9/23, Aiden, AMPS 393 Switching from Lantus to Levemir

Jennifer and Aiden

Member Since 2020
Hello, I haven't been able to get Aiden regulated on Lantus and was able to get an Rx for Levemir. I'm hoping for advice, experiences, and any info about what to expect. Thank you! I'm new, so if I need to post differently I'm happy to adjust :)
 
Welcome. Young Again is dry food so you will follow SLGS. It doesn’t look like you have followed either method. You have t done a 12 or 18 hour curve and don’t have any night tests after PMPS. Many cats drop at night and if that’s happening he could be bouncing. Lantus and Levimar are both dosed based upon how low a dose takes the cat, the nadir, and not preshots. Have you read the yellow stickies? I’ve never used Lev but it’s a similar insulin but often had a later nadir.
 
Thanks, I thought I was following the SLGS method :/ I was trying to do curves after changing and holding the new dose, but the higher I went the worse he got. I wasn't sure what to do, so I went back down and have been trying to get an Rx for Levemir hoping he'll have better numbers. Thank you for your response. I have read the stickies, but I may have misunderstood and I'll look again.
 
When you start Levemir, put a blank line in the spreadsheet after the last Lantus day, so we can easily see when you switched. Then label the line something like "start Levemir".

I agree with Elise, the best way to get regulation is to follow a dosing method. It looks like Aiden's dose is way too low. I have no idea why you reduced the dose. I rather suspect you've been getting some bad advice from a Facebook group. The spreadsheet you have is not our standard format and looks like the FB one. Levemir is not a magic bullet. I really liked Levemir when we switched, but my girl was in much better numbers at the time. In addition to following SLGS more closely, I would suggest posting here more often for dosing advice. We can help you learn what to do with SLGS.
 
Thank you for your response. I'm on the Feline Diabetes Support Group page. I thought they were connected because they refer to this message board often. I'm looking forward to starting over. Should I start at 0.25 with the Levemir?
 
I think you'll actually be safe going to 0.5 units. Normally we suggest going lower, but he's well underdosed. I want him out of those high numbers, and I'm sure you do too.
 
Back
Top