9/21 Lu AMPS 281 +7 301 PMPS 227 +2 335

We haven't posted in a long time, because Lu's been doing really well, and still is. I don't want to take the time of moderators, who are busy volunteers helping people who need it.

But I'd like to see Lu in better numbers, though. She seems to like long bounces.

Lu is going on 16 years old, no dental issues, very peppy, good appetite and digestion. She's a very happy, calm cat, and purrs when it's testing time. She's truly a lovely soul.

Lu gets 0.5mg Budesonide every 3rd day, and a Cobalequin tablet every day.
 
Thanks for your message, @Mary & Jude. It's not scary for me, but I'm wondering why Lu isn't settling into better numbers and keeps bouncing.

Regarding strategy w increases:
"Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."

She's at the point where she can get an increase for the PM. I'm conservative with increasing, seeing Lu's long bounces, then drops to green. So I give her a chance to get settled and show me where she's going.

I'm curious about whether she's having a reaction to a food ingredient, for example, as she gets only LC food.
 
Do you give the budesonide AM or PM? It didn't impact Neko, but for some cats it does impact BG's.

I'm wondering why Lu isn't settling into better numbers and keeps bouncing.
Perhaps she's bouncing during those night time cycles when you aren't getting tests. She did get below 50 on it recently. 9/18 your last test was AM+6, no PMPS or later PM test. She started blue AM of 9/19 and immediately bounced. That tells me she either dropped fast or dropped low something in those 18 hours between tests. Last night (based on +10 since there was no PMPS) she had a big drop to +2. Later today, if you get more tests, you'll see if she's bouncing again due to fast drop or drop low.
 
Thanks Wendy! I'm hoping it's because I'm missing Lu's night time activity. And Lu always gets her steroid in the PM.

About the 9/18 test at AM+6, I just must have not entered it, because I always do a PMPS. Hopefully that value is still in the meter from 9/18. But I but haven't been diligent about post-PMPS testing. It would be great if I could get her surfing in blues and greens.
 
Back
Top