9/21 Podo AMPS 334,+7 276,PMPS 310,+5 154

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seattlebrian

Member Since 2010
yesterday

summary of yesterday's drama
AMPS 197
+6 92
+12 49 & *52
+12.5 *55
+13 *81
+14 101


AMPS 334
Hungry kitty again this morning, but opposite side of the coin on the BG level.

I supposed I should have given her a shot last night, but I was so tired I was afraid I would fall asleep a couple hours after the shot. Her normal dosage right now is 2.25U. Should i have done 1.75U @+14? It was really borderline there at +14, but I had already fed her all her food and was worried about dropping down into hypo range again.

Hindsight is 20/20, so anyone got some good vision out there for next time this happens?
 
Re: 9/21 Podo AMPS 334 (should have shot last night?)

She earned a decrease from that 49 Brian so lower the dose tonight, okay?
Did you feed her during the day? Next time when she gets a lowish number during the cycle, you can recheck the later hours so you will have a heads up about where the approx range of her preshot number will come in, particularly the +11 time.

We do have a few choices when they throw a low preshot. If you have never given a shot when she was this low, you did the right thing since you were basically all alone. If you ask for help, there just might be someone online at that time who will walk you though it. If you will be home for the next few hours, there is a chance with some preshots that you could shoot...
You shot recently on a 105 and a 118. IMHO anything lower than 60 is iffy especially if you don't have any data. More experienced people might shoot then, but I can't say that YOU should...Know what I mean?

All-in-all, you did the best thing by not shooting....as if it was a fur shot.
There is a way you can shoot a BCS (chicken shot) which I see you have shot in the past. A little bit of insulin is good because it keeps the shed going. When you do not shoot, the shed depletes and it takes a little time to recover.
You can also wait and retest ---once you see a rising number, you can shoot the regular dose IF the number is high enough, or a reduced shot.

If you must shoot at a certain time, the delay is not the best choice. At the very least, you will have to be around with plenty of HC gravy and test strips to keep checking on her.

The more data you collect the better you will be able to make a decision on shooting. For last night, considering that you were tired, it was a good choice...next time, maybe post to see if anyone is around to talk it over with you okay?
Good job!
 
Re: 9/21 Podo AMPS 334 (should have shot last night?)

wow, brian...no advice, but you been putting in a lot of time with the Podo girl...maybe she was welcoming the break too...

celi
 
Re: 9/21 Podo AMPS 334 (should have shot last night?)

Just remember that everything you do and do not do, is all good data that tells you about YOUR cat.

It's always better to be safe than sorry. If it does not feel right to push it, then don't.
You earned the decrease and the numbers will come down.

If you normally have a late nadir, I have a late nadir with Oliver, then shooting when you have a low number that is rising may be OK, but if you have a regular mid cycle nadir, I am not sure if you want to be shooting such a low number.

You went with the safe choice, and that choice can never be wrong.
Podo thanks you.
 
Re: 9/21 Podo AMPS 334 (should have shot last night?)

The couple times I've done curves her nadir appears to be between +5 and +6. Maybe a little later if she is slow in eating her food.
 
Re: 9/21 Podo AMPS 334,+7 276 (should have shot last night?)

+7 276

Slow crawl down, but that is expected with shed repair.
 
Re: 9/21 Podo AMPS 334,+7 276 (should have shot last night?)

Hi Brian, I agree with the others that you did the right thing by skipping the shot. That number was too low for you to shoot at this point in Podo's progress. As it is, Podo's numbers aren't so bad today, so just pretend that it was a fur shot and take the decrease Podo is entitled to.
Thanks for visiting Stu's condo today. And don't forget about the Full Harvest Moon Ball on the 23rd.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 9/21 Podo AMPS 334,+7 276 (should have shot last night?)

I think one of the issues regarding shooting lower numbers that you need to keep in mind is the onset of Lantus. It's not immediate. When you shoot, you're really not shooting the number on the meter. You're shooting a number that's at least an hour or two away. What your test data from last night told me is that by +13, you had a rising number. If you had shot then, your +1 would have been the 101 and it's likely that the +2 would have been higher and you'd have shot in a range (e.g., the 91 on 9/8) where you have more experience and some data. That said, if you were too tired to stay up to make sure Podo was going to be OK, then skipping makes sense. Safety is always the primary consideration.
 
Re: 9/21 Podo AMPS 334,+7 276,PMPS 310

PMPS 310

Still rather high, so until she gets down to the blues again I'm not giving her the reduction.
 
+5 154

:-D WTG Miss Podo, you earned your decrease in the morning.

I'll even excuse the dose of Dora the Explorer she was playing at 2am. Scratching on closet doors and running around looking for invisible mice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top