? 9/19 Henri ; PMPS 157, +1 147, +2 103, +3 70, 71@3.5, +4 83, 106@4.5, +5 105, +6 115, +7 147

Katie_Waz

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...her-numbers-have-gone-up.235516/#post-2638728

So her +11 is 104. She has been steadily going down all night and I'm wondering why that could be. I'm finding it confusing.

I may be potentially shooting a low dose this morning although a lot can happen in an hour. I would expect the way insulin works that she should be going up now but So far all she has done is steadily so down...so I wanted to post ahead of time just in case I should have some questions. I have shot a number in the 70's before.
If it's lower...what is a safe low number for me to shoot at...I don't want to put her in hypo. I can be around all day to monitor her closely and have plenty of testing strips too. It seems like her numbers typically start to go back up around +10
 
With TR you should be able to shoot any number above 50 provided you are around to monitor and there are no issues with getting the kitty to eat. Henri is breaking a bounce which is why the numbers are heading down even towards the end of the cycle.
 
Ah...OK thanks for the explanation! I checked at 15 min to shooting time and she was 102 so I should be OK.
Thanks for getting back to me! I still get so nervous!
 
The good thing is that he is flattening out. 101 is not very different from the 120 you shot yesterday - considering meter variance.
Don't think I need to tell you to monitor him - going by your SS :)
 
lol yeah, I'm a bit OCD when it comes to testing her
She really doesn't mind although today was the first time she ever gave me trouble with the insulin shot. I hope I got it in! when i stuck her with the needle she started to bold so I just hit the plunger and tried to hold on to her. She has never done that with me before so I was a little surprised. fingers crossed! I'm excited about the progress I think she's making lol.

How long do you wait at a dose before you decide to either increase or decrease it? and what range should she be in for a decrease? I read it somewhere on the forum ( I think) and I was searching for it last night and couldn't find it :/ Is there a way to search the forum for your old threads? I only started realizing a couple posts ago that I was supposed to link my last thread in there
 
Here's the sticky on dosing methods - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/. Since you are following TR, you reduce if she falls below 50 on a human meter.

If you don't see your last post in the first page of the forum (I see yours and am linking it here for reference), you can search using the Search box at the top right of the page - just below the menu which has your name, Inbox and Alerts on it.
Thank you!Sorry, I am so computer illiterate. I was looking for a search and just didn't see it. oye lol I'm going to read the TR sticky thing again.
 
We need to work in getting you more of this thing called sleep. The bounce cleared quickly and she’s back to business. Any progress with the bugs so you can use an auto feeder? I have a clothing moth infestation I can’t shake so I feel your pain.
 
very true lol We are making progress but it's still not resolved. I can now actually leave the food out for about 15 min without seeing them in her bowl. hopefully a night or 2 more of putting the stuff in the drain and we'll be all cleared up. I'm going to set up the feeder over the weekend so I can train her to know that the sound of it turning means food though. She's having an exceptional day I think! And I think you're right about that bounce! I got worried for nothing lol
 
Can anyone tell me why her numbers are going down +1 and +@ after her PMPS? I thought they were supposed to go up? Does it mean her dose of insulin isn't good? I think she has done good today ut are the low 100's/90's (which I suspect she is going) OK for this early in the cycle? I did just feed her some food so they might actually go up a bit
 
It’s an active cycle. This is why we say the +2 is an indicator if more testing will be needed. When it’s lower than preshot it means you need to test frequently. Feed her some mc.
 
Not necessarily. It’s working. If she drops under 50 we know it’s too low. You want to feed small amounts to keep her surfing. The more time spent in normal numbers the better. Then she will get used to that and stop bouncing.
 
Can anyone tell me why her numbers are going down +1 and +@ after her PMPS?
157 and 147 are within meter variance, essentially the same number. The lower +2 means she has onset. As Elise said, a lower +2 compared to preshot means more monitoring is needed. It may or may not mean she's going low tonight. If you look back at Henri's spreadsheet, you can see other examples where the +2 was lower and what happened the rest of the cycle.
 
Not necessarily. It’s working. If she drops under 50 we know it’s too low. You want to feed small amounts to keep her surfing. The more time spent in normal numbers the better. Then she will get used to that and stop bouncing.

If I use food to keep her surfing, then would she need a dose reduction? Sorry, I sort of asked this but I guess I'm not understanding
 
157 and 147 are within meter variance, essentially the same number. The lower +2 means she has onset. As Elise said, a lower +2 compared to preshot means more monitoring is needed. It may or may not mean she's going low tonight. If you look back at Henri's spreadsheet, you can see other examples where the +2 was lower and what happened the rest of the cycle.

She dropped down to 70 and I gave her some food. I'll keep monitoring her every half hour until she's back in the 90's. I think I'm just not understanding that if I use food to keep her from going too low...that means she might go hypo without food intervention. So wouldn't that mean a dose reduction?

This is the 2nd time since we lowered her dose that i'm using food to keep her up and bring her back from the 70's into the 90's. I want to say that was about 5 days ago so roughly 10 cycles...maybe 11?
 
No. The idea behind using food to steer the curve is to keep them surfing in normal bg range. If she really wants a reduction it will be earned despite your efforts to prevent it. Look at Butters and Jaxbenji to see how they handle it.

Once she has stopped dropping you stop feeding and check to see she stays up for two hours without food.
 
Last edited:
Looking at today I would have stopped feeding at +5 and tested at +6 and +7 without feeding. If she was not dropping I would give a snack and stop testing and feeding until PMPS.
 
Looking at today I would have stopped feeding at +5 and tested at +6 and +7 without feeding. If she was not dropping I would give a snack and stop testing and feeding until PMPS.
interesting. I was trying to feed her more smaller meals throughout the day. I still have to make sure I get her 180 calories in bc of the hepatic lipidosis and we won't know until the ultrasound if it's fully healed up. I'll have to get better at reading her numbers and see what she needs. It's hard bc I have to create some sort of schedule that we can use during the week that I know will work for when i'm at work. My husband can keep an eye on her but he can't monitor her the way I can bc he gets so busy.
 
I fed her some more food and she's up to 83. at +4
I'll test her in 30 min and if she drops I can feed her more. If she's maintaining or going up I should stop feeding then? Is 83 a good number for +4 in the cycle?
 
So, she's definitely headed back up and was able to use her normal food too. I'll test her again at midnight and then if the number is still good, i'll take a nap for an hour or 2 unless anyone thinks it isn't safe to do so?
 
interesting. I was trying to feed her more smaller meals throughout the day. I still have to make sure I get her 180 calories in bc of the hepatic lipidosis and we won't know until the ultrasound if it's fully healed up. I'll have to get better at reading her numbers and see what she needs. It's hard bc I have to create some sort of schedule that we can use during the week that I know will work for when i'm at work. My husband can keep an eye on her but he can't monitor her the way I can bc he gets so busy.

it was fine to continue to feed small meals past +5. You just didn’t need to test any more.
 
Back
Top