9/2 Mitsu 164 +11 | 206 AMPS | 199 +1

RCB & Mitsu

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

PMPS yesterday was so high, 437 so I kept with the same 2 units. She also ate all Koha food again. She dropped fast, about 100 per hour but settled in the 100s and has stayed there throughout the night.

What do I do now? Her am shot would typically be in an hour. What dose should I give her? She's still all over the place.
 
The higher numbers you saw yesterday was what we refer to as bouncing.

Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low.

A bounce can take up to 6 cycles to clear. Once a cat starts getting used to lower numbers the bouncing reduces and eventually stops. Dosing is based on how low it takes the cat, not on pre-shots or highs.
 
When did she last eat? Which are the days she is being boarded?

Fed her 10 minutes ago, she's currently at 193. Shot will be in 20ish minutes. She eats about 2/3 and will come back for the rest in an hour or so.

I remember you or another member told me to not feed within 2 hours of shot, but with upcoming boarding that's not an option. I will be dropping her of tomorrow afternoon.
 
Fed her 10 minutes ago, she's currently at 193. Shot will be in 20ish minutes. She eats about 2/3 and will come back for the rest in an hour or so.

I remember you or another member told me to not feed within 2 hours of shot, but with upcoming boarding that's not an option. I will be dropping her of tomorrow afternoon.
I suggest you reduce her to 1U from this morning. She was seeing numbers below 100 at 2U with higher carb food. If she will not eat when boarded or eat only Koha (ignore the dry), you want her to be safe.

We usually suggest a lower "vacation" dose when the CG is traveling and the cat cannot be monitored as carefully by the person giving the insulin on behalf of the CG.
 
Does she prefer the Koha wet to the RC dry? What will they feed her when she is boarded?

They will feed her whatever I bring, but I expect Mitsu is more likely to eat the wet on schedule.

I'm trying to avoid the RC because although the vet told me it was 16% carbs, when I calculate myself it's actually 45%. So even feeding half and half she would still be at 22% carbs. But I have lots of it so I can feed that too if it's best.
 
They will feed her whatever I bring, but I expect Mitsu is more likely to eat the wet on schedule.

I'm trying to avoid the RC because although the vet told me it was 16% carbs, when I calculate myself it's actually 45%. So even feeding half and half she would still be at 22% carbs. But I have lots of it so I can feed that too if it's best.
The problem will be if she ignores the RC and eats only the Koha. Which is why the lower dose. If you leave only the RC and she doesn't care for it (does she like it?), will she not eat at all? I don't mean to scare you. Just evaluating all the options.

Anyway, we have lowered the dose today and can lower it further when she is boarded, if necessary!
 
The problem will be if she ignores the RC and eats only the Koha. Which is why the lower dose. If you leave only the RC and she doesn't care for it (does she like it?), will she not eat at all? I don't mean to scare you. Just evaluating all the options.

Anyway, we have lowered the dose today and can lower it further when she is boarded, if necessary!

She likes the RC, and would eat it under normal circumstances. Generally animals get stressed and stop eating when boarding. It's recommended to feed wet or something special, toppers or mixins to get them excited about eating. Some pets are fine and love boarding and eat their normal meals. Some don't. I have no idea how it will be for Mitsu. With her allergies, there's really nothing special I can add to her food, so I think the wet is the best option to keep her eating.
 
Back
Top