9/19 Cobb AMPS 59 +2 68 +5 61 +6 59 +8 61 +10 58 PMPS 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

:shock: nailbite_smile Cobb is on the move.

Lucky for him, I have the day off! But I have doctor's appointments all day. I should be able to check in with him every couple of hours though. My first is at +2 and my second at +6. Matt will be home by then.

I decrease his dose by 2u. He's a little low for my comfort, and I can always give him more tonight. I'll also mix a little HC in with his second breakfast.

Mmmmm...could be a busy day!!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 9/19 Cobb AMPS 59, rt53

:mrgreen: flip_cat :mrgreen: flip_cat :mrgreen: flip_cat :mrgreen:
YAY COBB!!! :RAHCAT
Now surf safely kitty. That's an order.
 
Re: 9/19 Cobb AMPS 59, rt53

I'm thinkin' you deserve the BOS award for the day. :shock: Cobb....this is definitely a day when safe surfing is needed.

He did really well holding the previous reductions; paws are crossed he'll hold this one, too!
 
Re: 9/19 Cobb AMPS 59, rt53

Pretty green Cobb! I agree with Shelly. Definitely BOS award for you. Now surf it Cobb. Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/19 Cobb AMPS 59, rt53

It always seems to go so slow up the ladder and then their pancreas kicks in and you fly back down. :lol:
 
Re: 9/19 Cobb AMPS 59, rt53

Boy, wishing and hoping their numbers come down and we can decrease dose...and then, wham, it happens and one response: What was I thinking?

Wowzee, though, Cobb has sure taken to the Lev. You, Suzanne, are amazing. Look where you've guided your boy. Great Bean.

Hope the day goes smoothly with comfy surfing.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/19 Cobb AMPS 59, rt53 +6 68

Look out! Coming through! Kitty on a mission!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I think Cobb kinda digs that Lev stuff! :-D

So hop up on that surfboard, Cobb and ride the wave the rest of the day!
 
Thanks all! Cobb's doing all the work. I'm just providing him with the tools to do so.

I took him down another unit since he spent all day hovering at 60.

The stressful part is I don't want to lose these awesome numbers, but I want him safe. Such a balancing act!!

Whenever he gets down low like this I hear the Mission: Impossible theme song in my head and picture him crouched low to the ground...how low can I go??
 
Another thing I need to throw out there to start thinking about, given this downhill roller coaster we're on right now.

Next Thursday I am going to be gone overnight. (My first time away from Matty nailbite_smile :cry: ) As you know Matt goes to work at +9. Now, my mom will be in town to take care of Matty since he can't go with me and Matt has to be at work before daycare opens. She has no problem giving Cobb his injections, she did it when Matty was born and Cobb tolerates it. I don't know if Cobb will let her test. I will test and shoot the morning I leave, Matt will test and shoot that night, so she will only be responsible for one shot.

I have two options...one, I can have her shoot a dose a few units less, but had that been today, I probably would have told her to shoot 17u, and we all saw that could have been borderline. My second option is the 18 hour option. Matt can shoot Thursday night, and then I'll pick it back up on Friday at noon. My only concern there is...does he shoot the regular dose? Although, I guess I could look at it as if I was going to work...Cobb would have to fend for himself for a few hours anyway...

Sorry for the stream of consciousness. Just something I'm going to need direction on next week!
 
from today, i like the 18hr option.

i find it difficult to tease out what might be a high dose kitty response, ie, the iaa breaking, versus a diabetic cat response, ie, keep their BGs in the normal range and BAM, they begin to go down the dosing scale.

You had asked me when i thought the depot got ahead of him, ie, too big for his needs. I think it was when you decreased his dose from 22.0u to 21.75 on 9/12 after he'd spent a lot of time in the 40's that day.

However, with a longer-term diabetic, they seem to do better with getting the maximum amount of insulin in them as safely possible. I'm thinking of the people who have gone to calipers and are just barely reducing a dose each time, after they have learned that their cat doesn't hold a reduction. Their spreadsheets definitely improve with smaller incremental adjustments.

So in Cobb's case, I think you got a mixed result from that tiny decrease. It wasn't enough to keep him out of low numbers the next day, (a negative for you) but perhaps it was a factor in him going all green (a positive result). Kinda like how shooting low, even once or twice, can sometimes cause a sea change in the ss and can make it go all green.

there's my 2 cents worth - for free. and now my sweet DH has bbq salmon ready, and since it's almost 7:30 i'm going to go eat dinner. nom nom nom

oh yeah, and you are in the phase that DH and I called "Dialing for Doses." "

well, what shall we shoot tonight? I don't know - should we do 12? 10? what do you think? " :lol: it's fun! ;-) :-D nailbite_smile
 
Holy Smokes!!! :cool:

I see a "Fasten Your Seatbelt " phase has been in progress!
Reductions, a skipped shot, further reductions. . .

AND no R (or Pink!) for 2 weeks????

Way to go Suzanne and Cobb :RAHCAT
 
My jaw dropped when I looked at his SS!!! Wow!!! You are doing an amazing job, Suzanne. And he loves lev!!

I also like the 18 hour option. :-D have fun and don't worry too much about Matty.
 
I agree with Julie - the 18 hour option is looking good today, but let's see where he is next week. The 18 hour might allow a bit of the depot to drain if he needs it. Tonight he still has the 19U depot working, even though you shot 16.

When Neko came screaming down the dose ladder, she was no where near all green. She'd dive down, bounce like heck for a few cycles, then dive down and maybe get a couple cycles with a toe in the lagoon before diving down for another reduction. Her SS was very, um, colourful at that time. :lol:

You said first thing today:
I decrease his dose by 2u. He's a little low for my comfort, and I can always give him more tonight.
That sounds so familiar. I remember saying a lot, "I took her down again and can always go back up", but didn't. To me, this has the feel of IAA breaking. My advice to you is to go with your gut. I got so I could feel when Neko wanted less juice. You know Cobb well.
 
Wendy&Neko said:
To me, this has the feel of IAA breaking.
Me too. You coast along with using your R scale and then one day things shift.
One thing (of many) that happened with BK was that after the IAA broke when it came to R doses it was a whole new ballgame.

09/21/2008 - L is at 12.5u My final R scale had 160 as my 'don't shoot if under " number
On the low end - 160-180 warranted 3uR
On the high end - any PS over 400 got 6.5uR

10/06/2008 - L is 13u.
10/12/2008 - PMPS is 213 - something tells me to let it ride - I withheld R.
10/17/2008 - L is 13.5u - stumbling down the R dosing ladder
10/31/2008 - BK is done with R
11/04/2008 - First Lantus reduction - down to 13u.

This is how the 1st month of IAA breaking played out for us.

There were a handful of times I pulled out the R after 10/31, however his sensitivity to R was drastically changed.
If I had a red PS I shot 1.5uR as opposed to 6.5uR. That was a huge change - a little suddenly went a very long way.

I don't know how it will play out for Cobb but next time you feel the need to use some R be very cautious .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top