9/24 Klinger AMPS 484; PMPS 382

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Mornin'

Klinger vomited after eating all of his breakfast yesterday, I didn't see any hairballs, just all the food he ate. I think that maybe he's getting hungrier now that his numbers are coming down?
Last night he ate his entire can at dinner. I had to go to a banquet and got home around midnight and I started to worry that the same thing would happen this morning (eat all food, vomit, etc) so I gave him another can of food because I'm out of his low carb snacks. Needless to say higher AMPS 484 this morning.
 
Re: 9/24 Klinger AMPS 484

I'm curious did he eat more when you put it down last night? and then how did he eat this morning?

Usually people see when they are less regulated, they eat more, in an attempt to get the glucose their cells require 24/7. So this is a clue that possibly he isn't going as low at nadir as we hoped. But, if you go by the guidelines on the can, a 20 lb cat should eat about 20 ounces /day, and Klinger only eats like 7 ounces if I understood correctly. Even my skinny 11 lb civie eats about 11ounces. So maybe eating more is a sign he was not feeling good, and is feeling better. It's hard for me to tell- what would you think? any insight on this?

I hope you are loaded up on strips and can get some info today :-D He almost certainly needs more but it would be helpful to see what 3.4u does. Don't worry about the high this morning hurting the curve, we can still see how much he drops. then tonight I would increase if he were mine.
 
Re: 9/24 Klinger AMPS 484

+3 390
+5 319

He ate a little bit (few token licks) when I put it down last night. There was about 1/4 gone when I woke up this morning. He could have eaten that within the two hours before I woke up and did his AMPS. He ate 1/2 of his breakfast and then finished it after I took his +3 reading.
I do have lots of test strips ;-) I'm just tired from being up and out so late. Need more sleep and/lots of ~O)
 
Re: 9/24 Klinger AMPS 484

I'm kind of assuming that the "food spike" was included in the amps, so he probably didn't go a lot higher. especially since he was already down 100 at +3, and another 60 at +5. Its interesting that the +5 was still down 60 and he finished breffis at +3, that's good.

confused_cat I'm kinda interested to see +6 to see if its lower or higher, or holding. Once its clearly rising , you can stop testing if you want until +11 and +12
 
Re: 9/24 Klinger AMPS 484

please keep testing - this is very interesting. Last few days obviously weren't as bad as they looked from ps only! :-D
 
Re: 9/24 Klinger AMPS 484

+8 231
It is interesting. Seems like he needed a little more time to adjust to the 3.4, maybe? He's getting very put out with me though. cat(2)_steam (not the tester again! - from Klinger)
 
Re: 9/24 Klinger AMPS 484

I hope you are praising how wonderful he is, and giving him loves and mini treats.
that icon is funny-- :lol: white kitty just like Klinger!
can you grab a +11 please, pretty please Klinger-baby boy? cat_pet_icon I want to see how fast it zooms back up and how suddenly. and please test at exactly +12, before food. No food from +10 on.
 
Re: 9/24 Klinger AMPS 484

PMPS 382

Wasn't able to get the +10 - +11. DH had a severe asthma attack at work and I had to bring him his rescue inhailer - that didn't work, so needed to take him to the ER. He's better now.

The kitty does look like Klinger - Klinger's picture was taken at the Vet, so he was steaming then too. LOL.
So, what do I shoot. 3.4 or try 3.5?
 
ok he had a 270 pt drop to nadir
hes at 382 before food, so a fast rise, insulin didnt last
IMO he needs a small bump. can you try for the space BETWEEN the 8.5 and the 9u marks?
IF that is too hard , I would go for 3.6u, then feed well.
 
I'll try for the 3.5.
Thanks, Nancy!
DH is feeling better now. He hasn't had a flare up like that in about a year. The weather has been so dry out here, it was bound to happen.
Going to shoot now...
 
also nadir was broad (+6-8) but peak action today was at +7. so anytime you or hubby can get anything near that it would be great!

the nadir used to drive me crazy with Cody because it moved around a lot +4 and +8 alternating nights!

I am going to be away tomorrow night, but I think you are understanding my thinking so far and will make good decisions. I will pm my phone number if you get desperate, call.
-first priority is keep him safe but he hasn't gotten close to a problem there,
-Pzi is flexible enough to reduce a single dose in order to get back on schedule etc.
-the hardest part is to realize bg is going to keep rising at PS, especially if he eats well at PS. If you are ever worried, a +3 will tell you where he's going.
-Keep an eye out for WCR, appetite, and vomiting- that is important.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top