9/2/20 Sissy AMPS 178, +2 104, +3 75, +5 71, +9 164, PMPS 203, +2 138, +3 134

Mandy S

Member Since 2020
I'm stalling because she's lower than usual but her numbers overnight were higher...do I shoot her normal 1.5. My husband tested her at +8 because he was up and it was 279.

I'm fine with shooting this number...just want to make sure that she's on the way up before I do, right?
 
I did go ahead and shoot. I checked her at +2 and 3 and she was doing fine. Was planning on being here the rest of the day, but had a call and had to leave to help my grandmother...so before I left I checked her just to be safe and left some lc food out. Didn't want to leave her with my 13 year old without having and idea of where she was at.

I've been reading the stickies for dosing methods. For SLGS it says if nadirs are below 90 to reduce dose? I thought I would need to increase her dose soon?

and this? "We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat."

I thought we wanted to be lower than that?

Sorry for the questions, I'm really confused about the different approaches.
 
The numbers are different for SLGS than TR.

Yeah, I get that part.

I'm looking at the differences just to make sure i understand because I switched to SLGS because it's supposed to be less stressful, but it doesn't seem like they'd make much progress either. Sissy's nadirs are under 90 and that would mean a decrease in insulin? I thought she needs to go up soon? I also thought that under 90 is ideal and not that the goal is above 90? Or am I just reading this all wrong?
 
I read it...you had asked for clarification and she hadn't responded.

You said "If nadirs are between 90 and 149 hold the dose. That’s from the sticky on SLGS. So you will hold the dose."

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) wrote "Elise is correct. I tend to read these instructions more that the majority of nadirs are over 150. However, less than half of Sissy's nadirs meet that criterion."

I'm really sorry, I feel really dense, like this shouldn't be that hard. I don't know why it's so confusing.
 
Because it is confusing and not cut and dry. With SLGS the bg will run higher but still safe. With TR I at least had to test a lot. There were borderline hypos which can be stressful. Fortunately Max usually would eat well. I never had to manage low bg with him not eating but I was often up until +6-7 at night and unless he was running higher than normal didn’t leave the house for the rest of the day until +4-6. Id work out and come home. Shower and tend to him until I felt he was safe. Yes I was a testaholic but I was afraid to leave. It’s possible to do TR and work full time but I couldn’t have. My part time sort of job was helping my ailing mom but no set schedule as my sister lived there and we had caregivers.

Whatever you decide now is NOT set in stone forever and forever.
 
Because it is confusing and not cut and dry. With SLGS the bg will run higher but still safe. With TR I at least had to test a lot. There were borderline hypos which can be stressful. Fortunately Max usually would eat well. I never had to manage low bg with him not eating but I was often up until +6-7 at night and unless he was running higher than normal didn’t leave the house for the rest of the day until +4-6. Id work out and come home. Shower and tend to him until I felt he was safe. Yes I was a testaholic but I was afraid to leave. It’s possible to do TR and work full time but I couldn’t have. My part time sort of job was helping my ailing mom but no set schedule as my sister lived there and we had caregivers.

Whatever you decide now is NOT set in stone forever and forever.


The borderline hypos are the reason I am afraid of TR. And I can't be up all night regularly now that school and all that goes with it has started...and watching my grandkids, which suck the life energy out of me more than just about anything. lol I help my mom care for my grandmother, so I do have obligations there and her need level fluctuates with how she's feeling. She'll be 89 in a few months and her eyesight is almost gone and she's falling a lot. So I foresee being needed progressively more often. I think SLGS will be better for us as far as all that goes...but part of me really wants to do the TR to have a better shot at remission...and I do know it can happen either way. But I know she's not been diabetic long so maybe it would happen for her. Idk. Her bood work was all normal as early as May this year and all before...so July29th was her diagnoses..so not long.
 
She and her 2 siblings were big cats. Not just fat but big. She's always been around 12-14 pounds. Maybe just a bit overweight. Years ago she ate dry food...but for a long time, most of her life, the only food she ate was FF and Friskies. About years ago her brother started waking us in the night and we bought some dry food for him so we could sleep and she did eat that at night. But we only gave them small amounts because we had another male cat that had a urinary blockage and so we stopped feeding dry then out of caution. But daytime was always wet food. She has never been on any medication her entire life up until May of this year, then she had a couple different antibiotics, anit nausea pills, appetite stimulant and she had an ointment for a yeast infection around her vulva. I just found what was left in the drawer and it's called Otomax. I just looked it up and it says "Otomax is an antimicrobial, corticosteroid and antifungal combination". :/
 
Hmmm. I’ve been racking my brain trying to figure out why so many cats are diabetic. Not all fit the criteria.

I wonder if that ointment contributed. Max was my only diabetic. He never had steroids. I had one cat that did quite a bit for feline acne and then the vet couldn’t figure out what was wrong with her so kept her on prednisone. It kept her eating until the night before I lost her. Turned out she had lung cancer! Never became diabetic. Must be genetics too.
 
Sissy's brothers both had cancer. One pancreatic, and one suspected lung cancer. He had been ill, and we had x rays done and it showed a ton of calcium deposits in his lungs...we were scheduled for more tests when he suffered from multiple blood clots, saddle first, then to lung and brain...the first one they diagnosed as probably an injury from jumping! It was at the Er vet...said to have him rest a week no jumping etc. He got a little better but we had x rays done and it showed his lungs. One day that same week he couldn't use his leg in the front, by the time we got to the vet he was having breathing issues and one pupil was gigantic...he was suffering massively. It was one of our hardest losses. You might have seen a post I had talked about him. He was bonded to my special needs daughter...for almost 13 solid years they were inseparable. His loss had been traumatic. :/ I didn't even know cats could get lung cancer. :/ With her two siblings having cancer, it worries me for her.
Their mom delivered them in the factory my husband worked at...she came and got 2 babies but didn't come back for these 3. He brought them home to me because animal control was going to euthanize them at 1 day old. He couldn't stand the thought of that.
 
Last edited:
That’s interesting. I’ve never seen it mentioned here. This is going to be an active cycle based in the drop at +2. Do you remember when you last put that cream on her?
 
That’s interesting. I’ve never seen it mentioned here. This is going to be an active cycle based in the drop at +2. Do you remember when you last put that cream on her?

Yep. It was rx'd on May 5th...because it was the day after the Er visit. I was supposed to do it twice daily for 14 days. But honestly, I missed a few doses and we ended it a little before time was up. So mid May probably.

Her +3 was 134.
 
So with your interest in TR... is it possible to do modified SLGS? Maybe reductions at drops below 80, instead of 90, for example? Someone more knowledgeable than me should weigh in of course. I’ve always tried to do TR because an aggressive approach was all that has worked.

My Alice had mammary cancer, fortunately it was removable. We lost her brother to wet FIP at 7yrs5mo and that was the worst. No clue if he would have been prone to cancer in later years. I’m sorry to hear your cancer stories. Lungs! I would never think of it. :bighug:
 
Their mom delivered them in the factory my husband worked at...she came and got 2 babies but didn't come back for these 3. He brought them home to me because animal control was going to euthanize them at 1 day old. He couldn't stand the thought of that.
This is for your hubby: >>> :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Back
Top