9/23 Shadow PMPS 92 +2~70 +4~71

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhiannon and shadow (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://tinyurl.com/yesterdays-condo

yesterday
AMPS 84
+2.25 68
+3.25 64
+3.5 70
+9.5 84
PMPS 86
+2.25 39 fed 2 spoonfuls 7% friskies poultry platter and have 5 strips
+3 78 gave 2 spoonfuls 7% friskies poultry platter
+5 84 gave 8% friskies mixed grill and 7% poultry platter, she chose poultry platter i think?
+9 or +10 she ate the other one ( I can't remember the time on the clock now)
AMPS 97


morning everyone.
I'm feeling very blessed today. It's a good thing Shadow is not a drama queen with her bg.
I was very worried about how to get thru her drop with only 5 strips. nailbite_smile
I think her +3 last night was part her and part food. Her body seems to resist dropping low because she's goes up on her own usually before
I give her any carbs to counter it.
And this mornings shot is so tiny, there's just no momentum when you push the plunger.

I still can't believe the pharmacy clerk gave me the wrong strips. And I should know better than to assume she wouldn't.
I had the cardboard side torn off to match the box and I handed it to her so she could match it.
That's the problem with not being able to touch the boxes and pick for myself. They were out of sight so I couldn' t even see them
and they were $10 higher than my own grocery store. I was trying to minimize how many stops we had and get home to Shadow.
It's really sad that someone can't match a picture.
It's getting scarier all the time. Can't make change, can't read labels ......
12996634320GpgHC.jpg


hopefully this morning wil be normal. I need to be at church at 10 am because I run the kid's store. I missed last week.
So I would prefer not to be in the pharmacy line instead.
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97

Morning Rhiannon ~O) ~O) ~O)

omg on the strips - crazy insane to think that a pharmacy person can make that mistake. shesssshhhh! I can see for sure how worried you must have been with a drop like that and so little strips. it's nice that Shadow can come up on her own, before the carbs kick in. A blessing in disguise.

Good luck with the dose reduction. Well done Shadow - so little juice required! very nice. :cool:

Enjoy your day today. I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97

Wow - it's so hard to believe, but I guess easier and easier to see, that people just don't care about doing a good job anymore. And to screw up something like strips? Honestly, I would go back to the pharmacy and complain, and tell them what happened. It's not like they gave you the wrong size bandages. They'll probably turn around and blame it on you because you didn't confirm that they did their jobs correctly - but screwing up matching up a picture?!? Sometimes I have to get ours behind the counter too if they don't put them all on the shelf. And it always seems to be a production to ask them to check in the back for the larger boxes that cost less per strip.

Sorry that had to happen to you. I've gotten paranoid, and I have at least 100 strips with me at all times, and even more now that I am out of town.

I hope today is a nice calm day for you, and that the drama is over. ((hugs))
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97

Wonderful news on the teeny tiny dose! Fingers are crossed all over LL :mrgreen: SOrry about the useless pharmacy person giving you the wrong strips. Ridiculous.

I see you checked out the Tiny URL idea! :smile: It works on the links in signatures, too, even, which I thought was awesome, since it's so cool to be able to include a few info points about the cat and its bean(s) in the signature, but the space is sooo limited (255 characters)! Or to include great links about Lantus, and TR, and so on, like Marje has, for instance.

Happy Sunday! Hope you stay feeling blessed!
Jane
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97

Congratulations on the dose reducie, last night.

I find it interesting the differences we mark for unit doses with the calipers. As long as we're consistant...

Mine:
2.20mm = 1 unit
2.00mm = 0.75 unit
1.80mm = 0.50 unit (or slightly fat) I finally happened upon what looked like close to a perfect syringe this morning).

Yours:
1.35mm = 0.75 unit
1.05mm = 0.50 unit

I'd be interested to see how other people using calipers compare. I'm guessing that mine are way off. :roll:

Hope you have a good day, and get to go to church.
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97

So glad things worked out, it's crazy anymore trying to get help!

Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97 +2~96

For Dyana's question, I don't think we have the same syringes. I have Terumo's.
For Sienne last night, The closest Walmart is 40 miles away and not the best place to go after dark.
If Shadow hadn't risen , I probably would have run over to that town and gone to a store there. But I sure wasn't wanting to leave her for
over an hour and a half for the driving time.
The "pharmacy" isn't what it used to be. Most stores only hire one licensed pharmacist to oversee several techs. They don't want to pay
the high salaries anymore so they cut back on the professionals. Our local pharmacy/pharmacist makes mistakes all the time. I know quite
a few people who have been given incorrect medications and they caught it because they recognized their pills weren't the same. But
someone getting a medication for the first time would not know. It's a growing problem. It's probably become almost as stressful a job
as Psychiatrists ( high suicide rates); so much responsibility heaped on one person.


it's 9:20am here and I have no strips now. I'm glad she's at a higher number and just ate a little snack of 5%. One of my strips did the error
thing. :evil:
I wouldn't be able to sit still at church so I'm hanging with the cat.....
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97 +2~96

Congrats on Shadow's reduction!!!

Sorry to hear about your crappy pharmacy experience! Come on people, we've all played some kind of 'match the picture' games at some point in our lives, now you are a working adult and you've graduated to matching the words too! Same goes when customer brings in a sample box for test strips. Match the picture, match the words, double check (especially if you know you're incompetent), and maybe even throw in a smile to remind your clients that there is still such a thing as customer service. It really doesn't sound that difficult ;-)

Very glad to hear all things worked out with your very limited number of strips!
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97 +2~96

Oh dear, no strips at all? That's not good. When will you be able to get more? Is there maybe an online pharmacy or store that could send you strips?

Hang in there!

Jane
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97 +2~96

Hi Rhiannon, I missed all the excitement yesterday in your condo, but I read above Shadow got a reducie! Congratulations! Oh wow, what a thing to happen with the strips. Shadow is looking good, as always! Have a nice day.
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97 +2~96 +4.5~72

i've got strips again! 49 of em at this second.

and I should have 400-500 delivered in the next 2 days.

Shadow may have gained 1/2 lb since she dropped to 39 yesterday ..... ohmygod_smile :o :-D I just kept the offerings coming....


Los Alamos is a small town. Population 12,000
we have a grocery with a pharmacy and the hospital pharmacy. I had to wait for the grocery store pharmacy to open at 10am on a sunday.
Our sidewalks do roll up at night.
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97 +2~96 +4.5~72

congrats on the reduction last night, but wow on the strips! :shock: They always do it when we are low. I've become paranoid about it too and get worried when I have 100. At least now I have a meter that I can get strips for locally. I could only get strip for my old meter online!
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97 +2~96 +4.5~72

What a mess with the pharmacy mix-up on the strips. I'm glad you and Shadow made it through the night okay with the limited number of strips you had. I always get paranoid when I have to buy strips from behind the pharmacy counter. I'm always afraid they will give me the wrong ones and they have a big sign up stating you can't return them. So far that hasn't happened. Congratulations on the reducie.
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow AMPS 97 +2~96 +4.5~72

I'm glad you have strips now and will have more soon. I hope you get to relax and enjoy the rest of the Sunday now.

Going to Walmart might not even have worked last night. When we were on our road trip back from Fort Collins I wanted to pick up some more strips, and the pharmacy for the one I stopped at didn't open until 10 on Sunday. They didn't have the kind I use on the shelf, so I had to wait until 10 for the pharmacist to show up.
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow PMPS 92 +2~70

Oh my gosh Rhiannon - I just read your condo from yesterday and today... you are a SUPER HEROINE!!! Wow.Wow.Wow... I have to run do the test/feed/shoot right now, but I`m coming back afterwards to read your SS and appreciate in more detail your finesse :razz: Amazing, and congratulations on the reduction. Exciting Stuff.
 
Re: 9/23 Shadow PMPS 92 +2~70

Congrats on the reducie, but sorry about the strips! I'm afraid those kind of experiences are all too common - inexperienced, under-trained, under-educated people in a hurry.

Have a great night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top