9/2 Skunky PMPS 78, +1 50 +3.75, 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skunky's Mom

Member Since 2014
Last night was after reduction to .75

Big chicken shot this morning of .25. I didn't feel like I had any choice today after having to stay home all day yesterday, busy day, can come home to test but can't stay home. I work from home Fridays so I can bring it back up tonight.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM+6, 60, +8, 72 AMPS 67 -BCS

+4 of 73, I wasn't expecting it that low after a +2 of 93 or so (i didn't write it down and don't remember exactly)

I hope I didn't make a terrible mistake. I hope this doesn't set us back too much. So far, looking good.

I'll be asking for some advice later tonight for sure! Once I see some more numbers.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM+6, 60, +8, 72 AMPS 67 -BCS +4, 73

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?t=124671

Don't forget to add the link to the prior days condo so we can quickly go back and catch up with what's going on :-D

I think you did the best thing you could considering the circumstances and Skunky is doing fine so far! It won't help him much if you lose your job due to not showing up, so doing the BCS this morning was a great idea

If his numbers start to go back up, at least you've drained the depot a little so he's less likely to have another day like yesterday! I mean he didn't drop too low, but I know you wouldn't have felt right leaving him (and neither would any of us!)

Looking great so far though, so lets see where he's at later on at PMPS time
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM+6, 60, +8, 72 AMPS 67 -BCS +4, 73

Wow, this after a reduction and a BCS? I think Skunky is looking great. You definitely made the right choice this morning. I think he's on a mission. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM+6, 60, +8, 72 AMPS 67 -BCS +4, 73

Thanks y'all! Ok, I feel better about the BCS because I was worried it was gonna screw everything up!

I'm hoping to get home in time to get a +8 or so. If not, it will be more like a +9, and then I'll be on here wondering what to give her!

It was 1u that gave us all those greens. .75 last night. I'm thinking go back to the .75 . . .
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM+6, 60, +8, 72 AMPS 67 -BCS +4, 73

yes, typically when you've dropped the dose before they'v gone below 50, like you weren't going to be home or the cat wasn't eating, you return to the regular dose as soon as it is safe to do so. If you can handle going back to the regular dose, I'd actually use the 0.75u as her regular dose. From yesterday's condo, it appeared to me that she would've gone below 50 if you hadn't intervened with food.

When a cat's spreadsheet goes all green like this, she's on her way to OTJ. Your job is to take the lead from her and just keep her safe while it's happening. It's possible the 0.75u will be too much and she'll go low tonight - there's no way for us to predict. Cats each have their own way of doing it.

Let's see how she is at pmps. If you have any doubts about what you should do, get a +11 or +11.5 and post the number and ask for help before you shoot.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM+6, 60, +8, 72 AMPS 67 -BCS +4, 73

Thank you Julie!

I'm glad tomorrow is Friday! It's a busy day but I work from home so, that makes it easier, and unless her PMPS is super low I'm feeling pretty good about the .75u.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM+6, 60,AMPS 67 BCS, +4, 73 + 10, 71

+10 was 70. Or 73. I did two tests one after the other, on the same drop of blood, and those were my results. SO i put 71 on my spreadsheet

Wow. Just wow.

I'm planning to go back to the reduced dose of .75 tonight. . . not expecting much sleep!
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78 - after BCS! Return to full dose?

Well, her PMPS was 78. She hasn't eaten in a while - at least two hours and possibly a bit longer!
So that could be why it is so low.

I'm willing to return to last night's dose (reduced from yesterday) of .75 if y'all think I should.

anyone?
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78 - after BCS! Return to full dose?

aaackkkkk. taps fingers.

i'm torn. some cats go OTJ without wasting any time.

I could make a case for giving 0.75. I could also look at the 0.25u this morning and wonder if she could keep her numbers down with 0.25u . . . i could make a case for that too. maybe you could just give the 0.25u.

Really, i think the choice is up to you. If it's not enough, sometimes it can take a while to recover and get back on track. But, i kinda think it looks like it might be ok to give the 0.25u. following by the book, you'd go back to 0.75u. but cats don't usually read our manuals. ;-)

no matter what choice you make, you've gotta monitor - so i don't think that part's going to change.

what direction do you want to go?
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78 - after BCS! Return to full dose?

you know - she just isn't very long since the 1.0u. she could definitely still be getting help from the depot of the prior 1.0u dose.

i think i'd give 0.5u or 0.75u so you don't lose this great momentum.

but the choice is yours.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78 - after BCS! Return to full dose?

Thanks Julie.

Ackk is right!
I definitely do not want to lose momentum that is for sure.
so the choice is between .5 and .75.

I've got 10 minutes to decide :o
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78 - after BCS! Return to full dose?

i was hoping someone else would chime in. the trouble is, none of us has a crystal ball and in this phase, it can be very hard to predict anything.

sorry that's not much help.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78 - after BCS! Return to full dose?

of course you're lots of help Julie!

Ok, i'm gonna do it. .75.

if i have to stay up all night, i can do some work. . . @-)
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78 - after BCS! Return to full dose?

way to bite the bullet! i hope you're not fighting low numbers all evening. i'd get a +1 and +2 for certain and see how it goes from there. maybe skunky will just surf all night. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78 - after BCS! Return to full dose?

"Shoot low to stay low" - isn't that what they say?

Wow! Sending safe surfing vines for Skunky. I'll be watching with interest tonight!! Good luck! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78 - after BCS! Return to full dose?

Thanks y'all.

I sort of wish I hadn't done that, and went with the .5. Oh well, it's done :?

+1 was 78, exactly the same as the preshot.

My biggest concern is sleeping through my alarm. I did that last night at +4.
I'd better set two for each time I have to wake up, 10 minutes or so apart. and turn it up loud!

I may stay up long enough to get a +2, or just wake up and do it. Then I figured, +4, +6, and then see from there. Of course if +4 is super low, it will be different.

Gotta go look over my canned food stash and decide what to give her before I go to bed.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78, +1 50. OH MY GOD

Oh God. I made a terrible mistake. +1 was 52. So I did another test and it was 48.

It's time to break out the high carb. How much? Now what?

FREAK OUT
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78, +1 50. OH MY GOD

Well, I know what to do, I guess. I've read it all. I'll probably read it again. I went ahead and gave 1 1/2 spoons of the highest carb I have 21%. even threw out a few sprinkles of dry food. she's not interested. it's old, stale, dollar general brand. she's like - um, excuse me?
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78, +1 50. OH MY GOD

How are you doing? I guess Skunky told you what she thought of .75U. :roll:

You could try adding a drop or two of karo onto her food. Neko will like karo from my finger. It's kind of early in the cycle so time to get her UP!
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78, +1 50. OH MY GOD

I just tested her again, and she was 53. I gave some more high carb food. she likes it.

i'm tempted to go and buy some better dry. i'm scared of what is to come.

I guess i test again in half an hour.

thank you for responding!
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78, +1 50. OH MY GOD

Dry food can take longer to impact the numbers. If you want her higher NOW, then karo or the HC gravy is the way to go.

We had one member who used to feed her kitty maple syrup on bacon. Yumm!
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 78, +1 50. OH MY GOD

Wo hoo! I just tested and she's 66, at just under +4.

I feel better. I know I can't get complacent though.
 
+4.5 is 63, food must be wearing off. fed a bit more high carb food (friskies tasty treasures ) and ran out and bought some crunchy treats for long-lasting effect. feeling better (me, I mean. she's happy as a clam, with yummy food and lots of attention. purring up a storm). I'm going to take a nap on the love seat for an hour. I figure - less chance of sleeping through my alarm here than in my cozy bed.

I'm hoping once we past +6 I can sleep for real. . . nailbite_smile
 
Don't forget, you need two rising numbers above 60 without food influence before you can relax. Since she was still above 60 at 4.5, (although falling) and you fed her, I'd recommend testing at +5 BEFORE giving her any food. If she's above 63, don't feed and test in 30. If she's still going up, you only have one more test to do ( still no food), and you can call it quits if she's still going up. At that point, you can give her food if you want, as a reward.
 
Thanks Tricia, I must have gone all zombie before I read this.

Without food influence? Oops. I was pumping that stuff all night long!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top