9/24 - AMBG - Coco - 105 AMBG - Dosing question

Michele and Coco Chanel

Member Since 2021
I have not given insulin since 9/21 AM. Due to health issues within my family along with work, I've just not been able to test consistently.

Coco had 7 teeth removed 8/31. I was really hoping getting those bad teeth out would help, and it looks like it has.

The Lantus sticky says not to shoot under 150, but it looks like most people are. I don't have a long history with Coco.

These are the numbers:

9/21 - PMBG - 88; 9/22 & 9/23 - her AM & PMBG numbers were 88, 87, 100, 98. I did not give her insulin because, for me, these are low numbers, and I haven't been certain with my situation how closely I'd be able to monitor her.

This morning her BG was 105. So it looks like it's inching up, but since I have not given her insulin for 6 cycles, at what number should I start giving insulin again, and at what dose? Should I start at .5, rather than her previous dose of 1.25?

She still has two more teeth that have to be removed, but the vet said it wasn't critical at the moment and he didn't want to do too much at once.

Thanks for your help and understanding
 
Hi Michele

Going by the numbers on your SS, Coco seems to be doing okay despite no insulin since the AM of 9/21. It's possible that the dental has helped. We can't say for sure that the Lantus depot is fully depleted.

For the next few days, would you be able to get a test or two in the day & night in addition to the AMPS and PMPS? It would be useful to see how she is doing without insulin.

Once we have more data we could see if she still needs a little insulin or not.


@tiffmaxee
 
Hi Michele

Going by the numbers on your SS, Coco seems to be doing okay despite no insulin since the AM of 9/21. It's possible that the dental has helped. We can't say for sure that the Lantus depot is fully depleted.

For the next few days, would you be able to get a test or two in the day & night in addition to the AMPS and PMPS? It would be useful to see how she is doing without insulin.

Once we have more data we could see if she still needs a little insulin or not.


@tiffmaxee

Yes, I will definitely try. Thank you!
 
In case anybody reads this, she's at 135 for what would have been her P.M. shot. I'm too worried to give her a shot tonight since it's been 6 cycles since she's had insulin. I imagine she will be creeping up again.

So my question is, assuming a.m. dose is above 100, which it looks like it will be, what should my a.m. dose be since we've skipped doses? (I will get another reading in a few hours) Should I just start at 1 unit, .5? I'll be leaving my house 2 hours after what would be her a.m. shot. I'll post what numbers I can get tomorrow as well.

In the future, is there a general recommendation with Lantus for pre-shot numbers where you skip the shot? The sticky says no shot if pre-shot is below 150, but it looks like a lot of people shoot anyway.
 
She's at 112. So I gave her .25. It didn't really feel like the syringe moved, though, when I shot her. I will be able to test at +2.5. I think I can get back here around +5 for another test. Is there another best time before the PMPS you recommend? I should have more flexibility tomorrow for testing. I know, given the information I'm providing, it's not very helpful. I'm sorry about that.

Thank you.

(Am I supposed to start a new post since it's a different day?)
 
Back
Top