9/24-9/25 PMPS 361 +6 309 +9 267 AMPS 287?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Hi all,

This is Lovey's 6th shot of Lantus. Although, number 4 possibly might have been a fur shot. She has been getting 1 unit of lantus. I was thinking of going up to 1.5 as my next if I still get readings like this. Maybe, 1.5 would of been a better starting point? I just got the 267 better than 309 or is it meter variance?

Jill, do you think moving to 1.5 next is too aggressive for me in that I don't do extensive testing yet. I could take off a day from work and do the preshot, +3, +6, +9. and preshot during Am cycle and a midcycle in the evening. Is that enough? but then I be at work on cycle 3 and couldn't test until +10 and the evening and cycle 5 I would be at work as well? Am I better off with 1.25 for 6 cycles? I am just wondering if I will end up with readings in the 300's because it is not enough insulin.
 
Re: 9/24 Lovey's PMPs 361 + 6 309

Hello Catherine, and welcome to Lantus Land. For other readers, here is her previous post on Heath. We link back to the previous posting, so people can follow what was discussed previously.

You did get a response from Jill, one of our most experienced members:
catherine, if you can get a few mid-cycle spot checks today and tonight and you find lovey's numbers remaining high and flat, i wouldn't hesitate to increase the dose after 6 cycles on lantus. increasing by 0.25u is a cautious approach. increasing by 0.5u if nadirs are greater than 300 is a little more aggressive approach... one that requires frequent monitoring.
If you cannot get a mid-cycle test for each cycle, is it possible to get a test at +2 or +10 or when you leave the house or get back at the end of the day? Even a second test towards the beginning or end of the cycle will give us more information on what is happening with Lovey's cycles. And to answer your other question, nadirs can move and not every cat has a nadir of +6. We encourage some random tests or spot checks to help fill in what is happening on the spreadsheet.
 
Re: 9/24 Lovey's PMPs 361 + 6 309 ? Can I move to 1.5?

I could get a 9.5 or +10 when I get home from work. Thanks for the input. Tomorrow night I will raise dose when I am home.
 
Re: 9/23-9/25 PMPS 361 +6 309 +9 267 AMPS 287

I only have a couple minutes and then have to log off. Did you see the previous post above? I would only increase in 0.25 increments.

Can you please unclick the rainbow icon from your first post? That makes my heart stop. We use the candles and the rainbow when a cat has passed.
 
Re: 9/23-9/25 PMPS 361 +6 309 +9 267 AMPS 287

Good luck with the new dose.

J.D. seems to be feeling okay, thanks for asking. Knock On Wood.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top