Tara and Austin (Aussie) said:
Hi Pat, right now I am checking him at 630am (+11) and then feeding him - and then taking the AMPS at 730am. I know this isn't the perfect way, but after a few days ago when I had the 90's # and wasn't sure if I should shoot or not - basically started this trend. I could check him at 530am but it would be a +10 and not a true AMPS. I need to leave the house at some point! So perhaps if I grab some more numbers after work, and after he is fed I'll know a bit more what his #s look like. I got the .5 unit because after reading the tight regulation it looks like if he is 300 or more regularly it would call for a .5 rather than a .25. I don't mind increasing by a .25 instead though.
I will also start feeding him in intervals rather than 2 meals in 12 hour increments and see how that helps.
by feeding at +11, the preshot number is not a "true" number. the number is artificially inflated by a food spike. all you're doing is giving yourself a false sense of security because when the food spike clears, the insulin will start to go to work on a lower number. remember, the onset of the insulin isn't until a couple hours after you shoot. this is why we try to withhold food within a couple hours of shot time. make sense?
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
as far as increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if
nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if
nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if
nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
at this point, we have no idea how low this dose is taking austin. once you're able to get some mid-cycle spot checks done, we'll know if in fact the dose should be increased and by how much per the guidelines suggested in the tight regulation protocol.