9/23 Zeus AMPS 138, +2 349, +4 392 +6 372

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79580

Zeus was cute this morning, he woke me up a little early with his paw lightly touching my arm... Hey Mom, are you awake yet? I hope this nice number continues and that Zeus doesn't bounce tonight. He was at 437 last night :roll:

Hope you all have a great day,
Kathie
 
Re: 9/23 Zeus AMPS 138

Is this possible? I just checked Zeus again, 349 at +2? More than 200 point spike after breakfast? Holy cow!
 
Re: 9/23 Zeus AMPS 138, +2 349 is that right?

It's possible since you have no idea what was going on last night. If Zeus' numbers dropped overnight, he could be coming up into a bounce this morning. Please get a before bed test every night so you have some idea of what's going on during the PM cycle.
 
Re: 9/23 Zeus AMPS 138, +2 349 is that right?

And still climbing... 392 at +4. I thought about a test last night, but since he was so high I didn't think it would matter. Ugh. I am kind of wondering if I should set an alarm to get a PM mid cycle in addition to just a before bed test, just don't know when the nadir is.

Think he is still bouncing? Or just another bounce? Should I think about upping the dose?

He is such a good boy, he came running when he heard me getting the lancet out of the box. :smile:
 
Re: 9/23 Zeus AMPS 138, +2 349, +4 392

Zeus IS a good boy!!

I would get the before bed test and let that dictate if you need to get another test.

The AMPS blue came from somewhere. Zeus dropped from the reds into the blues overnight and that's a pretty good sized drop. I suspect you're seeing a bounce off of those numbers.
 
Re: 9/23 Zeus AMPS 138, +2 349, +4 392

I have what may be a dumb question, so please forgive me. How will I know whether that before bed test should dictate another test later on? I am really bad at being able to predict what the current number is going to be, say nothing about where it is going to go later. So, if the before bed number is low, then I can see getting another test, but if it is high, it will probably go lower at some point since we have seen some lower AMPS. Is that when I should plan for another test?

Thanks for all of your help, I really do appreciate it.

Kathie
 
Hi Kathie

You need not apologize for questions! It's great that you're checking to make sure you understand things - keep it up :smile:

A useful PM spot check is the (+2). In a "typical" Lantus cycle, the (+2) would be very similar to the pre-shot BG. But if, for example, the (+2) is significantly lower than the PS, you can expect an active cycle. Tha number would then have told you that you would probably get another PM test, depending on how marked the drop from PS to (+2) was. Does that make sense? Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus, it's useful to know where a BG number (and a cycle as a whole) is coming from, rather than letting it stand alone and basing decision on it. That way, you can assess whether what you're seeing is a "regular" Lantus cycle, or a bounc beginning, or a bounce clearing and a drop starting, or the ever-offputting occasional unexplained BG- wonkiness, or a food spike, and so on and so on.

In time, you really will develop a sense of when to test next, what drops to feed, how to control the cycle when needed, and so on. For now, collect data in useful ways, and the more you're able to do that, the sooner you'll be "data-ready" to assess your kitty's progress and make informed decisions, and you'll feel more confident!

We were all newbies once :mrgreen:

Hugs
Jane
 
This is from the New to the Group sticky:
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
The "typical" curve will give you a sense of how to compare Zeus' numbers. However, the "every cat is different" (ECID) rule applies. Not all cats have their nadir at +6 -- some are generally early or late. For example, Gabby's nadir is usually at +4 but it moves around.

I am a big fan of the +2 test. If you seen a good sized drop by +2 compared to your pre-shot test, then I would suspect it will be an active cycle. Again, it's not a guarantee but it is an early warning signal to get some additional tests.

Given that you're seeing AMPS low numbers that indicate a drop overnight, I would encourage you to be religious about getting PM tests.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top