9/20 Chester's pmps+239,+5=91,+5.5=66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
Chester earned his reduction last night...again! So today I'm going to work in fear, both for him and for my diabetic dog, Robbie, who has a cyst over his eye that started bleeding last night. I'm taking him to his grandma's today because our petsitter is out of town. He'll probably bleed all over her sofa and she, being 85, won't know what to do (not much you can do). Hoping to get him to the vet tonight, but that will screw up Chester's time schedule for insulin.

Question: If I set Chester's auto feeder for +3 and again at his normal feeding time tonight (because of the vet I may be late) what do I do about insulin?
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 227 & QUESTION

If you shoot, say an hour late tonight, you will have to shoot an hour late (12 hours after the last shot) tomorrow morning.
Is that doable for you, with your schedule?
A late shot is like a dose decrease. An early shot is like a dose increase.
There are ways to slowly (depending on the numbers) get back to normal schedule, but with Chester I would get advise from more experienced people before giving him an early shot.

Congratulations on the dosecrease :-D
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 227 & QUESTION

Sorry about all you have going on with Robbie....I hope he is ok.
How late past shot time do you think you will be home?

Just saw Dyana's post. She gave you good info.
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 227 & QUESTION

That's the trouble...I have no clue! Depends on so many things, including if I can even get in at the vets. And there's no way I can do an hour late tomorrow (unless my husband takes off work to do it...fat chance of that ;-) )

DANG! (And I really meant something stronger :-D ) This is going to have to be just one of those "real life" situations where I'll have to play it by ear and see what happens. There is no good solution.

Thanks for the input!
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 227 & QUESTION

If it were me and my cat, I would take J.D. to the vet with me, so I could give him his shot on time. That's just one choice.
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 227 & QUESTION

You can shoot an hour late and then slowly bring up the shot time back to your usual time. I've had to do this a few times and Tray was okay with it. But the experts here will be better able to advise. Good luck and I hope Robbie will be okay
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 227 & QUESTION

I like Dyana's idea but it will also depend if you can feed Chester in the carrier.

I wouldn't set the feeder for your "regular" pre-shot food time. Depending on when you get home, your pre-shot test may reflect a food spike. IMHO, it would be better to feed and shoot at the same time.

Is DH able to get home at a predictable time to take care of Chester tonight?
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 227 & QUESTION

I guess it all depends on if the vet can see you tonight and what time that will be. I would try to go home to deal with Chester and his insulin and then go to the vet office. It's hard to know your options ...you will just have to keep in mind that 12/12 is the best thing for Chester.
We sometimes do a fur shot by mistake, which would throw his numbers out of kilter but instead of shooting hours late and messing the shot time up, you can just skip the shot which is totally not the best thing to do. But rather than shooting hours late, that might be something you can consider doing.
How about if you find out some more information and then come back and discuss it. If you find out what time your vet appointment will be that would help. Can you shoot home first to shoot Chester on time and then go to pick up your doggie?
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 227 & QUESTION

Whew... My vet can get us in at 6:30 p.m. which means I can pick up Robbie from my mother-in-law, get him home, feed both he and Chester on time, then go to the vet (it's 30 minutes from my house in the opposite direction of my in-laws, of course...nothing is easy). But this was the best possible solution! Yay!
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 227 & QUESTION

Good!! Then you can take "Question" out of your header, right?
Still a busy evening for the Mama....good luck with everything , Jaye.
Hope your Robbie will be okay....
(better figure in the time to clean the blood off that couch too!) :lol:
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 227,+11=167

This is weird. I reduced Chester's dose again because of last night's 64 to 1.5 units. This morning I was pretty nervous to leave for work because he's been dropping so low and I wouldn't be around. I left the autofeeder with some LC at around +3 and some HC gravy at around +4. I was suspected that we would be VERY high tonight, number's wise. Came home to see both feeders open (he was confined by himself today) with only part of the LC and virtually none of the HC gravy eaten (he usually laps it up).

He tested at a 167. I'm starting to get pretty proud of my boy! I think the higher pmps (239) might reflect the fact that when I got home he was at the autofeeder smacking his little furry lips, so he definitely had food with the two hours pre-dinnertime.

I'm off in an hour to take Robbie to the vet for his bleeding cyst (which, thank goodness, did NOT bleed all over the in-law's couch today). He'll probably end up having to wear the "cone of shame" for awhile.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top