9/19 Ripley PMPS 112, +3.5 107

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday, and an evening of feeling very punk.

Yesterday recap:
AMPS: 96
+9: 74
PMPS: 96
+3: 117
+6: 98

Good morning, LL! ☼☼☼
Sending vetty vines to J.D., and vines to Lucy, Shasta, Shadow, Zener, and Jupiter.
It seems as though several LL kitties weren't feeling well last night ~ I hope they're feeling better today.

Ripley was one of those unwell kitties ~ but I'm happy to report that she is her normal self this morning! It's a typical morning, and I am ecstatic. She's hungry, squawky, and showed of her LB skills :-D dancing_cat :-D .
Thanks for all of the vines and well-wishes last night. They worked! :-D

Whatever it was that was making her feel bad last night, I'll probably never know.
It's crazy (or many not) how connected we are with our kitties.
I went to bed last night and realized that I had completely forgotten to eat any dinner. I remember feeling hungry around dinner time, but when Ripley showed no interest in eating, I suddenly had no interest either. My worry took over I guess. She's my E.T. and I'm her Elliott...

Syringes:
I have ordered different syringes.
I've been using Walmart's Relions since Ripley's dx in Nov (so for almost a year now), and I'm ready to move up to the Terumos.
John (PurrFace's bean) was kind enough to send some samples of Terumos and Monojects to me, and I spent some time yesterday 'playing' with syringes. (How often do you hear that phrase? :lol: ) I really like how simple and transparent the Terumos are ~ with the Relions and MJs you can't really see what's in that 'hub' near the base of the syringe ~ could be air, could be insulin. Anyway, I used free-shipping from ADW (link on FDMB, and Amy posted about it today, too), so they should be here within a week.
:!: If anyone has ever switched syringes and has advice, I'd love to hear :-D

Somewhat OT:
I have my school's Open House tonight.
DH is taking care of Rippo's T/F/S and fluids this evening. If she shows any sign of discomfort/unhappiness with the fluids (like she did last night) I told him to skip the fluids and wait until I return home. I hope all goes well.

Oh, I almost forgot: Aaarrrrrrrr.
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, switching syringes

Good morning Josie! Glad to hear Ripley is feeling her old self this morning. I love the ET & Elliot analogy - too funny. I know what you mean though, when I realize something isn't right, I get that fear gripping my belly and any hunger I may have had just shoots out the window. :shock: It's stressful being a FD mom!!

I wish you luck with syringes AND your Open House. Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, switching syringes

Morning Josie ~O) ~O) ~O)

Nice amps Ripley! I like that green!

I'm glad she is back to being Ripley this morning. it is always worrisome when things are off, even for just a day. Good luck too with the syringe switch. I hope you like the Terumo's. It seems to be the syringe of choice these days? How nice of John to send you samples! That is so cool, gives you an opportunity to play with them, see which one you like better. KUDOS!

Enjoy your day today. I hope the Open House goes well.
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, switching syringes

So very glad to hear Miss Rippers is feeling much better dancing_cat
Love the "ET and Elliot" comparison too!!
I love ET and still have a ET stuffed animal DH gave me many years ago. He put a ring in ET's hands and gave it to me. It was so cute ♥♥
Curious about the syringes. I am using the Relion too and they really seem to get a lot of air bubbles in them :sad:
Have a great Open House tonight and good luck to DH...He will do great!!
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, switching syringes

Hi guys .. I'm sorry to hear that ripley wasn't feeling well last night, but glad to hear she's feeling good this morning! I hope you have lots of luck with your new syringes .. and good luck at your open house tonight .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, switching syringes

That's wonderful news on Ripley! Good girl! Continuing to send tons of positive thoughts, and healing vines for her, and wishing for her to make a full and speedy recovery.

Good luck with the new syringes when they arrive, and good luck on the Open House, too! :-D
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, switching syringes

Hi Josie,
So happy to hear that Ripley is feeling good today. Also happy to hear that you'll be switching to Terumos. They take a bit of getting used to, but in my opinion are the best syringes for getting an accurate dose, especially if you use the digital calipers. I don't know if you saw this recent discussion of Terumos. The "bubble" issue is easy to get rid of: read all the posts.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=102377

Have a great day.

Hugs & scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, switching syringes

Morning Josie, I went back to yesterday's condo checking on Ripples and so glad she is feeling better. I know what a worry and scare it can be when they stop eating or give that glare look. Sending feel good vines just in case from me. Good luck on using the new syringes. Have a great day and lots and lots of scritches and hugs to Ripley.
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, switching syringes

So great to hear things are better at your house. Interesting about the syringes. Keep us posted on what you think.
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, switching syringes

So great to hear things are better at your house. Interesting about the syringes. Keep us posted on what you think.
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, switching syringes

I had a different experience to share.
When I switched, I didn't realize how much difference there was from markings and inadvertently gave a dose reduction and
then had to work my way back to our "real dose". It turned out to be about 1/3 of a unit difference and it was in the hub.
It's a good idea to double check.... play with water in your old syringe and shoot it into the new terumo's and see the amount. ( with calipers is even more accurate)
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, switching syringes

Rhiannon's right. I switched from Monojects to Terumos. The "hub" of the Monojects holds almost 0.5u of insulin. If you look on Gabby's SS, you'll see the difference. I had to increase her dose when I started with the Terumos.
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, switching syringes

Hi Josie. Glad Ripley is feeling better this morning. I also got a chuckle from your E.T. & Elliot analogy :lol: .

Good luck with the Terumos and wish you the best with the Open House tonight. Have a great day Josie.
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, +4 85, +9 80

Thanks ♥all♥ for the visits today and syringe insight.
Once I further "play" with the syringes, I'll let y'all know what I find out (i.e., if 0.5u in Relions is same as 0.5u in Terumos...)

Ripley is having a good afternoon.
She rejected her Pepcid treat for the second day in a row ~ she eats the treats around the smooshed Pepcid/pill pocket concoction, then spits out the actual Pepcid concoction part. I may switch back to Slipper Elm Bark (but she wasn't too crazy about that when I experimented with it, either.) I wonder if this may have contributed to her bad feelings last night...

I just got a call from Costco that her Lantus prescription is ready for pick-up ~ but that they cannot accept the Lantus coupon because it only applies to humans. :evil: :evil: :evil: I was told yesterday that they'd be able to take the coupon, no problem. :evil: :evil: :evil:

I'll try Target next, and, again, keep y'all posted...

:YMHUG:

ETA: I just spoke to a rep at Lantus (called the number on the coupon) and was told that this particular coupon IS only for people, it's the company's decision, NOT the particular pharmacist's... :sad: BIG BUMMER
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley AMPS 86, +4 85, +9 80

I'm glad Ripley is back to her normal, squawky self today. Good luck with the new syringes.
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley PMPS 112

Back from Open House, and found a note from DH that Ripples is shot and fluided :-D
He's at Home Depot. At 8pm.
I hope he brings back a bottle of wine. (Not from Home Depot.)

I assume all went well with Rippo while I was at Open House.
She's resting on the couch, in her favorite spot (on the crack where a couple of cushions meet).

About 50 people in my little classroom. 7 of them threw tantrums. (Little people, not the big ones.)
I wouldn't even call it controlled chaos. Just chaos.

It was like herding kittens ;-)
Where's that wine...

I bet the kitties are all gathering for the Full Moon Party right about now.
I'm kind of jealous.
Of our kitties' celebrations.
The menu looks yummy.
fll_moon
 
Re: 9/19 Ripley PMPS 112

Hi Josie! I'm glad Ripley is feeling better. I guess we all have an off day now and then! Sorry your day was so stressful . . . at work someone brought me a nice bottle of scotch, want to share? That should be what students bring teachers instead of apples :lol:

My absolute best chaotic-classroom-calming technique was The Bomb. I would draw a bomb on the whiteboard with a loooooong fuse (or shorter depending on my mood!). Every time kids didn't quiet down I would wordlessly start erasing the fuse with my finger, slowly at first. They would panic and the kids would do the work of making the other kids quiet down because they were all "aaaah! the bomb! be quiet!!" If I was furious I would just take the brush and swipe off three feet of the fuse - that got wide eyed silence for a while. The trick was never actually let it get to the point the bomb exploded because the dread (you never say what will actually happen if the bomb "explodes") is the power. I think I maybe twice actually let the bomb blow up, and since it was a TESOL class I'd make them do something they haaaated like alphabetizing a long vocabulary list or something. Anyways it totally saved my voice and occasionally my sanity so I just thought I'd share it! Now if only I could find a technique like that which would control Papaya's blood sugar :roll:

Have a relaxing evening and a great day tomorrow!
 
Hi, Liz :-D I like the way you think.

Hi, Amy :-D It wasn't too bad of a day ~ just a looooong one. And a louuuuud one. I'm actually sipping on some nummy scotch right now (cheers).
I like your bomb idea. But knowing some of my 4-year-olds (ahem, boys), they'd LOVE to see what would happen if The Bomb went off. And knowing some of my 3-year-olds, they'd scream every time I would erase some of the fuse... Maybe I could try it at home... Look, DH, The Bomb exploded and now you have to do the dishes. :lol: OR Look, class, The Bomb exploded so now we have to be silent for the rest of the day because your teacher drank too much scotch after open house last night... :lol:
 
I'm glad my darling girl ate and had a good day today....she has a better mummy than Gracie because Gracies mummy eats no matter what :lol: :lol: :lol:

Oh boy....syringes :roll: I've used the. All....Relions, BDs, Monojects, and now Terumos. I got a micropipettor and scientifically measured the doses and the MJs did, in fact have almost 0.5u more of insulin in the hub.

If you get 10 drops to a unit, there are 1.52mm to a unite on the Terumos. And I measured a ton of them.

Good luck!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top