? 9/22 Checkers, amps 281, pmps 457

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Chris and Checkers, Sep 22, 2021.

  1. Chris and Checkers

    Chris and Checkers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Previous thread:
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-11-should-i-increase.252823/

    Checkers had a visit to the vet today and had his fructosamine tested, it was 513. So the vet said to increase his dose to 2 units. (His pmps is really high because he gets super stressed at the vet ven though I give him gabapenten)

    I have been following the SLGS, and his nadir on Saturday was 6.9 so I kept the dose the same. Should I ignore the vets advice and maintain the dose? What about the high fructosamine, it is quite high? I am still quite new to this so I am a bit uncomfortable going against against vets advice but I am also afraid of going to high with the insulin.

    Christine
     
  2. Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

    Bama Kitty Mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    I will let others weigh in on dosing but if you are following SLGS, the recommendation is to increase in .25 units so you don't speed past a good dose. Do you have syringes with the half unit markings?
     
  3. Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

    Bama Kitty Mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Sorry, I just read your previous post about getting in the 1/2 unit syringes.
     
  4. Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

    Bama Kitty Mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    @Bandit's Mom

    Could you please take a look and advise Christine on dosing. Glad to see you scurrying around helping kitties as always! :bighug:
     
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I would not increase to 2U. We increase and decrease in multiples of 0.25U. He saw a nadir of 115 on 9/18 and is a little higher following the skipped shot that night.

    You may want to do a curve again this Friday and evaluate his dose.

    If you are feeding only canned food, you have the option of following TR. Is that something you can do? It's a more aggressive protocol and requires more testing.
     
  6. Chris and Checkers

    Chris and Checkers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Hi,

    He is eating canned food plus the stella and chewys freeze dried chicken which he only dry without adding water, but it is definitely low carb.

    I would love to try the TR but I am alone in looking after him and working, I am gone during the day so wouldn't be able to do more testing or be able to keep a closer eye on him. Plus I am terrified of going to work and having him go hypoglycemic while I am away.

    I do have the 1/2 unit syringes.
     
  7. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You can do TR while feeding freeze dried food.

    I see that you are getting some mid-cycle tests. Is that when you come home for lunch?
     
  8. Chris and Checkers

    Chris and Checkers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    I work part time but often have to work extra shifts, so sometimes I am home during the day, but we are really busy at work right now and they want me to work extra shifts (I work at a hospital).

    Also, I am still not comfortable testing more often, he is not comfortable with it either can be a bit of a struggle sometimes. I am hoping it will get easier. I will try a curve on Friday, I am home that day.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
  10. Chris and Checkers

    Chris and Checkers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Thanks, that was helpful, I hope it does get easier and thanks for your advice.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.

Share This Page