9/24 Catcat AMPS 302,+3=223,+6=227, PMPS 121,+2.5=90

I've been suspecting for some time the Lantus is reaching the end of its life -- I'm down to about 1/8 of the vial, and it may not be as clear as it was

Mialia started using it in February, I think, her dear Carbon crossed the rainbow bridge in late April; I finally hooked up with her in early July and have been using it ever since, so that's 7 months from first puncture, though actually IN USE for something like 5 months, refrigerated all the time

I've been assured and re-assured, that it should be good for going on a full year, should be able to use it to the last drop -- when I got it, it was about half gone, now down quite a bit more (partly because I've been drawing more than the dose I actually give, I've had to expel persistent bubbles)

I also got a pen from her, not sure if it has ever been used -- I THOUGHT I had gotten another unused pen from heirs selling off their father's leftover insulin, but when I went to check expiration dates, I found they'd given me NOVOLOG not Lantus, even though they had advertised it as such

not sure if it is worthwhile keeping it, or finding someone who needs it and can recompense me

just got another pen of Lantus from a user switching to an insulin pump, supposedly always refrigerated, never used
 
+3=223 .. yellow
still no blue .. first nadir of the day due within 3 hours, second one sometimes shows up between +9 and PMPS
 
Oh my, what are you going to do today kitty Catcat? Are you rebelling against your increase?!
Candy, your boy has a mind of his own! He doesn't want to be too predictable does he?

If your insulin doesn't look 100 percent clear, you might want to change. Have a great day ok?!
 
Hmmm, It definitely could be the Lantus getting old, I found Mowgli's pooped out after about 4 months. That being said, I had travelled with that pen. EPID? every pen is different? :P jkjk.

Come back down Catcat!!
 
occasionally it seems like his pancreas puts out a spurt -- every so often I'll get a much lower value than I think could be tied to a shot --

but who knows, Catcat DOES have a mind of his own -- after all he's a cat -- :cat::cat:
 
flat yellow again -- +6 = 227 ( not far off +3 = 223 )

of course those two could be bracketing a lower value -- but I sorta doubt it
 
Flat yellows could mean a sign of an active cycle...although no guarantees with that. If you're following TR you could increase soon and see if a little more will help him hit some better numbers.

My vial of Lantus lasted nearly a year...unless you can clearly see 'floaters' in the insulin, I'd tend to think it's the cat and not the juice.
 
we'll see -- TR seems to run on a 3 day cycle but I see a pattern with Catcat over a 4 day period, so -- waiting to see what the next day brings

hoping all the same, that it's a DAYTIME active cycle not one in the dark of night
 
+2.5 = 90

and you all were right -- it was NDW plus bounces, and the bounce just broke ...
he had his evening snack and is working on the stewed chicken thigh .. it dried out a bit after being frozen so he has to WORK to eat it

I may try to get up at o dark thirty to give him another snack, but he usually doesn't drop all that much more, he should have enough to tide him over the usual nadir time

Morning glory and midnight sun
Time, we've learned to sail above
Time, won't change the meaning of one love
Ageless and ever, evergreen
 
Back
Top