9/2 Buster AMBG 215, +5 306, PMPS 449

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
Not feeling confident enough to shoot at this low number. He just goes down but not back up....enough. At least when he was at .5 he could get into the greens. Patience..patience...
 
Re: Buster AMPS 215

Patience indeed, it takes time to get used to shooting low, and your no shoot number will get lower with time. No dosing advice from me, skipping doses also has consequenece so you may want to ask the experts here to help you figure out a plan that will work for you and for Buster to not miss doses. One more suggestion, edit your original post to put todays date 9/2 before Buster's name in the subject. You may have noticed that is the norm for this board, many of the folks who read the board rely on that date to find and reply to the latest posts. If the date is not the first thing in the subject, many folks may not even see your condo. Hope you and Buster have a great day!
 
Re: 9/2 Buster AMPS 215

Tara,

There is no need to turn red! Better safe than sorry.

I think what would help you most at this point is to do a 12 hour curve when you have a day that you can stay close to home (or through the night when you know you can hang out at home and nap all day the next day.) This data on your SS will help the dosing experts here with giving you advice.

I know how very hard it is to get all these tests in the day and night. Do the best you can, but remember that is it very hard for the dosing board members to advise you without the data. That is why they push so hard to get you to test more.

If you can't do the curve, could you do a mini-curve -- tests every 3 hours instead of every 2? If not, try to get a before bed test and a test when you wake up in the morning before the shot time in addition to one in the middle of the cycle at night and in the day, if possible. You are welcome to look at my spreadsheet to see how I do it, but keep in mind that my cat's nadir is at about +3 to +4.5 -- that is why I stop testing so early in the cycle. You don't yet know when yours is. It could be closer to +6 or a little beyond.

While it is true that you need to get to the point of shooting every twelve hours, when it is safe to do so, asap, please don't be embarrassed when you don't feel confident in shooting. That's normal, and you will get there soon enough. (If your cat has ketones you have to be more brave, by the way. You have the sticks right?)

See this in the meantime:

Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?

A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value. Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise. In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine. Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.

Keep in mind that these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's reactions to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then your experience should be your guide.

Lantus and Levemir users: Because Lantus and Levemir are gentler insulins, you may find that these guidelines are stricter than you need. If you have some data on how your cat responds to insulin, please read Jojo and Jill (Team J)'s guidelines at FDMB (http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... 22,1017956).

This info is in a link called FDMB FAQ on a Sticky on TR Forum (about 1/4 of the way down the page):
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139
 
Re: 9/2 Buster AMPS 215

Good morning Tara! I would put "Dosing Advice" in your subject line to catch the dosing advisors eyes. The hardest part is learning to shoot lower than normal numbers but you do want to get some insulin in if possible. Hang in there! You are doing great!
 
Re: 9/2 Buster AMPS 215, +5 306 - need dose advice

Well, I didn't have plans for the holiday - looks like now I do! I will attempt to get a curve in - prolly overnight because he'll get a dose with dinner tonight. I nearly took a chance on a partial dose this morning, but I was under the impression you need to keep the dose amounts the same BID?

Since we had the hypo, I'm a little gun-shy. I see the stickies showing the finer doses - perhaps next time I will summon up the courage to shoot at least a tiny bit (if I'm going to be home).
 
Re: 9/2 Buster AMPS 215, +5 306 - dosing advice

There are occasions like you are talking about when someone shoots a token dose to prevent depeting the shed.
BCS ( big chicken shot)
Yours would be more difficult being on such a small dose already.

You may want to spend some time in the near future practicing with an old syringe for amounts smaller than .25.
There are pictures of syringes here with different measurements.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

And I think since Buster has some sensitivity, maybe you might explore using calipers to make sure your doses
are consistent. Some syringes are marked poorly.
Here's an old thread talking about it.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75126&p=813465&hilit=+calipers#p813465
 
Re: 9/2 Buster AMPS 215, +5 306 - dosing advice

Another option is to draw up say 0.5u then squeeze out drops and count how many. Say you get 7 drops. The 0.25u is probably 3 drops but you should check a few times. Now draw up the 0.5u again and squeeze out 4 drops, there should be 3 drops left for the dose. This depends how big your drops are too.

Since you didn't give a shot this morning, your subject line should be
9/2 Buster AMBG 215, +5 306 - dosing advice

PS means pre-shot. Since there wasn't a shot, we use BG to indicate that. Instead of skipping, you can stall. In that case, take a deep breath, do not feed (this is a hard one!) and test again in 20 mins. If the number is the same or rising, you are fine to shoot. If it has dropped a lot, you test again in 20 mins.

When shooting a lower number than you have before, you have to consider if you have plenty of strips, MC and HC food, and honey or karo, and you will be around to test. Also, is Buster's appy good? (we always have to consider if Zener is eating or not) If all of these are"yes", then get brave and give the shot. As the saying goes, "Shoot low to stay low". That's the goal. Buster is responding well to insulin and you want to take advantage of that. :-D

I imagine the hypo event was awful and scary but as long as you are testing and have carbs to give him, he will be fine. You are doing a great job with getting the 4 tests per day.
Liz
 
Re: 9/2 Buster AMPS 215, +5 306 - dosing advice

I prefer to have no fewer than 20 strips in order to feel comfortable that I can deal with a hypo event. I have been in the situation when I needed more strips and the store did not have them. I had to buy another meter for which the store had strips in stock. It is good to have 2 meters anyway just in case yours conks out in the middle of a hypo and to compare the other meter to if you think it's giving you wonky numbers. You may want to have an extra battery for the meter, too.

If you stall, and give the shot 1/2 an hour after the normal shot time, you have to move your whole schedule forward 12 hours, and then post to ask someone to help you see if you can shoot at the normal time == +11.5 on the new schedule. Sometimes you can't, and you have to move to whole schedule forward. If you shoot more than 1/2 an hour after the normal shot time, you have to move the schedule forward at least for the next shot. For this reason I don't like to stall more than 15 to 20 minutes. If I can't shoot then, I usually skip. However, if it will not be a problem for you to have a new shot time, and you can handle the shot time moving forward that much, it is better to go ahead and shoot.
 
Re: 9/2 Buster AMPS 215, +5 306 - dosing advice

I would suggest doing a mini curve or a curve tonight (if you're up for it), and hopefully shooting tomorrow morning as well, and getting as many tests in as you can tomorrow as well, since you're going to be home. Because the Lantus doses are cummulative, working off a stored depot, I'd be interested in what tomorrow's numbers look like (with a bit of the insulin from tonight's shot stored in that depot), if you can shoot both tonight and tomorrow morning.
Maybe others will have you reduce the dose to something you can shoot twice a day. Let's see what they have to say.
 
Re: 9/2 Buster AMPS 215, +5 306 - dosing advice

Like Dale said, please have plenty of strips and supplies, and HC or Karo for just in case.
 
Re: 9/2 Buster AMBG 215, +5 306 - dosing advice

Thanks all! I have fixed my subject line to reflect no insulin was given - you guys are crafty! I really want to try bumping back up to .5 so I can see those greens, but I will hold out to see what this curve will show. I will try to get as many numbers as I can in the next 24 hours or so. Sleep is overrated anyway!

I'm good on supplies and I can guarantee he will be watched closely if I have to give him a little token squirt.

Buster has always been a good eater and is continuing to do well through the recent diet changes. I'm a lucky mom in that regard!
 
Re: 9/2 Buster AMBG 215, +5 306 - dosing advice

I would not increase the dose. The goal is for you to be able to shoot twice a day. If you increase at your shot time, you will be in the position of repeatedly changing the dose in addition to skipping shots. Both end up in wonky numbers.

A couple of thoughts....
Usually, for someone new to Lantus, we use 150 as a "no shot" number. On the Health board, they use a pre-shot of 200 or below to hold off on shooting. All things being equal, it's likely safe that you could have shot this morning.

You can always shoot a smaller dose than 0.25u. These are a series of photos of microdoses.

In my way of thinking, it makes more sense to find a dose that you can administer twice a day. Even if Buster's numbers are a little higher because you're giving a small dose, overall, I think this makes more sense than having his BG levels on a roller coaster.
 
Re: 9/2 Buster AMBG 215, +5 306 - dosing advice

I will try to be brave - it's hard cause it's such a teeny amount and I want to be consistent whatever way it goes. The pictures are really really helpful. I will have to put on my Wonder Woman Micro Meter Detection Goggles and do my best! I like the drop technique, too - that seems to make a lot of sense.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top