9/24 Jack the Stubborn Cat-310@AMPS, 321@+6hrs Day 1 increase to 7u

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
I'm just so tired and frustrated by this beast it isn't funny. Increased to 7units this morning because this fool cat won't eat properly. Kibble only for dinner last night, 50/50 mix of kibble and watery pate for breakfast. Numbers in the 300's. Thanks to @Angela & Cleo and @Wendy&Neko for additional food suggestions I'm looking into. Hopefully one of those fits our budget and Jack's ridiculously picky taste buds.

Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ncreasing-to-7u-tomorrow.268759/#post-3002359
 
Here is the link to Ziwipeak website. https://www.ziwipets.com/cat-food You can download the "full typical analysis" for each flavor. I also found this
https://allaboutcats.com/wp-content...ealand-Venison-Recipe-Analytical-Report-1.png. An independent lab ran an analysis of the Venison recipe in January 2022 which is very similar to the information in Dr. Lisa's chart from 2017.
Its EXPENSIVE. I buy cases of 24 - 3oz cans from Chewy in the flavors that Cleo will eat. They also sell the 5 oz cans. If you schedule auto delivery, you get a discount on the price. Chewy was real good about taking back the Chicken and Mackarel flavors after Cleo went on a chicken strike :banghead:, only cat food chicken, homemade chicken off my plate she'll eat.

Weruva has an extensive variety of wet and some of the "non-pates" are also low in carbs. Here is the website https://weruva.com/cat-landing/ and you can get a printout of the nutritional information for all the sub-brands and flavors.
I also get Weruva cases from Chewy with a discount because I scheduled it for auto-delivery.

I also go to a local Mom & Pop pet store near me that usually has some of the flavors available when push comes to shove.

If there's a PETCO near you, you might look into Soulistic. Here is the link for the nutritional info https://www.soulisticpet.com/nutrition-info-all. If you're a Petco rewards member, you can apply your rewards points towards purchases. Its gotten me out of a paycheck-paycheck jam a few times. Also, auto delivery from their website will you give a discount on the overall price.

ETA - good luck with the increase :bighug:
Let me know if there is anything I Can do!
 
Christine -

I haven't stopped by so forgive me if I'm asking questions you already have answered. It sounds like Jack will eat kibble which, of course, is causing him to have higher than desirable numbers. Have you looked at any of the raw food options that are either air or freeze dried. It sounds like you're looking at ZiwiPeak. They have an air dried raw variety of food. Stella & Chewy's has a similar line of food.
 
I'm just so tired and frustrated by this beast it isn't funny. Increased to 7units this morning because this fool cat won't eat properly. Kibble only for dinner last night, 50/50 mix of kibble and watery pate for breakfast. Numbers in the 300's. Thanks to @Angela & Cleo and @Wendy&Neko for additional food suggestions I'm looking into. Hopefully one of those fits our budget and Jack's ridiculously picky taste buds.

Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ncreasing-to-7u-tomorrow.268759/#post-3002359

so sorry you are struggling!

Im not sure if u have tried, but when Ares got sick of the pate and he refused to eat them. I went to Fancy Feast FLAKED chicken and tuna and the CHUNKY chicken. He settled on these two and has been eating them very well...bonus, there is enough fiber in them i guess to keep him regular without having to supplement for pooping!
Mabye Jack will like them. :woot:

(I know they are not top line, but its all i can afford on a daily for him. )
 
Here is the link to Ziwipeak website. https://www.ziwipets.com/cat-food You can download the "full typical analysis" for each flavor. I also found this
https://allaboutcats.com/wp-content...ealand-Venison-Recipe-Analytical-Report-1.png. An independent lab ran an analysis of the Venison recipe in January 2022 which is very similar to the information in Dr. Lisa's chart from 2017.
Its EXPENSIVE. I buy cases of 24 - 3oz cans from Chewy in the flavors that Cleo will eat. They also sell the 5 oz cans. If you schedule auto delivery, you get a discount on the price. Chewy was real good about taking back the Chicken and Mackarel flavors after Cleo went on a chicken strike :banghead:, only cat food chicken, homemade chicken off my plate she'll eat.

Weruva has an extensive variety of wet and some of the "non-pates" are also low in carbs. Here is the website https://weruva.com/cat-landing/ and you can get a printout of the nutritional information for all the sub-brands and flavors.
I also get Weruva cases from Chewy with a discount because I scheduled it for auto-delivery.

I also go to a local Mom & Pop pet store near me that usually has some of the flavors available when push comes to shove.

If there's a PETCO near you, you might look into Soulistic. Here is the link for the nutritional info https://www.soulisticpet.com/nutrition-info-all. If you're a Petco rewards member, you can apply your rewards points towards purchases. Its gotten me out of a paycheck-paycheck jam a few times. Also, auto delivery from their website will you give a discount on the overall price.

ETA - good luck with the increase :bighug:
Let me know if there is anything I Can do!
THANK YOU for all of this info!! :bighug:
 
Christine -

I haven't stopped by so forgive me if I'm asking questions you already have answered. It sounds like Jack will eat kibble which, of course, is causing him to have higher than desirable numbers. Have you looked at any of the raw food options that are either air or freeze dried. It sounds like you're looking at ZiwiPeak. They have an air dried raw variety of food. Stella & Chewy's has a similar line of food.
I am looking into dried raw, I'll add Stella and Chewy's to the list. Thanks for the info!!
 
so sorry you are struggling!

Im not sure if u have tried, but when Ares got sick of the pate and he refused to eat them. I went to Fancy Feast FLAKED chicken and tuna and the CHUNKY chicken. He settled on these two and has been eating them very well...bonus, there is enough fiber in them i guess to keep him regular without having to supplement for pooping!
Mabye Jack will like them. :woot:

(I know they are not top line, but its all i can afford on a daily for him. )
He is currently offered Friskies and sometimes FF. I have tried to get him to eat the flaked, chunky, and when they had it, the roasted options of FF. He has previously refused all wet food, was finally making good progress with the Friskies pate, but he put his tail up about it for some reason lately. I'm not worried about top of the line, I'm worried about cost, what he will eat, and the motivating factor of being jealous of his brothers and sisters food, which means feeding everyone the same thing ...$$$ becomes an issue. I'm still looking at options for the freeze dried, maybe we'll order some more FF and try that again. I was hoping that he would love the freeze/air dried so much he would eat by himself in a room, which has been a disaster previously. Thanks for the input- much appreciated!
 
Back
Top