Loved the cookout and cakes. Maggie
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220

I'm going to make what could be a totally off the mark suggestion. My vet mentioned that it's been a miserable allergy season. Given all of the water you had, I'm guessing this is true in your region, as well. She suggested I give Gabby 200 - 250 mg. of omega-2/fish oil daily. (It can take up to 2 weeks for this to have an effect.) Since allergy is an inflammatory process, if this is a factor that could be effecting Rusty, it may raise BG number.
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220

Hi again,
Thank you all for your thoughts. Sienne, I'm going to get the Omega-2 fish oil this morning and we'll try it.

Ella
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220

Morning! Sorry for the non-Rusty numbers. I wish I had something else to suggest. I think it would be worth a try to try what Sienne suggested - it certainly couldn't help. Perhaps allergies etc are bothering Rusty? You certainly have tried everything else.... I have been meaning to try this for Elsa too as she does have sensitivity issues... I just can't seem to find the right fish oil. ?? everything I find is omega 3, and 1000mg. good luck! I hope it helps Rusty!

have a great day today!

Rusty!! Wasn't that kitty chain awesome???? I LUBBED it! hey - how about a welcome home party for Punkin today - he's been through alot. maybe we could have a huge BBQ, and grillin' and stuff for him. What'd'ya think? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220

Hi Ella, it seems that Jesse is experiencing the same thing as Rusty. Jesse's numbers just keep going up, up, up.

The Omega-2 that was mentioned - where do I find it? (and that's different than Omega-3?)

I'd say hang in there but I know what a hard time I'm having and I imagine it's the same for you :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220

Pooey on Rusty's numbers, maybe he's just needing more juice? Good that you're going to try the Omega-2, anything is worth a shot i suppose.

Rusty.....i really think you should come back down to the green lagoon kay?

Have a great day Ella and Rusty.
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220

Bummer on the unRustylike numbers, Ella. Fingers and paws crossed that something does the trick!

Great partee last nite, Rusty! Grate job organizing! Partee today for Punkin' an' Anya!! --Willie
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220

hi ella. i'm not sure if you saw my response in your condo the other day, but i think there's a good chance rusty is bouncing from trips into the green. i gave what happened on 9/17 as an example. i believe he did the same on 9/22. it might be a good idea to switch up the times you're testing him a little. it may provide more information.

imho, it's not bad insulin.
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220

Sorry to see that Rusty is higher than he can do! Hopefully he will get back down in those blues and greens where he belongs. On a good note, it sounds like he is feeling great and all of the tests are great, so "it is only a number".

Hope you have a wonderful weekend Ella!
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220, +5.5 183, +9.5 210

Hi again, everyone,

First, let me say that the Omega is Omega 3 (not 2). I bought some today and am going to try it. Sienne suggests poking a hole in the gelcap and squirting about 200mg into his food (the gelcaps I bought are 950 mg, so that would be a little less than 1/4 of the gel.

Second, thanks to Jill for suggesting that it isn't faulty insulin and that Rusty may simply be bouncing. And I agree that Rusty has not been in good numbers lately, so when he gets one of his former green numbers, he bounces from it. (But I still don't know why he started to get away from those old, good numbers in the first place.)

Well, lots to think about, that's for sure. We'll see what happens in the evening cycle. I will try to get some different hours, as Jill suggests.

Be back later, Thanks to everyone for their support.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220, +5.5 183, +9.5 210

Hi Ella

Both Curry and Sid are on the fish oil. Had a nice discussion with my Vet yesterday about it. Sid has some skin allergies and Curry has the asthma. He sd it takes about a month to see results. In terms of dose he sd 200-250 is good. You really can't overdose on it, since after a certain amount it loses its benefits. I tried piercing the capsule with a sharp object but it got messy. Now I just cut off the top. Put 5 drops in the food and store it upright in the frig. Tuck it in some papertowel in small plastic container and also cover it.

Hope this helps Rusty with his numbers.

Hugs,
Tena and Curry
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220, +5.5 183, +9.5 210, PMPS 209

We use fish oil in Willie's food and I think it has helped him tremendously. Glad to see it was Omega 3, as some of the stuff I was reading about stuff that one stuff was calling Omega 2's was giving me cause for concern!

Willie has been running higher over the past month as well, and I've noticed a return to bounces off greens as well... maybe we can find a special LTS tutor for our boys??? :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220, +5.5 183, +9.5 210, PMPS 209

maybe I should use fish oil for Do Lou as well he has such a dry coat what kind are you buying Ella?? And hope it helps him and that his numbers get back to Rusty normal soon :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/24 Rusty AMPS 220, +5.5 183, +9.5 210, PMPS 209

Ho Ella, I hope the Omega-3 helps Rusty's allergies. Maggie has dandruff; I wonder if it would help her condition?
 
Hi again,
Thanks everyone for visiting and for giving support. I bought Solgar Omega 3, 950mg gelcaps. Our health-food store has all Solgar products on sale this month and I know that it is a good company. There are no additives. I gave Rusty his first dose in his Wellness Turkey at PMPS. I thought it smelled a bit fishy, but Rusty didn't seem to mind. He ate all of his food (he always eats everything). I spilled it on the counter and got it all over my hands while I was trying to puncture the gelcap!! My hands still smell (5 hours later) despite numerous washings!

Bedtime now, and we will say special prayers for Marje's and Mike's Teddi that she will begin her treatments well tomorrow and will have a good quality of life.

We are so glad that Punkin is home.
And we are continuing to send healing vines to all kitties who are not feeling well.

Ni ni, and thanks again,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top