9/22 Binks pmps 140 +3 93 +5 65 +7 80 +11 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

mybuddybinks

Member Since 2010
Mid-morning, folks!
and happy thursday to all...

We'd like to thank everyone for the support and humor yesterday,
and express our thanks to Sienne and Sandy for so graciously guiding the fumbling Re-Newbie. :-D

Binks is in fine fettle today, though he has certainly voiced his unflattering opinion of his new late breakfast time.
he had a grand time at the Overnight Paddle Party in the green lagoon last night, and swears that NOBODY skinnydipped :-D
He handled yesterday with his usual good nature, although mid afternoon he borrowed a Mannie-erism from his PNW pal,
as testing increased, he'd heave an audible sigh, then proceed to the test rug.

Late in the night he joined me on the couch and lulled me to sleep.
I'm tellin' ya... the makers of Unisom are missing a huge market opportunity-
if they packaged & sold Sweet Little Kitty Snores, their sales would skyrocket!

We had to dash to Wally World this morning, as one of the 50 pk test strips Foster Scooter stashed turned out to be a 4 pk :oops:
Who doesn't open a present to see what's inside?? well...me.

Speaking of the Foster Cutie...got a voicemail from his new momma yesterday.
She said all is better-than-well with them...his furever home name is "Tommie"...and she choked up when she told me
that he has brought love and light to her life! As she is house-bound, he will be an indoor kitty..
what a wonderful outcome to his adventures!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=52650

and when i googled "kitten comes home pics"...i found this :-D

funny-pictures-kitten-asks-soldier-to-come-home-soon.jpg
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103

What a very cute picture that you found. Thank you so much for sharing that. :-D

Binkster... Now THAT'S a very nice # for you this morning.. Mind you, you COULD always go just a smidgen lower, ya know? :lol: Surf in da :mrgreen: s along with Miss Blackie. She'd surely love some company.

Speaking of kitty snores... I highly doubt that anyone's cat on here snores quite as loudly as Miss Blackie does. :lol: If it wasn't for the fact that the snores are shorter than a man's, I'd swear that there was another hooman in here other than my DH and I. :lol:

I'm so glad to hear that Tommie has now a furever home. I wish them all the best, and may each of them have many, many wonderfully happy times. :-D

Have a terrific day, guys!
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103

Nice start to the day for Binkster. But late fuds? Oh! No!

That was some Lagoon party last night, it's been a while. @-) I'm not used to it any more.
design_cat_tired.jpg
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76

Blackie!!! Iz here to getz sum tipz frum da Surf Queen!
Binks


boy, Ann... do I hear you!
i had to set 3 alarms at a time last night, and am in zombie-mode this am!
(albeit, SMILING zombie mode) :-D
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76

Hi guys ... very nice looking numbers for binks today! Based on tess's picture, it looks like some of these kitties had a long night! Hope the nice numbers continue .. have a great day!
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76

Wow!! You were all so busy last night. I almost feel guilty for snuggling Tarragon in a deep slumber all night. I said almost. :lol: It's about time all you old timers had to stay up for once. :lol: There definitely was a conspiracy afoot.

Way to go Binks! You're the man.

Late in the night he joined me on the couch and lulled me to sleep.
I'm tellin' ya... the makers of Unisom are missing a huge market opportunity-
if they packaged & sold Sweet Little Kitty Snores, their sales would skyrocket!

Isn't that the truth? My lab sleeps next to my bed and snores as well. Between DH, Charlie, Turnup and Tarragon it was a great night of melodic sleeping aid.

We had to dash to Wally World this morning, as one of the 50 pk test strips Foster Scooter stashed turned out to be a 4 pk
Who doesn't open a present to see what's inside?? well...me.

So what happened to the other 46. Hmmmmm.

Hope you have a wonderful day and get some rest!
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84

I'm a BIG fan of the smooth groove, binks...Easy Peasy Binksy-beasy!

I had opened and used the majority of the 50 pk back in february...
one shake of the container might have reminded me of that :oops:
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84 +6 121

Well...i don't know how he does it...but the Lil Grey ghostie seems to accomodate
his bean's needs every time.

If i were manipulating his cycle (which i'm not)...this is where i'd be trying to get him to surf through the rest of this cycle,
and the delay last night actually helps us tonight.

Tonight is the Annual Family Night BBQ at the nursing home, and they are putting on a surprise celebration for binks' Auntie-bean...
who just recently battled her way out of the ICU and is now back at the facility...for which we are truly thankful.
Binks got a special invitation...but although he loves his companion cat visits...
he abhors crowds...so he'll have to sit this one out.

I'll be gone from his +7 until his +9, though i'll be 5 minutes away should his numbers indicate spot checks are needed.

You will have to forgive me for some late night condo creeping...we'll be checking in on you guys...
but it may be after some of you head for bed.

no worries, though...it'll be friendly condo visits...not creepy stalker-type ones. :-D
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84 +6 121

Binks had a great cycle and he's still going to miss out on all the fun! I'm glad the delay worked in your favor- have a great time!
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84 +6 121

Enjoy the Family Barbecue and good news on your sister. Also nice Tommy found a home and put some joy in the Owner's life. You have a very interesting and fun condo. They must love you and Binks at the nursing home. Does Binks still make visits?
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84 +6 121

mybuddybinks said:
You will have to forgive me for some late night condo creeping...we'll be checking in on you guys...
but it may be after some of you head for bed.

no worries, though...it'll be friendly condo visits...not creepy stalker-type ones. :-D

Ohmylord, I might've just woken the dead laughing. That is HILARIOUS! I don't know why,that just really struck my funny bone! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84 +6 121

I was trying to stay awake, and Willie was doing the kitty snore/sighs on the back of the couch above my head while holding my hand. yeaaaahhhh..... I was out!

beautiful cycle for binks today.... and celi? you can creepy stalk us anytime you want. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84 +6 121

Hi Guys,
Beautiful cycle, Binksy! Enjoy the family night tonight. It's great that your sister is back from the ICU. Binks might not go to the party, but he'll certainly be a topic of conversation!!

Great that Tommie has a new home and an adoring bean. Congrats, Celi, for making it all possible.

Now, let's get back to the Lagoon later. Rusty wants to come, too, and hopes he'll be green--or almost green--enough to make it.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84 +6 121

Permission slip granted! :-D Have fun at family night and great news on your sister. I'm sure the kits will make sure Binks isn't bored or getting into trouble.

Binksy! You're home? Alone? Oh boy, I'll spread the word! -- Tess
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84 +6 121

Binks, you are a new cat! Wasn't it just a few days ago that you were on the floors that cannot be named? Good job! You too, Celi!
Liz
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84 +6 121 +8 157 +10 141 in

after really checking out some of the spreadsheets of returned kitties...especially Alex's...
and some late night insight from Jill...
(sounds like a talk show, doesn't it?
'Welcome to Late Night Insights...now here's your host, Jill") :lol:

if he doesn't come down significantly before pmps,
i'm planning to go ahead and add a drop to his dose tonight.

unless of course, any of the wise ones see a reason not to... :-D
and, wow...do i feel for the folks that have schedules that cause them to have late shot times... :?
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84 +6 121 +8 157 +10 141 in

Very very nice day for da Binksy! Very informative condo today, i had no idea that Binks was a companion cat....how sweet! And i couldn't imagine a better kitty for the job ;-)

PS kitty snores put me to sleep too!
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84 +6 121 +8 157 +10 141 in

Hi Binks wanted to make sure to stop in and check out "The Daily Binks" :cool: good luck with the increase if you went up tonight
 
Re: 9/22 Binks amps 103 +2 76 +3 84 +6 121 +8 157 +10 141 in

mybuddybinks said:
after really checking out some some of the spreadsheets of returned kitties...especially Alex's...
and some late night insight from Jill...
(sounds like a talk show, doesn't it?
'Welcome to Late Night Insights...now here's your host, Jill") :lol:

if he doesn't come down significantly before pmps,
i'm planning to go ahead and add a drop to his dose tonight.

for those following binks' story:
after the fact, celi asked me what i would have done last night when binks presented her with a 59 @ PMPS. here's a transcript of the very short (it was very late) conversation...

would you have said shoot sooner?

yes. i shoot the 12s. there was a slow drop of only 26 points between +9 and +12. not much and it was over 3 hours. you don't have many +2s, but going by the data you do have onset is *usually* around +3... sometimes +4.
figure in feeding binks and the insulin kicking in 3 - 4 hours later... no problemo with shooting at +12.

my gut tells me i should have..
also...should i have added the drop?

i would have. :mrgreen:
reason being, even with a nadir of 59 tonight, there's still too many blues on binks ss. we want to get the whole range down and dollars to donuts, it'll take more insulin to do it... even if it means shoring up nadirs with food.

mybuddybinks said:
unless of course, any of the wise ones see a reason not to... :-D

unless binks does anything unusual between now and PMPS, you should be good to go with adding another drop.
however, if you're adding a drop based on the numbers you've seen today... don't.

sounds like a contradiction, eh? not really. :-D
despite the late shot last night, you saw good numbers that were influenced by the leftover action in the shed/insulin depot.
the higher numbers you're seeing today are the result of the shed draining for almost 2 hours before you shot last night. stalled shot = decrease. because of the shed/insulin, the ramifications from stalling a shot will almost always manifest itself in the next cycle.

sooooooooo, the point i'm trying to make is if you were happy with binks' numbers before today's cycle... don't add the drop.

make sense?
 
Re: 9/22 Binks pmps 140 added a drop

beautifully spoken, Jill!
and makes perfect sense.

Though he's been seeing blues and greens,
I felt like we could fine-tune/lower his overall cycles by adding a drop.
since he's returned from the Falls...i feel aggressive is the best way to try to help him get back into remission...
and being as I currently have the luxury of being able to monitor and help guide him with carbs...i'd really like to see
him making me work to keep him up.

also...i'm EXTREMELY leery of his body getting AT ALL comfy with higher numbers.

and i have to say...he's such an easy guy to work with...and responds to carbs quickly...i'm pretty relaxed & rarely frustrated by the dance.
It truly is a blessing to have such an agreeable, good natured guy.

And it certainly don't hurt to have such a great support structure...you guys are wonderful! :-D
 
Re: 9/22 Binks pmps 140 +3 93

well...that worked :lol:

a surf would be nice binks...
you're bean ain't as young as she once was!
 
Re: 9/22 Binks pmps 140 +3 93

hmmm...
be careful what you wish for. :lol:

seriously, what you want to do now is anticipate where binks is going and use food to prop him up BEFORE he drops too low. it's a balancing act and it may take a few tries before you get it just right. the added drop of insulin is simply to pull down the higher ends of his range... we're not looking for a dose reduction... yet.
 
Re: 9/22 Binks pmps 140 +3 93

Hi Celi!

Not to shabby my buddy on those #'s. Awwww on Tommy and his new forever home. I know they will be very happy together. Brings turtles to mind. ;-)

I love the kitty snore. My older guy isn't loud but it definitely has the effect of putting you in a calming state, no matter whats going on here. Maybe the other animals are paying him with treats. :smile:

Have a good day guys.
 
well, this just made my morning!
a visit from Jan...
and I actually hadn't seen Jill's last post
(on the night shift, I test, then cat nap...and firing up the laptop takes away precious catnap time)
but I actually was on the right page!

I fed him 6% at the +3...and 10% at the +5 :-D

maybe i can pack away the Re-newbie hat :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top