9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 +5.5 88 +6.5 75

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday - Pinks and Reds. Getting tired of this
AMPS 381 +2 448 +6 436 PMPS 465 +2 396 +5 317 +11 434

Can't seem to get out of pinks and reds. How do I know if a vial went south? We've traveled with it chilled and padded. It doesn't look cloudy - hard to tell with the condensation. No floaters. When I fill the syringe, often there is a bubble that I have to work like mad to get out. Sometimes I have to use a new syringe. I flick the daylights out of it by the time it's gone. Often it takes me wasting a couple units of Lantus just to get rid of the bubble. Could all that flicking be damaging the insulin? I "guessed" the size of the bubble in Lantus volume this morning because I couldn't get it out after 2 syringes.

Patience pants are in tatters. Based on his SS - the early days, I think another increase is in order. But last time he didn't start showing action until at least 2.0. He's on 1.5 now and thinking of 1.75u tonight.

Leo is good, have to check the LB but activity has occurred. He loves the FortaFlora (My KD kitty is losing her appetite - would sprinkling FortaFlora on her meals be okay with kidney disease?)

Help. Can't deal with these numbers.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 Lantus bad? Dose increase?

Based on those numbers an increase to 1.75 is called for. It's not usually the lantus (I think yours is about 7 weeks old) but if you have a new lantus there you might want to try starting that to see if it makes a difference but don't do both (increase and change the lantus) at the same time.

It is interesting that Leo's numbers turned pink and red on the back of your road trip. Also, often people don't handle the first bottle of Lantus as well as they could so it doesn't last as long as it can (I was a guilty party on that front :oops: ). Lets see what others have to say.

I can't help you out at all on the kidney/forti flora question.

By the way your comments in Leo's spreadsheet are a great read, I feel like I'm there with you and I nearly fell of my chair laughing a couple of times (don't tell Leo!) :lol:
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 Lantus bad? Dose increase?

I'd try raising the dose. With nadirs over 300, you can even raise the dose to 2.0u.

I don't think FortiFlora should be a problem for your other cat. You can always call the vet and ask, though.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 Lantus bad? Dose increase?

Hi Lisa,
I'm sorry you're having a rough time. Here's a tip for getting bubbles out of the syringe.
1. Work the plunger in and out to loosen it up.
2. Then push it in all the way, forcefully, and hold the plunger in as you insert it into the vial. (this step is crucial).
3. Let up the pressure on the plunger. Draw the insulin slowly, and draw about a unit more than your dose.
4. Twist the plunger until you arrive at your dose. (twisting is more precise than pushing).

Step 2 is crucial because continuing to hold the plunger forcefully when it is pushed in all the way prevents (or minimizes) air from hiding in the syringe and causing bubbles.

Hope this helps. If your Lantus looks clear, is not leaking, and didn't freeze, it should be ok. So I would assume that stress is the cause of Leo's high numbers.
Good luck with the bubbles. What brand of syringe are you using? Some are worse than others.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 Lantus bad? Dose increase?

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Lisa,
I'm sorry you're having a rough time. Here's a tip for getting bubbles out of the syringe.
1. Work the plunger in and out to loosen it up.
2. Then push it in all the way, forcefully, and hold the plunger in as you insert it into the vial. (this step is crucial).
3. Let up the pressure on the plunger. Draw the insulin slowly, and draw about a unit more than your dose.
4. Twist the plunger until you arrive at your dose. (twisting is more precise than pushing).

What brand of syringe are you using? Some are worse than others.

Ella & Rusty

Hi Ella - I am doing all the steps you mentioned. I didn't figure out #2 until a few weeks ago, though, and that has helped. But it's that bubble that initially drags down the side wall into the syringe. Grrrrrr. For #4 , sometimes I push, but I'm holding the syringe with my other hand and pushing against my other fingers if that makes sense. It's pretty smooth, similar to a twist.

I am using CVS syringes. I've looked on the box and on the internet, and I can't find who the real manufacturer is. They are smooth and seem consistent. However, they are marked in 1 units, so it's tough to gauge. I count bubbles but I'm not terrific at it yet. :YMSIGH:

Thanks for the guidance and question.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 Lantus bad? Dose increase?

Hi Sienne - I'm worried about going too fast after our initial ramp up and mega-bounces. I'll go to 1.75u and maybe step smartly past that. My DIL is having a baby some time in the next week, and I'd rather not have to worry about Leo tanking while I'm running around with another 2 hour tip (back to the same place as Saturday with the poop-o-rama episode. Thanks for the feedback on the increase. I'm so tempted to go back and squeeze a little more in him right now!!!

[Edited to add] Screw it. I just shot an extra 0.25u in him. It was little more than about an hour of his original shot. I'll adjust his shot time tonight a bit to compensate. I know this is probably a no-no, but it's pretty darned close in time and I will be home all night.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 Lantus bad? Dose increase?

HI Serryn

Vyktors Mum said:
Based on those numbers an increase to 1.75 is called for. It's not usually the lantus (I think yours is about 7 weeks old) but if you have a new lantus there you might want to try starting that to see if it makes a difference but don't do both (increase and change the lantus) at the same time.

It is interesting that Leo's numbers turned pink and red on the back of your road trip. Also, often people don't handle the first bottle of Lantus as well as they could so it doesn't last as long as it can (I was a guilty party on that front :oops: ). Lets see what others have to say.

I don't have new Lantus yet. I want to get a second bottle, or shell out for the pens, but wanted to delay the cost outlay. I may be changing my mind shortly on that one.

Vyktors Mum said:
By the way your comments in Leo's spreadsheet are a great read, I feel like I'm there with you and I nearly fell of my chair laughing a couple of times (don't tell Leo!) :lol:

LOL! Glad you're amused - I have to be amused too, otherwise it get's overwhelming sometimes. :-D
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 Lantus bad? Dose increase?

Hi Lisa!

Sorry about your recent travel troubles! Poor Leo. What a brave boy he is though, and what a brave bean you are. Hugs to you both!

I'm with Sienne on the dose increase, I have to say. The nadirs have been above 300 for ten cycles. I completely understand your wariness of taking a bigger increase. Still - do consider the fact that he's been in reds and pinks exclusively for 5 days now. That's 5 days of his organs getting pummelled by the sugar :? It is absolutely your call, of course. I just wanted to put in my vote. The TR protocol exists as the only one of its kind for a reason.

This must be so rough on you. Hang in there!! We're rooting for you and Leo!
(Need another cheer-you-up rhyme? :smile:)

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 Lantus bad? Dose increase?

Lisa:

Please watch Leo carefully this cycle and next. Shooting the additional insulin at a second time makes it easier to give more insulin than you thought. Being a smidgen over on both shots could mean a fat dose. I'm not even sure what to tell you about your PM shot time. Maybe adjust by 30 min. so it's between the 2 times?
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 Lantus bad? Dose increase?

Hi Sienne. I agree the total dose could be sloppy, but it wouldn't be 2.0 unless there is a ton of space in the tip of the syringe. I'm squeezing the daylights out of the plunger before I start. I am leaning to 30 minutes delay too. I will be home today until about +5.5 and here all night.

HI Jane - no poems yet, I'll save my rhyme-needs for funkiness! :-D Stopping by to give your feedback is a nice boost - thanks.

Lisa and (snoring under the coffee table) Leo
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +3 350 Dose increased

Hi guys .. I know it's hard to see leo up in these high numbers .. I hope that the extra bit of juice you plan on giving him brings him back down .. Not sure if it is your insulin or not .. but we could never get more then about 30 days out of a pen for mocha .. not that the new pen ever gave us sweet looking numbers anyways .. :YMSIGH: have a great day!
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +3 350 +5 284 a yellow! Dose increased

Well, I'm all over myself, a YELLOW! When's the last time I've seen one of those?!? Boy, gee, can I go to work now? Yeah, I figure I can, but I'd sure love to see how low he dips on this one. Maybe I'll hang out for another 45 minutes at the latest and retest.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +3 350 +5 284 +6 269 yellows!

Devon ... it worked!

Two yellows! A bright sunny color we haven't seen in a while!!! The vial must still have some oomph in it but I'll still be getting some fresh juice for the weekend.

I wonder if he'll bounce. 100 points in 3 hours, 200 points in 6 hours. Hopefully he's so high his liver is too stoned to see what's happening.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275

Sienne - Serryn -

I asked the vet about FortaFlora for Molly my KD kitty, and she said it was fine to help with her appetite and with her other issues. Molly is on meds for high BP and also has herpes (ocular and some respiratory) and she said it would help with the herpes too. So, double bonus. DH wondered why it hadn't been suggested by the vet before now.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275

Good luck with the dosecrease. It's nice to see yellow for Leo. I hope the FortaFlora helps Molly's appetite.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275

Okay, so I'm an idiot. I planned to delay this evening's shot by 30 minutes to compensate for my "two-part" shot this morning. Only I shot 15 minutes early. All planning completely out the window, I thought, "if I shoot 15 min early, I'll have more buffer in the morning if he swings low."

Hmmm. Well, at least I was THINKING about the increased dose. Poor execution. Testing +1 shortly.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 Lantus bad? Dose increase?

Lisa & Leo said:
I am using CVS syringes. I've looked on the box and on the internet, and I can't find who the real manufacturer is. They are smooth and seem consistent. However, they are marked in 1 units, so it's tough to gauge. I count bubbles but I'm not terrific at it yet. :YMSIGH:

Thanks for the guidance and question.

Nice on the yellows today!

Are you up for mail ordering syringes? I get our Monojects from American Diabetes wholesale...very inexpensive, they ship quickly, and they have the half-unit markings. Like any other syringe, they're not perfect, but we've gotten used to them.

Good luck with the new dose!!
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275

Hi Amy

Thanks for the reference - I'm planning to get a few different ones to try and compare, and then make a switch. I tried the Walmart 1/2 unit ones and I thought they were terrible. But it seems like as long as you find one you can live with, consistency counts. When you say they're not perfect, what don't you like about the Monojects (and what DO you like about them)?

Yes, Yellows! Finally! Thanks for stopping by!
Lisa & Leo
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275

Some fellow LLers have found that sometimes the markings on the MJs are inconsistent. Marje is actually the one to ask about that...if I remember correctly, she's the one who has had all sorts of convos with the company, who says the syringes are "within tolerance".

I have noticed slight variations myself, but nothing super severe.

I think the thing I like most about them is just that I'm used to them. We used BD syringes when we first started out, but switched to the Monjects because of the half-unit markings. Old habits die hard and all that.

When we first started, we had a hard time with bubbles, too. I think that's one of those things where "practice makes perfect". I still fight bubbles sometimes, but not like I did in the beginning.

How's that for scientific reasoning :lol: ???
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 steer?

Any - what works is what works - of course that makes sense! I hope to get better with the bubbles. Usually it's not too bad, but like I said, sometimes I have to trash a syringe and start again. Thanks!
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 steer?

BLUE!!! BLUE!!! I don't even remember what a blue LOOKS LIKE!

+3 is 128 ... higher dose, given early.

Do I attempt to steer this? He's eaten his first two (of 3) meals at +1 (1/2 can 3%) and +2 (1/2 can 7%). He would normally get another 1/2 can 3% at +3 (right now). Should I up the carb % a bit and slow down this train?
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 steer?

I'd go with the LC. What I would suggest, though, is give Leo half of his usual amount and the other half at +4.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 steer?

I gave about 1/3 of MC. Wasn't sure if I need to leave room in his belly.

Question Sienne - if his nadir is normally around 5-5.5, wouldn't I want to give more now than wait any longer? By splitting his meal and giving him less than he would normally get right now, that is reducing the carbs he'll have available at nadir. Food peaks around 2 hours after injection - that about right? Just trying to understand, not challenging your suggestion.

Thanks.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 steer?

You don't want to give him food at nadir....you'll slow him down. I'd do as Sienne suggested and give it at +4. Also...you don't want to fill him up now; you may need
some of that food for later, KWIM?
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 steer?

By spreading the food out, it gives the BG a gentle bump up vs a food spike. It will encourage a surf. How long a food spike lasts depends on your cat and how carb sensitive your cat is.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 steer?

Marje and Gracie said:
You don't want to give him food at nadir....you'll slow him down. I'd do as Sienne suggested and give it at +4. Also...you don't want to fill him up now; you may need
some of that food for later, KWIM?

Hi Marje - I think I wasn't clear. He gets fed at +0. +1 and +3. It's +3 now. I just gave a bit of his +3 meal rather than the whole thing, and I made it a tad higher carb. I'll give the rest of the meal (low carb) at +4 like Sienne suggested. Thanks!
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 steer?

Perfect.

I'll be up to stay with you, Alexa, and Jo so just keep doing the lather, rinse, repeat and posting your numbers! :-D
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 steer?

Thanks Marje. I just made the rounds and realized the three of us have have the numbers falling and the coffee brewing. At least Leo's not scraping the lagoon yet.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 steer?

No worries....I had four people in 40s/50s one night :lol: :lol: :lol: Oh yeah...AND Gracie.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +5 284 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 steer?

Yes, I recall Leo and I had one crazy night and when we dragged our butts out of the lagoon and checked on everyone else, I realized that you were dealing with Gracie at the same time. Good to be an old hand at this, trying to balance all this at once!
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 +4 103

+4 103, fed 1/4 can 3% (the last half of his last dinner)

Ooooooo, don't want greens! He's gonna bounce. Sigh.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 +4 103

He's slowed down a bit. You have two choices....test him in 30 to see how fast he's continuing to drop or wait an hour and realize he's probably going to be in the 70s/80s.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 +4 103

Well. I'm too much an engineer (and also too punchy tired and awake) to sit around and NOT take a +4.5 ... 97. Sheesh.

Can't wait until tomorrow .... Boing Boing Boing!
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 +4 103

I am going to give you your very own membership to......TESTAHOLICS ANONYMOUS!

Nice slow descent...come on Leo...surf! Now will you wait an hour or you feel the need to test in 30? :lol:
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 +4 103

LOL! My membership came in the mail last week. But hey - it's not ME, it's this darned tabby who wants TREATS every 30 minutes. See? :-D

Yes, I was pleased to see it slow down. I think I can managed to wait a full hour before the next test. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 +4 103

Did you also receive your Glucometer Addicts anonymous membership? Of course, you must have at least three glucometers to attend GAA meetings. ;-)

Ok...so I'll be here for your next test! Time to put on my party pjs!
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 +5.5 88

No, still working through the ranks to get my GAA - only have two monitors now :-D

PMPS 275
+3 128
+4 103
+4.5 97
+5.5 88

Nice slow drop. Hmmm - should I get up in an hour just to see where this cycle takes us? I wonder if the food's about to run out.
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 +5.5 88

Yes...you need to see two, rising, nonfood influenced numbers before you stop testing for the night
 
Re: 9/24 Leo AMPS 455 +6 269 PMPS 275 +3 128 +5.5 88

Right ... I forgot. I don't think I've ever experienced greens that didn't involve panic, Karo and a dose reduction :smile:
 
Little Fart continues to slowly drop, promising mommy no sleep tonight. Although this is a very nice surf - his best EVER! flip_cat

PMPS 275
+3 128
+4 103
+4.5 97
+5.5 88
+6.5 75

Setting the alarm for another hour. Marje - you don't need to stick around - thanks for checking in with me. The rest of this cycle will likely be boring, although I will continue to get up every hour. The fun will begin tomorrow, perhaps, depending on when Mr. le Bounce de Bounce begins his trampoline act. I may be shooting green. I DO NOT want a dose reduction ... we are finally at a dose that has actually taken him out of reds/pinks!!!!!
 
Hi Jane!

Leo my boy....surfing surfing surfing ... and NOT giving mamabean two non-food induced increasing values. Ugh. Setting the alarm again for another hour!

Thanks for checking in - Marje was a doll to hang out with me.

Lisa

[Edited to add the testing results! +7.5 71]
 
Wow, look at him go! :smile: Hang in there, Lisa! Looks like he's been coming steadily down out of those days of reds/pinks, that's great! But it does rob you of sleep :lol: With the unconventional shots this morning, and the shooting that tiny bit early (on the upped dose) tonight, this isn't too surprising.

I'll look out for your next BG!
Hugs,
Jane
 
PMPS 275
+3 128
+4 103
+4.5 97
+5.5 88
+6.5 75
+7.5 71
+8.5 66

Oh, this is crazy Leo, mama bean has to work tomorrow!

"Unconventional" - haha! That's a polite way of putting it! Yeah, I figured we'd see decreasing values, but I *never* thought it would drive us solidly into greens. But, a cat's a cat! I do NOT want to shoot a mid-high green. Do NOT want to shoot a mid-high green....

(back to bed for another hour...)
 
PMPS 275
+3 128
+4 103
+4.5 97
+5.5 88
+6.5 75
+7.5 71
+8.5 66
+9.5 86 Yay! an actual increasing number!!!

All this sleeping 45 minutes at a time has brought some strange dreams of broken glucose meters and holes in my socks. Go figure. Off for another hour, or at this late time in the cycle, can I skip the two "increasing values rule"?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top