9/20 Obie amps 163, +4 362, +7 321

Status
Not open for further replies.

Obie

Member Since 2014
He was 401 last night pmps on the alphatrak which is around 330 on the Pet Meter. He must have gotten low last night/early this morning.
 
hi james! i suspect you're right - he went somewhere low in the pm cycle, and the 163 this morning was on his way back up. Lot of cats do most of their low numbers at night. No way to know based upon that pmps of 401 last night, but if Obie did it last night, it's reasonable to think he's doing low numbers other nights as well.

Getting a test just before bed will give you a lot of answers!

Hope you're enjoying your saturday!
 
His pmps was 435 Alphatrak.
I am going to try to get one in three hours and one in +9.
Thank you, I hope you are having a good day too.

Does anyone know and tricks to keep his numbers up during the night besides hourly feeding?
 
food keeps BGs up, but you certainly don't have to feed every hour throughout the night. If you don't have a timed feeder, they are worth their weight in gold to a person with a diabetic cat. Did I give you the link to one recent discussion on timed feeders?

I fed punkin at +3 and if he was lowish, again at +4.5, and maybe the little bits if he went below 50 after that. But otherwise he didn't eat at night.
 
+3 after his pmps he was at 280 on the human meter.
He is acting normal and is always hungry.
I think he spends most of his time in the happy zones at night, but goes a bit to low.
Taking it one ear poke at a time. ;-)
 
Good luck with the testing tonight. If at all possible it's best to just use one meter for testing, or we're having to convert all the time to see if that +3 was a drop or not. It is, so looks like Obie will have a good night. It's easier to see trends if the same meter is being used. If nothing else, use the same meter for each cycle if you can.
 
Hi James

Sienne and I are big believers in the +2 test as it will give you an idea if it's likely to be a busy cycle or not. If the +2 is similar to or lower than the preshot, you should expect an active cycle. So, if at night, you can get a +2 and before bed, that would be great. If you are up by +10 or +11, those are also great tests to get but if he's high when you go to sleep, there's no reason to get up just to test.

I agree with Wendy....it is much better to pick one meter and stick with it.
 
I would happily just use one meter if My vet was more accepting of the Human meters.
They for some reason want me to spend 1.08 per strip for a meter where I have to mail off for them instead of 52 cents per strip from walmart for my people meter.
So to shut them up I use 2 meters but only use the pet ones for pre-shot test.
Sad thing is is that I really loved my vets until my cat got diabetes and I found out just how bad their advice was in treating him.
Like test only a few times a day or even just once unless I see him acting funny. So I'm supposed to wait until he is half F'd up before I test him in off times.
The chart in my signature is one of 2 I keep , but I got rid of the link to the other because people here hated me having 2 charts.
He was at 353 on the pet one this morning
 
Hi James
It is so amazing to me that alot of vets don't know how to treat feline diabetes. so weird !!
 
Hi, Back :smile:
What is weirdest is that they seem to think just about everything I'm doing is wrong when it makes more sense than what they tell me.
According to them, Obie should be in the green by now and I must be not doing something right.
He has been heavy for years and a diabetic for a long time before I found out he was i'll, so for him to just snap into a happy place pronto
and stay there with little monitoring seem like a lot to ask of him being acclimated to high numbers.
I think he has been on a constant pattern of Going low at night, rebounding for a day and then repeating the pattern over and over.
Ugh.
 
James

Perhaps consider not consulting them on the diabetes. I would also tell them that unless they would like to furnish the strips, you can't afford them and that the protocol developed using scientific research and published in a Feline Veterinary Journal has a format for using a human glucometer as well as a pet glucometer. You might also mention that if you accidentally run out of strips when you need them the most (and it happens even to the best planner), you can't just run down to Walmart and buy more for an AT.

Remember....they work for you. Not vice versa. :-D
 
so true what Marge said. they do work for you. i know the folks on this board know more than the vets about FD. no reason u have to spend more $$ just to make them happy!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top