9/23 Catcat AMPS 378,+3=288,+6=314, PMPS 361,+3=273

CandyH & Catcat

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-241-4-221-7-75-223-pmps-282-3-25-269.219615/

grrrrr --- do not like pink to begin the day, with this increased dose I'd expect blue at +3 not high yellow

I wonder if his pancreas is even working ? more like panic-y liver dumping glucagon out like crazy

wondering if the dose was already too high and I should have decreased instead of increased

oh me ! :nailbiting::confused: :arghh:

since it looks like he has a 4 day cycle from high to low, I'll stick it out and see what happens .. longing for the days I only had to shoot .5

Scotch and Soda
Mud in yer eye
Baby do I feel high oh me oh my
Do I feel high


don't I wish his high was of this variety ...
 
I'm confused o_O Why did you give Honey a few days ago? Did his BG drop below 50?

images
 
From looking at his SS - he really needs time to adjust to this dose - and perhaps more, not less insulin. Remember he has diabetes - as you can see from those high BG readings - his pancreas isn't working. The insulin is not shutting down his pancreas, it's helping his liver deal with the sugar already in his blood stream - if he doesn't get enough insulin his body cannot, on it's own digest any food that he's eating. Please, please don't be shy about helping him with insulin. If you study the action of insulin on the blood - it's like a 'key' and it unlocks the cells that absorb nutrients - no key = no nutrient absorption.

Here's a snip from googling -
How does insulin work at the cellular level?
Insulin binds with insulin receptors on cell surfaces and acts as a key to open up the cells to receive glucose. Insulin receptors are on almost all tissues, including muscle cells and fat cells. ... As blood sugar and insulin levels decrease, the receptors empty and the glucose transporters go back into the cell.Mar 11, 2019
 
On SS 6 days ago you wrote," feeding gravy food with honey"
I was wondering why you'd give gravy & honey, I didn't see a low reading, below 50. I thought maybe you forgot to fill it in?

should have inserted a comma -- fed him MC .. Friskies with gravy, (comma) AND had honey and Karo AVAILABLE since the injection was between 2 and 3.5 units

but his BG never came down that far, 14% carbs was enough to keep him well above normal
 
From looking at his SS - he really needs time to adjust to this dose - and perhaps more, not less insulin. Remember he has diabetes - as you can see from those high BG readings - his pancreas isn't working. The insulin is not shutting down his pancreas, it's helping his liver deal with the sugar already in his blood stream - if he doesn't get enough insulin his body cannot, on it's own digest any food that he's eating. Please, please don't be shy about helping him with insulin. If you study the action of insulin on the blood - it's like a 'key' and it unlocks the cells that absorb nutrients - no key = no nutrient absorption.

Here's a snip from googling -
How does insulin work at the cellular level?
Insulin binds with insulin receptors on cell surfaces and acts as a key to open up the cells to receive glucose. Insulin receptors are on almost all tissues, including muscle cells and fat cells. ... As blood sugar and insulin levels decrease, the receptors empty and the glucose transporters go back into the cell.Mar 11, 2019

thanks for the reminder -- you wouldn't have known that I deal daily with DH with type 2 diabetes, and I myself tend towards hypoglycemia, yet my A1C is edging into prediabetes

yeah, when I feel fuzzy in the morning, and wind up poking myself as well as Catcat, the test strip from my droplet will read in the low 40s

we'll see how it turns out in a couple of days .. if he's getting the correct dose, the flat yellows will be followed by blues and occasional greens
 
I really really really don't like these numbers -- tearing my hair out, hate to see him above renal threshold
he doesn't like it much either, sleeps more than usual, doesn't want to cuddle and purr (he did this morning but not since)

a white sport coat
and a pink carnation
I'm in a blue, blue mood
 
Back
Top