9/19 Grady-Dosage Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

sirswithin

Member Since 2013
So, as we approach the second week in a row of BG numbers between 40 and 130, should we be considering another dosage decrease (down to .5 u), or should we give it more time? Grady's been holding pretty steady since his last decrease to .75 u.
 
7 days, normal numbers mostly under 100. Yup. It's time for a dose reduction for Grady. You could have taken one this morning if you had known. Ok to drop to 0.5U tonight, per this highlighted bold section of the protocol from the TR protocol sticky.

Reducing the dose:
•If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
•If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
•Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Yeah Grady! Way to work that juice!
 
Okay, will do. Funny, I used to hope for numbers in the high 200s, now I get a little freaked out if he goes over 100!
 
Isn't it amazing how you adjust to the lower numbers, because you know your kitty is doing so well at those lower numbers.

Grady has a date in his future.
 

Attachments

  • date too big.jpg
    date too big.jpg
    8.1 KB · Views: 119
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top