? 9/22 Checkers, amps 281, pmps 457

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Chris and Checkers, Sep 22, 2021.

1. Chris and Checkers

Chris and Checkers Well-Known Member

Previous thread:
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-11-should-i-increase.252823/

Checkers had a visit to the vet today and had his fructosamine tested, it was 513. So the vet said to increase his dose to 2 units. (His pmps is really high because he gets super stressed at the vet ven though I give him gabapenten)

I have been following the SLGS, and his nadir on Saturday was 6.9 so I kept the dose the same. Should I ignore the vets advice and maintain the dose? What about the high fructosamine, it is quite high? I am still quite new to this so I am a bit uncomfortable going against against vets advice but I am also afraid of going to high with the insulin.

Christine

2. Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

Bama Kitty Mom (GA) Well-Known Member

I will let others weigh in on dosing but if you are following SLGS, the recommendation is to increase in .25 units so you don't speed past a good dose. Do you have syringes with the half unit markings?

3. Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

Sorry, I just read your previous post about getting in the 1/2 unit syringes.

4. Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

@Bandit's Mom

Could you please take a look and advise Christine on dosing. Glad to see you scurrying around helping kitties as always! :bighug:

5. Bandit's Mom

Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

I would not increase to 2U. We increase and decrease in multiples of 0.25U. He saw a nadir of 115 on 9/18 and is a little higher following the skipped shot that night.

You may want to do a curve again this Friday and evaluate his dose.

If you are feeding only canned food, you have the option of following TR. Is that something you can do? It's a more aggressive protocol and requires more testing.

6. Chris and Checkers

Hi,