9/22 Lightning AMPS 290,+12 31,+12.5 87, PMPS 102, +1 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela and Lightning

Member Since 2010
Oh my gosh...I will fix my condo later, but what the heck!! 31!! I fed 1 heaping tsp 19% and then 1/4 can 10%....do I shoot?? Do I wait?? Help please!! I'm not freaking out, just really need to know what I should do. He's acting normal and everything...I'm prepared for tests, food, etc....But do I shoot?? I can wait as long as I need so that's no worry.....But please, suggestions!!!

Editing... here's my condo from yesterday, oh and AMPS was 290 this morning....that's why this 31 was such a surprise!!
9/21
He wasn't really meowing TOO much to let me know there was an issue, he was jumping around on counters and stuff (like usual). His ears were kinda cold (which is unusual for PM, and its always warm in my house).
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning PM (BG) 31!!! HELP!!!!

test every 15 min with a number like that. Don't shoot anything until that number is higher and is on a consistent rise. Others will be around with more specific advice to you!
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning PM (BG) 31!!! HELP!!!!

I am new to lantus land but have experience with other insulins. I would say NO to shooting any insulin at this time. I would definitely test at least every hour for now. Maybe every half hour until you see that your Lightening is definitely on the rise. I'll leave the what you should do later on with your dose - to the experts here.
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, PM (BG) 31!!! HELP!!!!

Ok, thank you guys!! I'm glad we are on the same level with NO shooting.....I definitely don't have the BOS for that!!!

Is it ok that I fed? And should I keep feeding? Or wait?
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, PM (BG) 31!!! HELP!!!!

The 19% should bump her up - wait to test in 15 min or so. If she has raised up, then no more higher carb food. Just keep testing to be sure that kitty stays up and doesn't dive again (My Oscar is the poster child for this lol).
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, PM (BG) 31!!! HELP!!!!

What I did when using PZI was like what you did - feed SOME but don't overfeed - otherwise than you'll go way overboard. I'm still new to using Lantus so I don't know what others really say. But as long as your kitty is acting ok and you start to see your numbers rise - I wouldn't keep feeding. I hope that helps a little till those more knowledgeable than me in this land come along.
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, PM (BG) 31!!! HELP!!!!

ok, its 12.25 and he's at 69....guess that 1 tsp 19% and 1/4 can 10% is doing the trick. He's meowing for more food now.....I might give him some LC just to appease him...69 is an ok number and I actually would shoot that number. I will see if i can hold off on feeding for at least 15 minutes and take another test and go from there.

Thank you again.....I really needed this support!!
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, PM (BG) 31!!! HELP!!!!

Hi Pamela
Take a deep breath and remember that you are in control.
As Kelly said, lets get a 15 minutes test from when you fed Lightening and see his
numbers start coming up.
How much wiggle room do you have if you need to shoot something later on, possibly
a reduced dose, if any.
What I mean is do you have a time restriction tomorrow morning if you shot late tonight
and would have to shoot again late tomorrow?

Also, I agree to not overfeed and try and give more of the gravy then the food.
We don't want him getting to full if we need to keep his numbers coming up.
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, PM +12 31, +12.25 69!!! HELP!!!!

That 69 is the food talking. You want to make sure Lightning can hold that number. Keep testing every 15min just to make sure it is a continuous rise. If Lightning will allow it, try to hold off food best you can so we can see the numbers rising without the influence of food.
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, PM +12 31, +12.25 69!!! HELP!!!!

looks like you got all the experts now Pam - I hope the rest of the evening improves for you and Lightening! :smile:
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, PM +12 31, +12.25 69!!! HELP!!!!

I saw the 911 but it looks like you're getting good advice. Don't shoot yet, the 69 is from the high carb so we need to wait a little bit to be sure it will stay up when the gravy wears off.
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, PM +12 31, +12.25 69!!! HELP!!!!

ok, +12.5 87.....still probably the food talking as well. I'm very flexible and can move the shot out as long as it takes. he's still meowing for food, not a ton, but enough to make me want to give him some :) but i haven't yet!!! i'm staying strong!
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, PM +12 31, +12.25 69!!! HELP!!!!

Great job. Get another test like Libby suggested. You've got a lot of people watching your back. Can you grab another test in 15 min. to see what's going on?

(Did you start breathing yet and did your heart rate slow down? FWIW, I do have BOS and I wouldn't have shot that!!)
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, +12 31, +12.25 69, +12.5 87

+12.75 91....barely moving up... So.....what now? Do I keep holding off on food (i actually just gave him a small dried chicken treat)?
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, +12 31, +12.25 69, +12.5 87

The chicken treat is fine. It won't affect his numbers.
Get an even +13 and lets see.
I will leave it to others as to what dose looks good for him but he does react
pretty quickly to the carbs.
That is very good information to have. Make these notes on your ss so you know
what you did.
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, +12 31, +12.25 69, +12.5 87

has it been about 45 minutes since the HC? I would probably do one more test at +13.
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290, +12 31, +12.25 69, +12.5 87

+13 102 So it looks like he's on the rise. Do you think it's ok to shoot now and feed his normal +1 dinner (just 1/4 can FF, probably 5%).
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290,+12 31,+12.25 69,+12.5 87,+13 102

sounds good, just make sure you get a +1 to make sure he's still rising. Oh, and Lightning earned a reduction. :smile:
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290,+12 31,+12.25 69,+12.5 87,+13 102

ok, so I should shoot 1.5 instead of 1.75. I was just about to ask so thank you for mentioning that Libby!! Will get a +1!
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290,+12 31,+12.25 69,+12.5 87,+13 102

Very Exciting for you Pamela and congrats on that dosecrease.
Looks like 1.5.
Happy Hooting.
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290,+12 31,+12.25 69,+12.5 87,+13 102

You did a really great job!! CONGRATS ON THE DOSE CREASE!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290,+12 31,+12.25 69,+12.5 87,+13 102

Thanks to everyone who helped!! Lightning got his dose decrease (and I just checked my SS and it's been almost a MONTH since his last dose change, which was an increase). Is it normal to hold a dose for as long as a month? I hope he can hold this decrease this time though. Crossing my fingers :smile:
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290,+12 31,+12.25 69,+12.5 87, PMPS 102

WOW - great job tonight. I've been watching this unfold, just didn't want to get in the way. Congrats on the dosecrease - and so glad that you did not shoot the 31. Go Lightning!
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290,+12 31,+12.25 69,+12.5 87, PMPS 102

Thanks Michelle....it's been quite a day (for me) and now night for me and Lightning!! I'm already laying on the couch and I have a feeling I might be here the whole night too... ;-)
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290,+12 31,+12.25 69,+12.5 87, PMPS 102

nice job, pamela! congrat's on the reduction!
you've had more than your share of excitement tonight. hope tonight is an uneventful evening. :-D
 
Re: 9/22 Lightning AMPS 290,+12 31,+12.25 69,+12.5 87, PMPS 102

Welp....down to 94 @ +1. hhhmmmm...... Gave him 1/4 can 5% and 1 tsp 10% on top. Will be back for a +2.
 
Good to get a +2 - somehow I don't think you are done yet... ? Hey Lightning - stay put - OK? not too much lower, you've already had such an eventful day.... Awesome job tonight.

And I hope your couch is comfy :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top