9/19 Ebby PMPS 260 +2 151 +4 40 +5.5 150

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelissaEbby

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's condo
Ebby is doing ok, but I predict a big bounce this evening. Pretty big drop, and I could sense her liver was freaking out because she was acting pretty weird at +2.

I must have forgotten to put the lid on Ebby's freeze dried chicken last night. Well, this morning I go into her testing room to give am shot, and I see her passed out asleep next to a mess of spilled chicken treats. She had gotten on the dresser and knocked them off, and apparently enjoyed a feast. Pretty smart, because she knew she was going to have to knock them completely off the dresser in order to get any to spill out. Who knows how many she ate. :roll:
 
Re: 9/19 Ebby AMPS 346 +2 197 +4 99

Hello you two

i just noticed that you feed Ebby homemade raw. Very Impressive! every once in a while....NOT TOO OFTEN... i think perhaps i should look into that.....but then i think: oh hell no.... :lol:

Where do you buy your ingredients here in Omaha? Whole Foods?

Hats off to you...that is real love and commitment

~kelly
 
Re: 9/19 Ebby AMPS 346 +2 197 +4 99

Hi Rhiannon, Yes, I think she enjoyed it. I guess she deserves it after everything she's been through. It was really cute actually! I'll have to remember to put the lid on tonight.

Hi Kelly,
This is the second batch of food I've made...it does take a while but not too bad. I do get the ingredients from Whole Foods...my DH works there so we get a discount which is great. I buy about 2 packages of chicken, and it makes a pretty nice batch of food. Both cats are slowly starting to like it more, but in the beginning they didn't exactly seem too excited. I'm also only feeding it to them once a day at the most...it just supplements the wellness.

Thanks for the visits!
 
Re: 9/19 Ebby AMPS 346 +2 197 +4 99

Hi Melissa! I see Ebby did hit yellow for PMPS . . . not too bad, hope it comes back down soon but a little more gently than the morning! Too funny about the self-serve treats . . . at least it was LC and not a box of Cheeerios or something :lol: Have a great night!
 
Re: 9/19 Ebby AMPS 346 +2 197 +4 99

:lol: :lol: :lol: on the treats! Smart girl. Is t it wonderful when they are feeling well enough again to be up to their antics?

I hope she doesn't bounce too high.
 
Re: 9/19 Ebby AMPS 346 +2 197 +4 99

Amy & Papaya said:
at least it was LC and not a box of Cheeerios or something
Very true Amy!

Marje and Gracie said:
Is t it wonderful when they are feeling well enough again to be up to their antics?
Yes, it sure is. The fact that she's still jumping on the dresser and counter is amazing. Not the worst bounce....260 and we're coming down quick pretty quick tonight.

Thanks for the visits Amy and Marje. Have a good night!
 
Re: 9/19 Ebby PMPS 260 +2 151 +4 40

I'd reduce her dose back down today, Melissa. I'd probably try taking her down .25u since she got to 50 on the .75u.

As far as the fat that you added, if she's getting into blues and greens, I'd giver her at least ten cycles before even adding fat. If she's getting some green but not much after ten cycles, then you could fatten. :-D

Good job getting her up.
 
Re: 9/19 Ebby PMPS 260 +2 151 +4 40

I didn't see your post till now, so I did shoot through the bounce (she was in the 400's) but will take the dose back down today. I see why you say to wait to fatten; I was just having some regret that I didn't shave the dose when I reduced....worried I was going to loose some of the progress we've made. That's why I fattened, but now it doesn't look like there was room to do so. Well, someday I'll get the hang of it. :roll:

:?: So, after last night, I have a couple questions. I'm feeling like I didn't do the best job last night. The first being that I fattened, but I guess I learned my lesson.

Marje and Gracie said:
I'd reduce her dose back down today, Melissa. I'd probably try taking her down .25u since she got to 50 on the .75u.
So, do you mean trying .50 or back to the normal .75? I am treating her as a long term diabetic, so don't want to necessarily reduce on one cycle under 50. On the other hand, I did only fatten by .1mm which is really not that much, so maybe even the regular .75 is too much.

Marje and Gracie said:
Good job getting her up.
Thanks, but do you think I got her up too far? I fed about 2 teaspoons HC at +4. Got her up about 30 points in half an hour, but then she had skyrocketed to 150 at +5.5. I figured this might be a combination of the HC food and her bounce, but felt like maybe I gave too much food. Is this just something that is a little out of our control? I mean, we want to get them up quick (she was at 40) but then the HC makes for such high numbers at the end of the cycle.

Last question: When I saw the big drop at +2, I got out some MC (13%) food. Fed her a normal serving....Figured since she was at 151, and I fed MC, that I could take a 2 hour nap and test at +4. How did she drop so far with MC food on board...not to mention the 2 previous meals I had fed her. Would this be considered "having a hard time keeping her numbers up", or does that only apply to when you're trying to bring them out of hypo territory?

Ok, I think that's it. Thanks Marje. I don't mean to have so many questions, but after last night, and probably my lack of sleep, I woke up feeling more confused than ever. I appreciate your help. :YMHUG:
 
Hi Donaleen! Thanks for checking on me...everything is fine. I had just responded to this old post yesterday, and we also had some company late into the evening last night, so I never started a new condo yesterday. She was also in the 400's all day so not much to say. :roll: I'm going to post a new one today. I'm seeing a little clearer now, got some rest, and Ebby appeared to have cleared her bounce. Things felt like they were unraveling yesterday, but I think we're back on track. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top