? 9/20 Henri; PMPS 121, +1 141, +2 109, 76@2.5, +3 62 Dose reduction?

Katie_Waz

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-1-147-2-103-3-70-71-3-5-4-83-106-4-5.235558/

I was so tired and she ate so much for breakfast that I think she dropped pretty fast. she went from 305-79 in 3.5 hours. My husband was doing the testing to give me a break and he's supposed to wake me if she's near 100 but he didn't :(
Should I be worried about this sharp drop or her visit to the pink? Is this a bounce?

I'm also worried that bc I have to use food to keep her numbers up that when I have to work my full day on Tuesday and my husband will be home to keep an eye on her, that she won't be OK :( I'm out of the house from 8:30 am-6:30 pm.
 
We will figure out a plan before Tuesday. You are testing more than necessary at night and not sleeping. As I mentioned before it’s not sustainable over time. I’m sure you are more than exhausted.
 
We will figure out a plan before Tuesday. You are testing more than necessary at night and not sleeping. As I mentioned before it’s not sustainable over time. I’m sure you are more than exhausted.

Yeah.. I know. I'm bummed. I hope I didn't make it worse.
On the positive side, I'm well rested now...I got a full 4 hours sleep.

Is there anything I should be concerned with or look out for? She got into the pink this morning all on her own :/

I set up the automatic feeder so I'm going to try to teach her today and tomorrow that it means food
 
The auto feeder will get you sleep. Look at how Susanne uses it for Jax. She documents everything on her ss.
Big drops aren’t uncommon. It can cause a bounce. Henri clears bounces quickly. You want to figure out how to keep her in blues and greens so you can sleep and so you can work. She’s doing really well. We need to figure out soon how you can feel well too.
 
The auto feeder will get you sleep. Look at how Susanne uses it for Jax. She documents everything on her ss.
Big drops aren’t uncommon. It can cause a bounce. Henri clears bounces quickly. You want to figure out how to keep her in blues and greens so you can sleep and so you can work. She’s doing really well. We need to figure out soon how you can feel well too.

Thanks! I also have to figure out how much food she's eating during the day with her automatic feeder which gets tricky being it's all on 1 tray and makes it harder to weigh. I guess it's OK if I'm not as exact to the gram as I have been. I started doing that bc of the hepatic lipidosis. She ate a few bites out of her feeder so she knows it's there. Now I have to teach her about the sound and associating it with food lol

I just tested her and she +5.5 77 Is that and OK number since we're around her nadir? I feel like her nadir had ranged anywhere from +4-+8 lol but lately I think it has been earlier. Is it normal for the nadir to shift?
 
I would not put it all on one tray. I would spread it out every couple of hours.
It’s normal for the nadir to shift. She’s a cat. Unpredictable beasts. often if an active cycle tge nadir will be earlier. Some nadir at the end of the cycle or do a double dip. Again Jax is a perfect example. I’d feed a little and get a test in 30.

Have you weighed her recently?
 
I
I would not put it all on one tray. I would spread it out every couple of hours.
It’s normal for the nadir to shift. She’s a cat. Unpredictable beasts. often if an active cycle tge nadir will be earlier. Some nadir at the end of the cycle or do a double dip. Again Jax is a perfect example. I’d feed a little and get a test in 30.

Have you weighed her recently?
Weighed her a couple days ago. She lost .2 so shes an even 14 now

I'm going to check out jax again. I think you put the link in another thread of mine
 
definitely....otherwise we'll have a hepatic lipidosis situation on her hand...which she already had and I won't know if it's resolved until she gets that abdominal ultrasound done again.
The vet told me if she eats 180 calories a day that it's enough to help her lose weight slowly without progressing hepatic lipidosis. She said on 180 calories daily that the hepatic lipidosis would resolve itself.
When she first came home I was giving her as much food as she wanted every couple hours bc she wasn't eating great. After a couple weeks I realized she was now eating more than the vet recommended so ive been watching the calories more closely with her. Now she gets anywhere from 160-200 calories in every day.
 
OK, so she last ate at +5 82 and its 2.5 hours later and she is staying between 77 & 72 which I think is OK bc of meter variance and this should be without the influence of food bc of the time lapse? I'll keep testing bc of im a nervous momma here but if there's anything else anyone thinks I should or should not be doing please let me know
 
+3 62 numbers are getting low. I'm feeding a little and keeping an eye but these numbers make me a little nervous
 
Can anyone look at my girls SS and tell me if it would be OK to reduce her dose to .5? I've spent the past 3 cycles using food to keep her numbers bc they have been dropping so low early in the cycle. I'm terrified on Tuesday when I have to work a full day that she will get hypo and I won't be around to help her. She's has had really good numbers lately and I'm wondering if we reduce the dose if she will be OK and still be on the road to recovery. I feel like my constant testing is what has been keeping her from going hypo and that kind of testing and attention I give her is just not doable On days where I work my full day 8:30 am-6:30 pm

I should note that my husband does work from home but he is often very busy and can't necessarily check in on her every 30 min if it needs. I'm lucky if I can get him to test her every 1-2 hours. Do you think that's sufficient? I may possibly be able to pop in on her and check her around 10:30/11 am but that's about it
 
Last edited:
How's she doing with the auto-feeder?

She's doing so great I'd hate for you to decrease until she really earns the reduction. Yes, it's nerve-wracking, but this great numbers on such a small dose bode well for a possible remission (and then your life would be a LOT less stressful!)
 
Shes not interested in the feeder. She sticks her nose in, takes a lick and its back out again. I think the cups ate too deep and it bothers her whiskers :-/

I'm worried bc like tonight she got down to 62 at +3. I won't be around for +1.5-+11.5

I can put a big plate of food out for her but there's no guarantee she'll eat it :-/

I guess I'm nervous...is there reason too?

Can I ask what earns me a dose doing TR other than going below 50?

I think i read she needs to be between 50-100 for a week?
 
Back
Top