9/21 Shadow PMPS 88 +2~74 +5~80

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhiannon and shadow (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79460

yesterday
AMPS 103
+2 80
+4 91

PMPS none
+.5 86 new meter- Bayer Contour Next
+3 73
+4 71
+5 74
AMPS 85 decrease today (14 cycles) new dose is 1.35 mm = 0.75 units leaning towards a fat 0.75 unit


I had a horrible senior moment yesterday.
I was so sure I had put a box of 100 strips in my hypo kit and apparently I had put lancets there instead.
I had just ordered several 100 strips the day before realizing I was getting low.
So when I got her syringe and food already for shot time, I discovered no strips.

It is only because I know Shadow's cycles fairly well that I went ahead and shot and ran to the store asap to get strips.
The store only had a box of 100 for $126 plus tax. :shock:
just as I was about to cave or drive to the other half of town ( 20 minutes away - they had a box of 50) I remembered that meters tend
to be cheap and was thinking I would get a few strips with the meter but quickly figured out I had to buy strips too.
but $36 for a backup meter and 25 strips was better than the cost of my other ones.
I needed a backup meter anyway.
I only recognized the Bayer Contour as one of the good ones. I knew to avoid the Tru names and I wasn't about to buy the kroger brand meter.
Of course, the strips for my new meter are also $$$.
oh well.

I have sevral 100 strips on the way, probably monday delivery for my Accu-chek and I'll have to wait until then to know how much
my two meters can vary. I think they are pretty accurate to each other but the bayer could be slightly lower than the accuchek.


computer is getting hot so I'll have to come back later.
 
Re: 9/21 Shadow AMPS 85 +1.75~68 different meter

Hi guys .. oh no on the strip mistake! I can't imagine paying that much for strips, eeks! Probably a smarter way to go with buying a new meter .. hopefully the two meters are not that far off .. numbers are looking good that's for sure! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 9/21 Shadow AMPS 85 +1.75~68 +2~69 +3.25~74 dif meter

sorry about the lack of numbers this morning.
hard to be awake and coherent at 5:45 a.m. :roll:
~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)

I have now purchased 550 aviva strips and 100 bayer.

don't want to ever do that again. :o
 
Re: 9/21 Shadow AMPS 85 +1.75~68 +2~69 +3.25~74 dif meter

Congratulations on your new meter, seems like something good came out of this! :razz: I spilled coffee on mine last week when Reuben was going down below 50, it managed to keep going but I *swore* I was going to buy a back-up meter. Such a good thing to have!! Oh, and sorry, I don`t think you can use the senior moment excuse, we know how young you are!! :lol:
 
Re: 9/21 Shadow AMPS 85 +1.75~68 +2~69 +3.25~74 dif meter

Still great numbers. I think most meters are pretty close on the lower numbers, it's on the high ones that they can get way off.

Do you have a Target nearby? Their house brand Up & Up meter is actually the WaveSense Presto, a very good meter. Strips are $20 /50 and you can even get a box of 25 for $10 to tide you over. I usually find them for $11 or $12 online.
 
Re: 9/21 Shadow AMPS 85 +1.75~68 +2~69 +3.25~74 dif meter

Wonderful numbers!

Horrible about the strips and cost...
I have a back-up meter, same as the one I use daily, when I switched to the Relion, they only had pink, but I got it, recently I saw a Blue one on the shelf, so I got that because Junior is a boy and likes Blue better, So I now use the blue daily, and the pink is for backup, and same test strips, which helps!

Have a great day, and weekend also!
 
Re: 9/21 Shadow AMPS 85 +1.75~68 +2~69 +3.25~74 dif meter

Wow that is high cost on the strips. I used to use the ATrak until it got to be too much. I sometimes question my meter. I know it gives a wonky # if there's too much blood on the strip. Shadow has another great cycle.
 
Re: 9/21 Shadow PMPS 88

I just got 4 boxes of 50 strips for $15 a box on ebay--They were fine just need to watch the expiration dates--I never had a bad experience there & this person sent me 3 boxes of lancets- for free--
Great numbers Shadow!! WHHHOOO HHHOOOOOOO!! Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 9/21 Shadow PMPS 88

Good luck with the dosecrease. It looks like Shadow is doing fine with it.

My first meter was a Bayer. The strips were so expensive that I switched to the Relion Confirm. It's ridiculous how much some brands of strips cost.
 
Re: 9/21 Shadow PMPS 88 +2~74

Great numbers for Shadow today!! Sorry to hear about the test strip fiasco yesterday. It's always a plus to have a backup though.

Is shot time getting any better for Shadow yet? I think about you every time I shoot. Testing was the battle for Yahtzee and I, which we're finally improving on. I don't know what I'd do if he didn't take his shot like a champ.

Good luck with the decrease!!!
 
Re: 9/21 Shadow PMPS 88 +2~74

I also get strips on eBay.

I know you trust her numbers but...it might have been better to be just a little late with the shot and Mae sure you got s PS...you never know... :smile: :smile:
 
That is very true.
I debated it but Shadow always watches me prepare her food and her shot and she was in her spot all ready and then.... I realized I was a moron.
I looked her over and didn't see anything different about her other than her poor stomach growling.
So I shot and ran out the door to the store.
She never likes it when i go out that front door and to have her food all ready and she knows it and then walk out...
I couldn't do it.

And now I'll have 500 plus strips and keep my stock up better.... and everything else is ordered too for extra stock.
The only thing I haven't got yet is an entire closet full of cat food. ( well, not the low carb food....still have cases of friskies .... :lol: )
 
I am using the Bayer Breeze2 meter with the dics of 10 test stips sealed in one disc. I believe the sealed test strips is more reliable because with the hot & humid weather in HK & the times when we handle the strips our hand maybe a bit wet. These factor will affect the reading when tested.
I just bought those strips HK$210/50 (US$27.10/50 strips) sealed inside10 aluminium foiled disc. The Bayer is doing a promo; free Breeze2 meter for every 5 boxes of strips purchased. I will be donating those extra meter to the board after I recieve it.
 
Very nice flat cycle for Shadow today. Every time I start a new box of strips I recount how many I've got left after that. I use Relion as my primary meter but have to drive down to Bellingham (across the border) or get a friend who goes down there to get some for me. I have the Bayer Contour with 100 strips as a back-up, hoping I'll never run out of Relion to have to use the pricy ones. But you are right, the lancet package does look a lot like the strip packaging.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top