9/23 - AMPS 491 +3: 297, +6: 136, +7: 148 PMPS: 197

JennC & Diago

Member Since 2018
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ll-not-come-out-of-these-high-numbers.235750/

After just posting yesterday, I'm so happy to see that 297 at +3 today. We switched over to 100% fancy feast yesterday overnight, removing Dr. Elsey's clean protein chicken. Super happy to see that 297. I know it's a long way to go but a small step even if we regress tomorrow offers a glimmer of hope. :)

Edit to add: his PMPS number was 197...not sure what I do?
 
Last edited:
Keep a close eye on him. Those numbers are unfamiliar territory to him, let's hope he stops dropping soon, otherwise he'll bounce to the moon and beyond.
 
I definitely will. He fell out of remission sometime in August and we caught it at the end of Aug. In mid-July he was still in remission with numbers around the 80-100 mark. But he has been in very high numbers since we started him back on insulin on 8/28. Do you think I should check him at +7? Typically, I know the Lantus nadir's around +5 or 6 but can move around.
 
I would, so you can see when he starts rising again :) hopefully, he remembers these lower numbers and doesn’t bounce on you.
 
Thank you both! I will grab a +7 to see where he's at. I certainly hope we don't see a bounce. This is only the second time since we started that we're seeing these numbers. The first was on Novolin. This is the first time on Lantus.
 
+6 = 136!! I'm seriously excited!
Don't forget to update your subject line. This is seriously worth celebrating! And you get to hang onto this dose a little bit longer.

After +6, I would start with low carb instead of medium to slow him down, depending on how much he's dropped.
 
I definitely will. So excited about this. :) Medium carb vs. low carb, I only have the fancy feast chicken pate which is low carb? I don't keep any other food for the kitties except this and the dr. elsey's chicken clean protein dry. Are there other medium carb foods I should grab next time I'm at the store?
 
What works for Diago is a bit of an experiment. I never used medium carb (11-15%) carb, but the high carb that worked for me was 16-17% and you can always blend it with low carb to get somewhat medium carb. Do you have a good stock of high carb foods on hand too?
 
No, I sure don't. I can get some FF with gravy next time I'm at the store. I have Karo syrup for hypo events but not high carb foods. I didn't even think about it when he relapsed.
 
Awesome, looks like you can relax and celebrate, and plan your next food shopping trip. Those lows will come some day.
 
@Wendy&Neko I just tested his PMPS and he's at 197....I'm feeding him now and will retest in 30 min. What are your thoughts on dose? We haven't seen this low of a number since he fell out of remission at shot time.
 
Having different carb amounts can also help you steer the numbers a bit and avoid big drops at onset. You aren't always going to want to reach for the karo say when the BGs are reading in the mid 100s around +3 but sometimes feeding a teaspoon of a higher LC , maybe 8-11% carb canned food can help your cat hold the numbers through their nadir. When we were just getting used to shooting lower numbers, I would often feed my cat his MC food with his insulin injection so we could avoid a steep drop at his onset and hold good doses/better numbers longer. Just something to think about- having more tools in your FD toolkit :)

For the future- when you get a lower then expected Preshot number- you hold off on feeding, stall and retest to see if the numbers are holding or dropping.
The numbers you will get now will be food influenced and give you less of an idea of where they were heading.
 
For the future- when you get a lower then expected Preshot number- you hold off on feeding, stall and retest to see if the numbers are holding or dropping.
The numbers you will get now will be food influenced and give you less of an idea of where they were heading.
Crap, I messed that up tonight. I thought it was feed and then retest. I didn't give any food other than fancy feast chicken pate today. I'm not sure what I do tonight since his number was 197.
 
Crap, I messed that up tonight. I thought it was feed and then retest. I didn't give any food other than fancy feast chicken pate today. I'm not sure what I do tonight since his number was 197.

Not a big deal- you will get all sorts of opportunities for more data and information. That's up to you.
My idea usually is this- if you have plenty of testing supplies, HC and LC food, and time to monitor your kitty closely overnight, I would shoot since that (197) was on its way up from those lower numbers earlier in the cycle.
 
I thought it was feed and then retest.

No, when you're stalling, you don't want to feed because the food itself will bring the number up. You want to stall for 20-30 minutes without food, then test to see if the number goes up without the influence of food. If it does, it's a pretty good sign that the last shot is starting to wear off and it's OK to shoot.

We usually say to shoot anything over 150 as long as you can test and have the supplies you need. Having the Karo is fine if you haven't had time to get high carb gravy food
 
So, with testing this would be overnight. Is the recommendation to give the 2.5 and set alarms every few hours? He is on the way up for sure but given how much it dropped him today from AMPS it has me worried to give the full 2.5u. Reason I ask is I work the typical 8a-5p hours so I can't be up all night lol.
 
This is where the depot insulin is unfamiliar territory. With a prozinc or similar in/out insulin I know I wouldn't have given that full dose. With the depot I know it's not all going to him right now per say but still makes me nervous nonetheless.
 
We have a saying here shoot low to stay low. Lantus is great at grabbing onto lower numbers at giving you nice flat cycles.

Have you decided to switch to TR with the removal of the dry food? If so, could you put TR in your signature.

As for testing, start with that +2 and see where he is. There's a possibility he might bounce as he hasn't seen such lovely numbers for a while.
 
Yeah, I'll be getting a +3 in about an hour to see how he's doing. I'll post as soon as I have the number. I had him eat something just a bit ago. He hadn't eaten since 6, almost 3 hours ago. Insulin was 2 hours ago.

I do think I'm going to switch to TR soon. :)
 
Back
Top