9/22- Lucky

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Member Since 2011
Update real quick, his AMPS was 328, which is fabulous for Lucky! I shot 1u again.

He was pretty playful last night despite being in the 300's all day yesterday. Can't wait to see what happens today :-D
 
Thanks :mrgreen:

+4 265 (which is better than it has been, not by much, but it's a yellow!)\

I have him in the bathroom with a litter box filled with aquarium gravel hoping he'll go pee so I can check for ketones. We'll see how that goes.... He can be a pretty stubborn kitty!
 
AMPS: 328
+4: 265
+6: 305
+8: 364
+10: 340
PMPS: 369

Argh, I'm not sure about all of this ohmygod_smile I went ahead and sort of cut to the chase with .9 tonight to see what happens.

I've put Lucky in the bathroom 3x today with a gravel litter box and he just gets stressed out being in there. I put my video camera up to show the bottom of the stairs and the door to the bathroom where the litter box is and the monitor is beside the tv upstairs so I can see it while watching tv. I've got a ladle and strips ready to grab when I run down the stairs to catch him in there. I'm trying really hard!

Oh and when should I consider getting a new vial? I've had this one since mid June.
 
Oh that's hilarious, I have often thought of installing a LitterCam over the years, a least I'm not the only kookoo one around!!! :lol:

I don't like the numbers at all though, darn it. I wonder if those times you've seen what look like a possible rebound curve are just natural variation, or liver training rather than actual rebound from the dose being too high. It just doesn't quite make sense to me.

I'd probably try the ripping off the bandaid approach - if you are doing a dose reduction, do it fast and get it over with, so if it's not the right thing, you can raise back up with confidence. I might give it another couple cycles at something like where you are at 0.9 and if you aren't seeing better numbers, I would raise back up pretty fast. It may not be that even the 1.8 was too high. It's a confusing picture, I wish I had a clearer fix on what is needed, sorry not to be more help. At the moment it looks to me like not enough insulin, but then when I look at the higher doses you have tried, the results aren't terribly encouraging. :evil:

I'd probably be thinking about another insulin too. You've been doing this 3 months, you've tried lower and higher doses, and the results are confusing and inconsistent. :YMSIGH:
 
LOL!! I know, it does sound a little crazy, doesn't it? I just don't know how everyone else catches their kitties in the litter box! I didn't see him go downstairs not ONE time yesterday!

Yeah, I wasn't liking the numbers yesterday either :( Although I did get a very promising PM +4 of 237 before I went to bed, just wish I could have stayed up to see what +6 was.

Oh yes, the big picture is very confusing. I feel like I'm trying everything to rule out what I can. I think I may go to another vet, one that will prescribe something other than ProZinc, and try to get him on Lantus or something. I know it's more expensive, but he may respond better to it. When we started this journey, I thought, "oh, I'll take control and research and do this and do that and he'll be OTJ in no time!" HAHAHA Boy, did Lucky throw me a curve ball!

I'll try this dose reduction for a few more cycles and see what happens. I may even bump down to .8 tomorrow depending on what happens today, just so I can rule it out. His PS's are actually not even that bad considering the decrease in dose, which is very surprising. I would have thought his AMPS would be much much higher but it's actually pretty low for him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top