9/20 Kitty Cat [AMPS 507, +2 402, +6 348, +10 340] dosing advice for tomorrow?

Christina & Kitty Cat

Member Since 2020
9/19 thread Hello! So many things happened this past week for us. Here's a recap:
  • 9/11-9/13 vomiting, constipation, ketones small
  • 9/14 vet/hospital, started ondansetron + famotidine, "not DKA yet"
  • 9/15 first low number event, high carb & honey to bring up
  • 9/16 reduced from 1u to 0.5u for 2 cycles
  • 9/17 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u for 2 cycles, vomit after new seafood flavor so not as concerned but will stick to poultry and maybe beef
  • 9/18 first day of greens & blues, feeding MC to keep it there
Today:
  • keytones negative since 9/14, vomit free since 9/17, will be out of ondansetron after today but will contact primary vet to hopefully get more tomorrow (hospital that gave first Rx said no)
  • starting TR
  • will finish 6 cycles on 0.5u after today
It seems Kitty Cat is due for an increase in dose, so looking for advice on how much to increase and when.
 
Good morning - well, still morning here anyway. At this point it's a little early to say definitively what will happen by end of day. But if you don't see any blue numbers by tomorrow AM, you would increase to 0.75 units tomorrow morning. The only caveat would be if it looks like he's breaking a bounce tomorrow morning. Bounce breaking cycles can have a lot of downward momentum going, and adding an increase to that can drive the numbers even lower. 9/15 was an example of a bounce breaking cycle, as was the night of the 17th.

How is Kitty Cat today? We have a measure called the 5 P's (playing, preening, purring, peeing, pooing). How's he doing on those? Appetite OK? Great to see he's been so active today.
 
AM+4 353
He's definitely more active today so we ran around the house with treats and he played with a toy for the first time in a long time last night. He hasn't pooped yet today but it's still early for him. Other than that, he seems good on the P's! Appetite seems good in that he seems hungry and eats when it's time for main meals and snacks, but he always leaves a ~1-2tsp leftover. I'm still trying to figure out how to space these meals though so maybe I'm just giving too much.

edit: I realize I've actually been giving him more treats lately since he's been more active so maybe that's filling him up too much
 
Last edited:
AM+6 348
AM+8 372
AM+10 340

But if you don't see any blue numbers by tomorrow AM, you would increase to 0.75 units tomorrow morning. The only caveat would be if it looks like he's breaking a bounce tomorrow morning. Bounce breaking cycles can have a lot of downward momentum going, and adding an increase to that can drive the numbers even lower.

Thank you Wendy! We've had a pink kind of day so far but will wait and see how the PM and PM+2 come out.
 
Is that a tiny weight gain I see today? :)
I hope so! But I don't think it means much. He was 7.5 a few days ago as well. Paws crossed it consistently goes up from here.

I got another ketone test today but I had already taken one a few hrs ago. Should I be doing it once a cycle? once a day?
 
I think you are good for today, negative test is great! If he gets into reds/blacks I would try for 2 a day, otherwise 1 OK. You can slow this down as we put some distance from the small ketones, and as his eating/lethargy improves.
 
PMPS 381. Last test of the day is PM+2.
9/17 looks like a similar day but then he was in the green the next morning. Even if this happens again, I'm still set to shoot 0.75u since today was all 300+?
 
Back
Top