9/21 Simon PMPS 66 +1 65 +2 54 +3 63 +4 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I didn't get to open a condo yesterday, but Simon had a pretty good day, mostly low to mid-blues and then dropping again to the 50's last night. This seems to be a pattern. Because of this big drop at night, I am definitely deciding not to have anyone come and give Simon a shot of insulin while I am at my conference in Milwaukee. Simon has been higher at PMPS time but then goes really low at +4. If someone tests him and then gives him his regular insulin shot, no one will be able to test later on. I don't want to risk that. I'm sure he will be fine because he has missed 2-3 shots before and did great.

Simon is still doing fairly well with the dasuquin and is not fighting me too much. He knows he gets a treat after so he knows he has to get through swallowing the pill before getting the treat. I am also sprinkling the pill with a little parmesan cheese because he is addicted to it. I have noticed that he jumped up on my kitchen chair yesterday -- I haven't seen that in a long time so maybe the dasuquin is already helping! Yay!!

Have a great day and I probably won't get a chance to post tomorrow since I will be leaving early for the airport.
 
Re: 9/21 Simon AMPS 115

Simon jumping on chairs is definately a great sign, I'm happy to hear he's doing so well.
Hope you guys have a great day
 
Re: 9/21 Simon AMPS 115

Good morning! Great AMPS for Simon today! I understand your concerns on Simon's shot while you are gone.

So good to hear that Simon is jumping again. The meds must be kicking in. That is wonderful!!

Have a great trip and good luck at your conference!!
 
Re: 9/21 Simon AMPS 115

What an awesome update and great AMPS!!!!! I think I'd rather feel safe about not shooting than be worried. Or a half dose may be safe and prevent the shed from being drained completely.
 
Re: 9/21 Simon AMPS 115

So glad to hear the dasuquin is starting to help Simon!

Skipping shots while you're away sounds like the safest plan for Simon. Have a wonderful trip!

Amy
 
Re: 9/21 Simon AMPS 115

Hi guys .. Nice start to the day for simon .. I agree with what others have said, it's probably best to skip the shots if no one will be around to do spot checks on him .. Have a safe trip!
 
Re: 9/21 Simon AMPS 115

Hi Georgia!! Simon is looking really good!! You know him best so I'm sure he'll be fine with a skipped shot.

Have a good trip!!
 
Re: 9/21 Simon PMPS 66

Oh, my goodnes!! Simon has not had this low of PMPS in forever (or maybe never). I was too scared to actually give a full shot so I gave him about 1/2 of what he normally gets. Now I am a nervous wreck. I have to go to bed early because I have to be down at the airport by 7:00 am for a flight. Please, Mr. Simon, do not go very low tonight!! Any advice? Did I do the right thing by giving him the insulin?
 
Re: 9/21 Simon PMPS 66

well, i don't know, but it's done! so just don't worry about it and test him later to see how he is. obviously he's going to be just fine skipping a couple of shots.

have a great time at your conference, georgia! we'll be sending good vibes to simon to stay out of trouble (and off the counter!)
 
Re: 9/21 Simon PMPS 66

Hi Georgia, have a safe trip and enjoy the conference. Maggie has also been having lower PMPS's, too. Bumping you up, too. Exciting to see how well simon is doing. I'd just test him at +1 or 2 and see where he goes.

If you want Sienne or someone to advise, place a question mark icon in your subject line.
 
Re: 9/21 Simon PMPS 66 +1 65

Now I am wondering if I should not have given Simon any shot tonight. I just thought that since he will be skipping a few shots from Friday night to Sunday morning, that I definitely should give him something. Should I be feeding him some higher carb food? I just fed him again at the +1 (mini-meal of FF chicken). I have higher carb on hand. Do you think he is going to keep dropping? Usually his nadir seems to be somewhere around +5 or +6. I really need to be in bed by 10:00, but of course will stay up if he is dropping. I can set up mini meals throughout the night.
 
Re: 9/21 Simon PMPS 66 +1 65

Hi Georgia, you could give her something that you know will bump her up just so you can get a good night's sleep. I give Maggie FF Turkey & giblets, and it bumps her up enough to keep her safe when I'm gone. Do you have any of the FF Grilled flavors with gravy. Just a little of it would help or Merrick's Cowboy Cookout, one of those flavors. These always bump Maggie up. What time are you going to sleep?
 
Re: 9/21 Simon PMPS 66 +1 65 +2 54

Still dropping at the +2.

Ann, I just gave him some FF chicken with some FF elegant medleys chicken mixed in. Not sure if that is as HC as the gravy lovers. I also have the gravy lovers food so I'll break that open if he continues to drop in the next hour.

I'm not sure what I should do tomorrow morning. After dropping me off at the airport, DH is going to work all day and won't be home until Simon's PMPS. Should I only give .50 just to be safe? I guess I should wait until I see what happens later tonight.
 
Re: 9/21 Simon PMPS 66 +1 65 +2 54

Hi Georgia, bump up, and yes, the FF gravy lovers would bump him up, just the gravy if you can squeeze it. The FF elegant medleys should also help bymp. I've never used that flavor, but I've read where others have used it. Just slowly feed the gravy so that he doesn't get full.

On the dose tomorrow, hopefully one of the dose advisors will come along once seeing your question mark icon. Hang in there.
 
Re: 9/21 Simon PMPS 66 +1 65 +2 54

Hi Georgia,
You have to do what you feel comfortable with. Can your DH test and/or give shots?
The Elegant Medleys line of FF are MC--about 11% carbs. I think that's a good choice. You don't want to go overboard with gravy foods unless you really need to.

So see how he does over the next few hours. I hope that some experienced eyes will be on your dilemma soon. I know that when Sienne goes away her petsitter does not test (because Gabby will not allow it), so she shoots 1/2 dose. If your DH can do this, it might be the answer to your problem.

Have a good trip and try not to worry.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/21 Simon PMPS 66 +1 65 +2 54 +3 63

He is at least heading in the right direction.

Ella, glad to hear that the elegant medleys was a good choice. I just gave him a little more food after the +3 test. I don't think I have to worry about him getting tired of these mini-meals. He thinks this is the best thing that has ever happened to him. Getting fed every hour and also getting some more higher carb foods is making his night.

DH can test and shoot. I'll see how it goes tonight and where he is tomorrow before I decide what to shoot in the morning. If he is under 100, I will only shoot 1/2 the amount since DH will be away during the day. I will leave out food in the automatic feeder so he will get something during the day.
 
Re: 9/21 Simon PMPS 66 +1 65 +2 54 +3 63

It sounds like a good plan, Georgia. It looks like Simon wants to take his time in order to get all that gravy and mini meals. Sneaky, huh, just like Maggie! Hope you sleep well and have a good night.
 
Still green at 77! I am giving Simon another mini meal of FF chick and then putting food in his automatic feeder to go off in an hour and then another 3 hours. One of the meals will have some food that is more high carb just in case.

I think I will be able to get a little rest now that he is out of the 60's.
 
wow - what a night for you! I think you made the right choices. I have used the elegant medleys too - they work well with Mannie, most are about 10-11%. I think your plan is a good one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top