9/2/11 Stella AMPS/272

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Good Morning all! Stella is doing great. :-D

Stella woke us up in the wee hours of the morning ready for her food. She had to wait for her time. Poor little girl.

Everything is in place. Stella is doing exceptionally well. She is back to her pre-diabetes self. Now lets keep her there. Her jumping away from her shot has become annoying. I cross my fingers each time it wasn't a fur shot. We shall know in 4 hours or so....

Have a great day!
 
Moving this to today's thread. I posted in yesterday's thread because today's wasn't there yet when I started typing. This message is so important that I wanted to be sure to say it well.

to be honest, the thought of shooting at +9 and leaving for the day terrifies me. I've been doing this for four years with two different cats, and studied hundreds of spreadsheets and I would not do that. I won't even shoot at +10 if I have to leave the house - maaaaaaaaybe +10 if the cat is in a bounce and I'll be able to monitor all day. You can look at both of my spreadsheets and see notes of where I have skipped shots if I was too off schedule to fix it. There's just way too much potential for numbers to drop out if the bounce clears and there is too much overlap built up. I would much rather come home to a high number than a hypo, and with an early shot you can't predict what your cat will decide to do that day.

I know you would never intentionally do anything dangerous. The kind of people who hang out in LL are the kind of people who are willing to do anything to help make their kitty better, so of course you wouldn't hurt her. You just haven't been here long enough to have seen what can happen - please just trust us when we ask you to not do that again. We're just looking out for you and for Stella.
 
I'm hoping that you decide to really think about what Sienne and LIbby are trying to tell you....giving Stella her insulin three hours early and then leaving for work is a recipe for disaster. It's a fact that Stella survived you doing this yesterday. It's also a fact that you were very lucky. It doesn't mean you'll always be lucky. Sometimes its necessary to check our egos at the door and follow the advice of others, especially when the lives of our kitties are at stake.
 
Mary

I have to echo what the others are saying. The combined knowledge and experience of Libby and Sienne far outweigh what you think you might be doing right. We all know you would never harm Stella intentionally...your love for her comes through every day in your condo. But to put it bluntly, you do not know what you are doing and what you are doing is endangering Stella. Maybe she was ok yesterday....maybe she wasn't because you weren't there to monitor her. You have no idea how low she may have dropped and brought herself up.Time in the 30s is not good even if they are able to recover on their own. When the BG is that low for a period of time, it effects the brain cells...yes, kills them. Maybe you won't see the effects today or tomorrow but it's quite possible you will see them.

I've been doing this a year now and am just now starting to think about shooting early when Gracie is high but the number one and two rules are do NOT shoot before +10 and do NOT leave your cat. Period. Ever. In fact, when I do start doing this, it will be under supervision and with close advice from Jill because Gracie is that important to me. No matter what you want to do and what you think is best, what actually is best is listening to the people who've been around a while and know that above all, safety is important.
 
From yesterday-
I would never do anything I deem as 'dangerous', that is why I chose to administer her injection.
I know you love your kitty, however shooting 3 hours early and leaving is dangerous.

Back when Black Kitty was on insulin, I was known for having BOS (balls of steel) when it came to shooting...I never shot 3 hours early.

Many where the times durinng his 21 month journey we got off schedule. The earliest I ever shot was 2 hours, always with the consensus of those more experienced than I was at the time. The decision to shoot so early was backed by tons of data, the numbers being right, being avaiable to closley monitor and prepared to do whatever was needed to guide the numbers. Including knowing the location of the nearest veterinary ER, in case of emergency.

Your kittys life is in your hands. Play it safe.

Better a day too high than an hour too low
 
I value your opinions. I made the best decision at the time. FYI: I have reduced slower than my vet had advised to keep Stella safe.

I also have consistenly reduced sooner than advised to keep Stella safe (I have never waited as long as suggested, but lower at the first sign...again to keep Stella safe.) AM +4/49 dose reduction. New dose in PM 2.25U

Please do not scare people away. We are being responsible. We are here afterall. Our cats are our children.

I heard the first caution from Sienne. Please refrain from the echo of it. It is unessessary. I am an adult. I only need something said once. My intention is not to offend. You are very good people. I am too.
 
Mary:

We are not ever trying to chase anyone away. We are here to help. Please consider this. You are a newbie but other newbies may not realize that. A newbie comes and visits your condo and sees what you do and decides they might try it as well. The cat has a severe hypo. Everything each of us does resounds with not only our own cat but others.

It's the same thing as giving dosing advice when you are new. You can make big mistakes with someone else's cat. Let's say you are the only one available to help a newbie and you give wrong advice and something happens.......who is responsible then? I know you are trying to do what you feel is best for Stella and I know you are trying to reach out and help other newbies but dealing with FD is not as straightforward and as simple as it might seem at first....it has taken us literally MONTHS to realize that.

Just something to think about. We do want you and Stella here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top