9/2 Checkers pmps349

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=103489

Good Monday Morning LL

Checkers is feeling wonderful this morning. Eating FF breffis, like a little piggy, had his tap with a bit of tuna to push it down, as he's wise to the cheese trick and now I have to "pop' it manually in his throat. *sigh*

I'll give him his sub-qs in a while. He had his tub drinks, but is not frantic about it, as he was on Sat night.
I hope this is just bouncing from the 31, and I didn't make a mistake decreasing last night. from fat to skinny .5.

May I tell this story again, now that I'm calm? :smile:

What happened was, he didn't feel well on Sat morn....it's in my condo. I thought it was 'just' pain because of the weather/barametric pressure. I gave bupe for the pain.

When he tried to drink, he hovered over it. It was like he couldn't open his mouth!

He 'couldn't' eat...hovering over his food. I even offered kibble..he smelled it, but wouldn't touch it. I thought it was his senses, like he couldn't see or smell. I was grasping at any explanation.
I had no idea, these are signs of nausea.

This was all after vet clinic was closed.
He had eaten and drunk very little by PM shot time. It was nice blue.....I saw no reason not to shoot, after all, he often eats after his shot. I wasn't worried.
Trouble is, I didn't realize until too late, that he wasn't drinking either. He was going into what I am going to call "kidney crisis"....maybe wrong term, but don't know what else to call it.
But I didn't know that.

By late at night, he still wasn't eating and numbers started dropping.....to 31. I couldn't stop it with food...woudln't eat.
So I syringed sweetened watered down gravy, for hours, not knowing how many carbs I was giving in this liquid. Didn't care.

By the time I could have gotten him to ER, at least another hour would have gone by.
Luckily, he eagerly took syringes....he was thirsty.

he hadn't had water all day, and I didn't realize the danger of dehydration to his kidneys.

Next morning I called Susan to come bring fluids for sub-q. He had eaten a bit and had a little water by then.

By morning, he reeked of stale, barnyard urine. Just the day before, he smelled pretty, from the semi-bath, he'd had last week.
I didn't associate that with the medical emerg.
Susan walked into the room and immediately pronounced, the smell was from his kidneys. She also sat next to him and said it was coming from his breath also. She worked at a vet clinic and recognized the smell...I didn't.

She gave fluids, which he purred through :smile: . She thought he was nauseated, but I don't have med for nausea on hand, so I gave him a fourth of a Pepcid AC.

I swear, it wasn't a full hour, before he started drinking water...in the tub, of course, and eating tentatively.
The rest of the day, he ate small amounts, and drank normally. I have water bowls in every room so he stopped for a drink, when passing one.

I can't get over how quicky a cat's kidneys can deteriorate from lack of water, and how quickly the cat feels better with sub q fluids.
And just as quickly, the horrid urine smell went away!!

I'm sorry this is so long, but normally I try to make a story concise, and leave out important things; like the difference between *barnyard* urine smell, and *ammonia* urine smell.
I know I still forgot a lot of important details.

Heyyyy, wake up!! :lol:
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 very long.

I'm so glad Checkers is feeling wonderful and eating like a piggy :-D :YMHUG: .

Are you still going to talk to the vet? I was wondering if you should try to get some Ondansetron for nausea just to have on hand.
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 very long.(not bad)

Hi Barb,
We are so relieved that Checkers is feeling so much better today. You are so lucky that Susan recognized his problem and was able to act on it.
Have a fine day and give your boy extra scritches from us,

Hugs to you,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 very long.(not bad)

Tears of joy....I am SO happy to see this report! Keep eating, drinking, and feeling good, little man. It wouldn't hurt to turn those numbers around, but feeling good is top priority.
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 very long.(not bad)

Woohoo!!! What a great report on your guy! :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D Thank you for the details. It will help another cat someday, that others know what to look for or to recognize symptoms. And HOORAY for Susan! She's a hero! :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 very long.(not bad)

Dyana, I am definitely going to get nausea relief for Checks and tell Dr Dave what happened. Clinic isn't open today, except for emergencies, of course.
Thank you for good thoughts and wishes, Sienne, Amy, and Ella.

Li'l piggy just ate breffis 3. Making up for all yesterdays food. Today he loves Fancy Feast. :-D
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 very long.(not bad)

oh my what a scare you had there! I'm glad that Checkers is feeling better and that the sub q's worked so well for him. I hope he continues to feel better too.
Thoughts and prayers!
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394 very long

Relieved that Checkers is doing much better today....
Continued prayers and feel good vines with scritches.
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394 very long

Best wishes to you and Checkers! I hope the sub-qs get him over the hump of not feeling well, and back into health.
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394 very long

Hi Barb. So happy to hear that Checkers is doing much better today. I thought you did a good job of explaining sequence of events from yesterday. I think it helps us beans relieve some of the stress from the situation when we can write about it in the condo. It also helps the rest of us to learn about symptoms and what they can mean. Thank you for that.

Sending Checkers lots of stay well vines and keeping our fingers crossed for a good Dr. Dave report tomorrow.

Have a great day Barb.
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394 very long

My civvie Holleigh-berri also developed a really foul pee-smell. At the time, I did not know she was in kidney failure, and had never dealt with any CKD kitties. The vet took one whiff and said "She's uremic" and needed treatment ASAP, which of course I took care of. I had just lost Donovan the week before, so my head was understandably not in a good place.

Prayers and vines for Checks.

MJ
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394 very long

I am so happy that Checkers is feeing better today and closer to normal. Thank you for sharing this, Barbara. It has a lot of good information I was not aware of.

I hope you and Checkers have a wonderful Monday afternoon!

Jane
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394+7/317

I'm so glad Checkers is feeling good this morning. I hope everything goes well with Dr. Dave. Sending prayers to you and Checkers.
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394+7/317

Barb, this is so scary. I'm so happy that Checkers is doing better. and thank you for all the details...you just never know when they will be handy dandy and potentially save a kitty life. ((hugs)) to you and **scritches** to Checkers!
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394+7/317

A big Thank You to Devon, for making me write the story. Susan contacted her via FB.
I don't like to be a Debbie Downer with my problems, so usually tell only the basics of how Checkers is doing.

She explained, that people can't help me/him, if I don't tell everything, and stop thinking people don't want to hear it!
Sometimes a detail left out, is a clue to what is wrong.
Not to mention, that just knowing people care, is good for the mamabean's mental health. :-D

So blame Devon, for that long story. :lol:
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394+7/317

I'm going to thank Devon instead (Thank you, Devon!) :-D

Don't forget we're family here, Barb. We're really good listeners and make an excellent support team here in LL.

We are all in this together. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
And that alone is pretty amazing!

Hugs to you and scritches to Checkers!
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394+7/317

Yeah - what Josie said! Between love and support, and technical knowledge, LL is the most amazing place ever. We are all here for eachother, no matter what!!!
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394+7/317

(((Barb)))
I am SO happy Checkers is feeling better!!!
And thank you for telling us full details of Checkers' terrible night.
Of course we'd like to know in details.
And I think we can learn from each other's story too!

You make me feel like I'm such a downer, Barb. :lol:
Every time Lucy seems off, vomits, has diarrhea, I sort of "whine" in her condo. (I'm soo wooorrrieeedd..... soooo saaaad....)
(I'm actually a little bit embarrassed about it now :oops: )
But I always receive great advice and lots of vines, and I feel much better and less scared afterwards.

Sending tons of vines to Checkers and hugs to you!
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394+7/317

LOL Mariko, I've done so much whining and crying, over the last 3 years, I think people roll their eyes, when I start again. :roll:


I want to know how everybody's cats are doing, especially when they're sick. We feel so helpless when our babies are sick,
and need support from others who know how we feel.
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394+7/317

chiming in w/ thanks for the good write up and so happy that Checks is doing so much better. I didn't know about the smell and kidney failure either. Great piece of info., just sorry about how you had to find out. Sorry that i wasn't around this weekend for support. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/2 Checkers amps 415 +2/432 +4/394+7/317 +10/325

:YMHUG: Barb, I am SO happy that checkers is feeling so much better for you!! I know how scared you were for him and I'm so thankful Susan was able to get there and recognize the symptoms and get him treated ..

The "long" story was needed .. like someone else said, checkers symptoms that YOU described could possibly let another person know right away what might be wrong with their kitty .. You could possibly save another kitty by telling about checkers experience and symptoms ..

Give that handsome little boy a scritch from us!!
 
Thank you Everybody who gave us support and good wishes for Checks :-D

He ate nicely today, and spent a good amount of time, getting his little head wet, under the tub faucet.

My first attempts at sub q fluids didn't go well, despite watching Marje and Mike's video twice.

Little bugger kept taking off. After the fourth time he took off, I called his Auntie Susie, and she came and showed me how again. The meanie made me do it myself. Waaahh!

Numbers are not pretty tonight, but mama can get some sleep. :smile:
 
I hope you get a good sleep and also wake up to some nice numbers.

You and Checkers will get the hang of fluids.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top