9/2 Meathead - AMPS 333 PMBG 88 +4 378

daeseage

Member Since 2025
Last thread: 7/8/25

First, the good news: Mr. Meathead is currently getting double-digit nadirs for the first time since he was diagnosed in June and is currently getting 0.75 units of insulin, down from 2 units a couple weeks ago. I'm trying to figure out where he will hold steady without skipping a shot as we get used to a drastically different diet.

In the not-so-good news, Meat's had a rough couple of weeks. He spent a few days in hospital following an unsuccessful endoscopy to remove what appeared on ultrasound to be a small piece of wire causing a blockage at the pylorus. This of course happened while our entire family was on vacation out of state, although the pet sitter was great about letting me know there was something wrong and some extended family were great about stepping in to transport to the emergency vet. Due to the blockage, the little guy had developed pancreatitis, was starting to get some ketones, and then he aspirated under anesthesia. He managed to pull through the weekend until we could get home on what we expected to be palliative care, and by some miracle he's still here and on the mend a week after discharge. My takeaway at the moment is that I should never, ever leave town again.

Due to the irritation to the esophagus he's having a hard time with solid foods or anything chunky, which has limited what I can find locally for novel proteins. I'm still avoiding chicken (including egg) beef, and salmon unless hydrolyzed. I found a couple single-protein turkey and duck pates and he seems to be doing OK on the Weruva tuna lovers as long as I scan for larger chunks and mash it up really well. I got a lick mat to slow him down and prevent regurgitation, and while he's not thrilled about the effort, he does like that we'll let him have as much food as he wants pretty much any time he looks peckish. Our other cat is incredibly jealous of all the attention and wet food!
 
Last thread: 7/8/25

First, the good news: Mr. Meathead is currently getting double-digit nadirs for the first time since he was diagnosed in June and is currently getting 0.75 units of insulin, down from 2 units a couple weeks ago. I'm trying to figure out where he will hold steady without skipping a shot as we get used to a drastically different diet.

In the not-so-good news, Meat's had a rough couple of weeks. He spent a few days in hospital following an unsuccessful endoscopy to remove what appeared on ultrasound to be a small piece of wire causing a blockage at the pylorus. This of course happened while our entire family was on vacation out of state, although the pet sitter was great about letting me know there was something wrong and some extended family were great about stepping in to transport to the emergency vet. Due to the blockage, the little guy had developed pancreatitis, was starting to get some ketones, and then he aspirated under anesthesia. He managed to pull through the weekend until we could get home on what we expected to be palliative care, and by some miracle he's still here and on the mend a week after discharge. My takeaway at the moment is that I should never, ever leave town again.

Due to the irritation to the esophagus he's having a hard time with solid foods or anything chunky, which has limited what I can find locally for novel proteins. I'm still avoiding chicken (including egg) beef, and salmon unless hydrolyzed. I found a couple single-protein turkey and duck pates and he seems to be doing OK on the Weruva tuna lovers as long as I scan for larger chunks and mash it up really well. I got a lick mat to slow him down and prevent regurgitation, and while he's not thrilled about the effort, he does like that we'll let him have as much food as he wants pretty much any time he looks peckish. Our other cat is incredibly jealous of all the attention and wet food!
Oh what a story. I’m so sorry he went through such a difficult situation. But so glad he’s doing much better 💞
Maybe you could blend up the food in a food processor so it’s like a soupy consistency (add a little water??)
Maybe that would be easier to consume?
Sending healing vines to your boy 🍀🍃🍀🍀🍃🍃💞💞
 
Oh no, poor Meathead! I hope he continues to recover. My kitty likes to "punish" us for going away. Last big trips were pancreatitis and UTI. :rolleyes:

Some novel protein pate's I've tried (I also avoid beef and fish) are from Identity and Rawz. Both have turkey and rabbit options. Identity also has lamb and pork. I tried Koha too, but they have green lipped mussels in them and kitty didn't like them. Hounds & Gatos also has some pate novel proteins. I add water to the pate to make it even creamier and easy to eat.
 
Back
Top