Katie_Waz
Member Since 2020
Can I reduce her dose tomorrow morning? It seems I am often using food to keep her above 50 and she seems to be dropping in her +1, +2 often and instead of letting her to continue to drop until she hits her nadir, I am often using food to bring her back up. I've only had to use the HC food once before we reduced her dose 9 days ago. Now when I see her getting into the 50-70, depending on where she is in her cycle I will use a high calorie but low carb food to bring her back up. The reason I use the high calorie food is bc it wont fill her stomach as much so I can ensure she will still want to eat. It's a more bang for your buck kind of thing. I work a 10 hour day tomorrow and my husband can check in on her during the day but I'm worried she needs more care than he'll be able to give her. I know with Lantus, she is supposed to be in the 100 range for a week before reduction, or if she drops below 50 but I'm confident that the only reason she hasn't dropped into hypo is bc im constantly monitoring her and have been able to catch it before it happen...and by using the LC food I am able to bring her back up slowly so i don't send her into a bounce.
Now if I do lower her dose, I read that "Did you decrease the dose recently? A dose reduction will usually result in a need for less stored insulin. The excess may be released into the bloodstream faster than usual, especially if several dose reductions are done back-to-back." (I took this from a sticky) Does this mean if I do reduce the dose she may actually be more at risk for a hypo event?
currently she's at +2 53 and I gave her 26 cals of LC food. I'll test her at +2.5 and continue the normal routing of raising her back up but i'm really fearful of tomorrow and think she should be reduced to .5 Units 2x a day
Now if I do lower her dose, I read that "Did you decrease the dose recently? A dose reduction will usually result in a need for less stored insulin. The excess may be released into the bloodstream faster than usual, especially if several dose reductions are done back-to-back." (I took this from a sticky) Does this mean if I do reduce the dose she may actually be more at risk for a hypo event?
currently she's at +2 53 and I gave her 26 cals of LC food. I'll test her at +2.5 and continue the normal routing of raising her back up but i'm really fearful of tomorrow and think she should be reduced to .5 Units 2x a day