Squeaky and KT (GA)
Member Since 2011
Good morning World! Welcome to our home! Last Condo Good golly - it was 9/9, sorry...
DAKOTA
AMPS 466
I think we're fighting a URI so started ab's 3 days ago. We're also fighting high numbers again so he also got an increase 3 days ago...I'm hoping it's still NDW. He's eating well but isn't as active as usual altho' he and Bebo play for about half an hour every night again. All P's in place, he's just not feeling quite right.
QUESTION - Will R insulin counteract a bounce number? I've read greatly differing opinions - 1) insulin won't affect glycogen/bounce numbers and 2) using R will bring the bg down any time given. I have NO idea which to believe. I've got to figure out how to stop this and higher depot insulin didn't seem to do more than just keep him bouncing. He was bouncing so bad when I increased - my thought is to raise his dose and shoot the bounce numbers with R. Since I'm home to test as needed, I can easily watch his numbers. Opinions and info GREATLY appreciated! His ssheet is pretty ugly.
Now for other updates!
I think we've got a sort of handle on Snow's slow moving poo problems - it's not clear but it's moving more regularly. He gets a dose of Laxatone daily and Miralax morning and evening.
Bebo had to have another emergency depo shot 2 days ago - he goes from just a bit of fast breathing to sudden gasping over just a few hours. His bg numbers are staying lower so no idea what caused those high numbers for a few days last month. They're in the low 100's, higher than I'd like to see but with steriod shots monthly, guess I should expect them.
Dad - we had a family gathering to celebrate their 54th wedding anniversary at the nursing home yesterday. Dad was alert and recognized everyone as we showed up and continued well for about an hour. Unfortunately he slipped into a dazed state before most of us left so didn't recognize anyone as we told him goodbye. It was likely the last 'Family' celebration we'll have together. The home he's in right now is considered an 'assisted living' facility altho' they don't truly have their own private rooms - they do more for the residents than a normal assisted living facility but he's very quickly heading toward needing more nursing care. He's happy there, they all do care about their people Mother is now planning to move him to a full nursing home shortly where someone will be able to feed him, be sure he gets daily exercise, etc. Parkinson's stinks!
Johnny - we almost have a REAL dog!!! Well - 'real' for an abused puppy mill baby. He still crouches and spins circles but he runs outside with his tail up, goes in and out by himself and is eating even when I'm still nearby! He's coming to me for petting at least a couple of times daily. HUGE steps! He's getting irritated with Junior (his puppy mill partner) at times and instead of hiding behind him, he goes and lays at the other end of their kennel.
Bug - the puppy handed to us 2.5 months ago. At first she was so young we couldn't figure out what her breed mix was but as she's grown, she's turning into a beautiful...ready?...Italian Grayhound!! She's now about 6 months old and is strong as an ox. Boy can she RUN!
Everyone else is doing well - Kitties Pepper, Lily and MooMoo are sleeping again, Monkey is in his cage again as he's bouncing off the walls and jumping on everyone. Big droolers Chloe, Star and Blue are their usual sweet selves, gone btb too!
We hold close Lisa/Do Lou losing her mother this week to Parkinson's as well as a couple of our members here.
Extra thoughts and prayers for BJM's Mason fighting for his life right now....
BIG HUGS to all that visit today!! YARD DANCE!!!
DAKOTA
AMPS 466
I think we're fighting a URI so started ab's 3 days ago. We're also fighting high numbers again so he also got an increase 3 days ago...I'm hoping it's still NDW. He's eating well but isn't as active as usual altho' he and Bebo play for about half an hour every night again. All P's in place, he's just not feeling quite right.
QUESTION - Will R insulin counteract a bounce number? I've read greatly differing opinions - 1) insulin won't affect glycogen/bounce numbers and 2) using R will bring the bg down any time given. I have NO idea which to believe. I've got to figure out how to stop this and higher depot insulin didn't seem to do more than just keep him bouncing. He was bouncing so bad when I increased - my thought is to raise his dose and shoot the bounce numbers with R. Since I'm home to test as needed, I can easily watch his numbers. Opinions and info GREATLY appreciated! His ssheet is pretty ugly.
Now for other updates!
I think we've got a sort of handle on Snow's slow moving poo problems - it's not clear but it's moving more regularly. He gets a dose of Laxatone daily and Miralax morning and evening.
Bebo had to have another emergency depo shot 2 days ago - he goes from just a bit of fast breathing to sudden gasping over just a few hours. His bg numbers are staying lower so no idea what caused those high numbers for a few days last month. They're in the low 100's, higher than I'd like to see but with steriod shots monthly, guess I should expect them.
Dad - we had a family gathering to celebrate their 54th wedding anniversary at the nursing home yesterday. Dad was alert and recognized everyone as we showed up and continued well for about an hour. Unfortunately he slipped into a dazed state before most of us left so didn't recognize anyone as we told him goodbye. It was likely the last 'Family' celebration we'll have together. The home he's in right now is considered an 'assisted living' facility altho' they don't truly have their own private rooms - they do more for the residents than a normal assisted living facility but he's very quickly heading toward needing more nursing care. He's happy there, they all do care about their people Mother is now planning to move him to a full nursing home shortly where someone will be able to feed him, be sure he gets daily exercise, etc. Parkinson's stinks!
Johnny - we almost have a REAL dog!!! Well - 'real' for an abused puppy mill baby. He still crouches and spins circles but he runs outside with his tail up, goes in and out by himself and is eating even when I'm still nearby! He's coming to me for petting at least a couple of times daily. HUGE steps! He's getting irritated with Junior (his puppy mill partner) at times and instead of hiding behind him, he goes and lays at the other end of their kennel.
Bug - the puppy handed to us 2.5 months ago. At first she was so young we couldn't figure out what her breed mix was but as she's grown, she's turning into a beautiful...ready?...Italian Grayhound!! She's now about 6 months old and is strong as an ox. Boy can she RUN!
Everyone else is doing well - Kitties Pepper, Lily and MooMoo are sleeping again, Monkey is in his cage again as he's bouncing off the walls and jumping on everyone. Big droolers Chloe, Star and Blue are their usual sweet selves, gone btb too!
We hold close Lisa/Do Lou losing her mother this week to Parkinson's as well as a couple of our members here.
Extra thoughts and prayers for BJM's Mason fighting for his life right now....
BIG HUGS to all that visit today!! YARD DANCE!!!